A Moment Of Being A “Normal” Kid.

28 May

It doesn’t happen often, but every once in a while I think back to the years before my surgeries and intense physical therapy, the years that I got to be a normal kid like everyone else my age (excluding the fact that even then, I was going to physical therapy twice a week).

I played t-ball and coach’s pitch before all my surgeries, and when I think back on those years, I remember just how happy I was. Even though I still walked different during that time (as I have my entire life), I was able to do everything that every other kid on the baseball team could do. I cheered in the dugout, went up to bat, stood in the outfield waiting for a ball, and walked with the rest of my team to high-five the other time while saying “good game,” even if we lost. As well as feeling like a normal kid, I was also able to be part of a team, and looking back, that meant so much to me. I don’t remember being made fun of during those moments, and though I probably was, I can’t remember it, and that’s when you know you’ve got special memories.

Specifically, I remember one of the games when I played coach’s pitch. I was up to bat, and Mr. Richard, my coach, stood on the mound smiling at me. He pitched the ball, and even though I hit it, it didn’t go far. It landed close to Mr. Richard’s feet. Even though there was a player from the other team standing behind Mr. Richard, Mr. Richard grabbed the ball and kept it away from him. At the time, when I was running to first base, I didn’t know what was going on. I just knew that the first baseman hadn’t caught the ball yet, so I kept running. As I was almost near third base, the biggest grin spread across my face as I realized what Mr. Richard had done: he was giving me my very first home run. I remember running as fast as I could from third base to home plate, and as soon as my feet touched home plate, everyone in the crowd jumped to their feet and cheered for me. In that moment, I felt like I was on top of the world, and more than that, despite my limitations, I had made a home run, just like every other kid on the team had at one time or another. It was a magical moment. There’s no other way to describe it.

I think about Mr. Richard every once in a while, and even though I haven’t seen him since I was a kid, I sit and wonder if I ever thanked him. I’m sure I must have, in one way or another. Whether I thanked him through the huge grin that remained on my face through that entire game or through one of the countless hugs that he became so accustomed to receiving from me, I’m sure he could tell how grateful I was for that moment that he gave me. However, sometimes I wish that I could explain that for me, that moment is one of the most special moments I’ve ever had. I got to be like a normal kid, and I got to feel the rush of happiness and excitement that comes with completing a home run. If only for one night, I wasn’t someone with Cerebral Palsy. I was a baseball player, a team member, and probably one of the happiest people in my small town, even if only for a moment.

17 Responses to “A Moment Of Being A “Normal” Kid.”

  1. Anita S May 28, 2012 at 10:07 am #

    Thank you for sharing this story — it was very touching, and it helped me to understand just a bit of what your life must be like. I hope you will share more about your life.

    • ameliaclaire92 May 28, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

      I’m glad you liked it, Anita. I’ll definitely be sharing more. 🙂

  2. Vicki Winslow May 28, 2012 at 10:58 am #

    Great story–thanks for sharing it.

  3. RedheadCarol May 28, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

    Thank you for sharing. I’m guessing this story will be in your book, since it’s such a great memory. I sure hope it will be, because this story needs to be shared.

    • ameliaclaire92 May 28, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

      I actually put it into the draft of my book about an hour ago. I’m really glad that you liked it. 🙂

  4. Lisa W. Rosenberg May 28, 2012 at 11:30 pm #

    This is a great story for your book, Amelia. He may have given you the homerun, but based on everything that shines through in your writing, I bet you earned it. And deserved it. 🙂

    • ameliaclaire92 May 28, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

      Aw, thank you so much Lisa. That means so much to me!

  5. merlinspielen May 29, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

    What a lovely story! Thank you for sharing I enjoyed the read.

  6. dailyobservations2012 May 30, 2012 at 10:57 am #

    Thank you for sharing this moment in your life, Amelia. Memories are treasures in life, aren’t they? I think Mr. Richard sounds like a special person, as are you! 🙂

    • ameliaclaire92 May 30, 2012 at 11:00 am #

      Memories are especially wonderful…especially the good ones. They also make for great writing opportunities! 🙂 Thank you for reading. I’m glad that you enjoyed it.

  7. treadmarkz May 30, 2012 at 4:22 pm #

    Wow you’ve made me think about all the times I was happiest when I was a kid, and I think they were because they were times when I also felt “normal.” The first one that came to mind was my trip to the Field of Dreams when I took batting practice and was able to show the Walkies that I could hit pretty well from my chair.

    • ameliaclaire92 May 30, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

      Wow. I bet seeing the Field of Dreams was amazing in itself. 🙂

  8. An Everyday Story May 31, 2012 at 7:53 am #

    Your words bring me such joy and hope Amelia. Hope for my little guy to feel ‘normal’ just like the other kids. Experience everything they get to experience and feel those joys. Thank you for always making my day a little brighter.
    Kate

    • ameliaclaire92 May 31, 2012 at 9:16 am #

      I’m glad my words help you. Give your little guy a hug for me. He’s a fighter (though I’m sure you know this already). 🙂

  9. jilllurie May 31, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    Such a beautiful story and memory – the way ‘simple’ gestures mean so much, and can be so enduring 🙂

Leave a comment