Tuesday’s Tunes: A Closer Look At The Art Of Missing.

29 May

 

Yesterday I listened to this song on repeat for over an hour, letting the lyrics sink in and waiting for the painful memories that I knew would surface in time. That’s the special thing about music. Each song is unique in its power to allow all kinds of memories to rise up, ranging from childhood moments to moments that only lasted a split second in the scheme of your life, yet moments that seemed to have a stronger hold on you than you seem to have on the current life that you’re living.

While listening to this song, I thought of the art of missing. It’s been an idea that has rolled around in my head for the past few days. However, I’ve been unsure as to how to bring life to it through my words. However, putting off writing just because we are stuck is not what true writers do. We move forward, muddling through the words that we know we yearn to say, waiting for the moment when they decide to allow themselves to be seen by someone other than ourselves. Anyway, the art of missing has been on my mind lately. Isn’t it a bit of a funny concept? It’s almost like a hunger for something that can only be satisfied by some kind of contact. Often times, I find myself missing people who I’ve just talked to or just seen. I think that’s probably because I
have had a habit of getting attached to people and then I have always hated any kind of goodbye. Whether it’s goodbye for a few days or a few months or even a year, it’s never any easier. However, by some miraculous twist of fate, we move forward. We place one foot in front of the other, knowing that walking ahead is our only option.

I believe that one of the most heartbreaking aspects of the art of missing is when you miss someone who may not be missing you in return. Not because they have told you that they don’t miss you, but because you no longer have the kind of relationship where it would be okay to ask that kind of question. In that instance, I’m missing someone who I used to know. Though that person is still around, they are not the same person that is etched into my childhood memories so precisely. Maybe, deep down, that person is still there. The person that I put so much trust in and looked up to for so long. The person who taught me to believe in myself and reminded me to never stop smiling. But truthfully, I probably will never know if that person from my memories still exists. That’s the tricky thing about time and the art of missing. Even though people say that distance makes the heart grow fonder, is time factored into that equation? To me, it seems like time is often the polar opposite of distance, causing the heart to ever so slowly forget the faces in one’s mind that were etched there so many years ago.

Through some recent introspection, I’ve realized that missing someone is like a hunger, but in another sense, it’s also like a sickness. A sickness that fills you internally, causing you to stop and wonder if there was ever a time that was spent not missing someone. Even though the art of missing does reflect the strong amount of love that people are able to show to one another, it’s almost as if the love is just never quite enough. The love is present, it has taken your hand. However, instead of simply having it take your hand, you want it to surround you, fill you up…and not leave you standing at a window looking out into a world that you are part of and yet isolated from. Even though missing someone shows that you care about someone and that you love them, it can also pull you under its current, leaving you to wave your hands frantically, waiting for someone to realize that you are, in fact, struggling to simply stay above water.

11 Responses to “Tuesday’s Tunes: A Closer Look At The Art Of Missing.”

  1. prscoast2coast2012 May 29, 2012 at 9:08 am #

    Beautiful words with a nice meter.

  2. milenanik3 May 29, 2012 at 9:23 am #

    Amazing what can words do to us.Simply be existing.
    You words Amelia made me remember how much I care,love still.You wrote brilliantly about emotional missing,almost I could felt it in my own heart..That means that Your talent for writing is great.
    If I may sey one thing more;I believe that there are some people that don’t like loosing person.That is hard.But if fact we do not loose them ever.
    I love Your writing very much.I wish You strong heart and good future!
    milena

    • ameliaclaire92 May 29, 2012 at 10:06 am #

      Thank you so much. I’m glad you liked it. And thanks for reblogging it. 🙂

  3. milenanik3 May 29, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    Reblogged this on Milenanik3's Blog and commented:
    Art of missing,amazing article

  4. urodriguez527 May 29, 2012 at 11:27 am #

    I really like the idea of missing someone as either being a hunger or a sickness. I think that with more time, the festering of old wounds can take place. See I am the type of person who thinks it is easier to end something on a horrible note than a good one. A good note will leave me wanting more and I yearn to be with that person. A bad note gives me finality, as in an excuse to remind me why I am still not friends with them. It has only been recently that I have been spending extra time trying to rekindle friendships thought long lost through either email or phone calls. Thank you for writing this, it has left me reflecting a lot.

  5. Anita S May 29, 2012 at 12:58 pm #

    “Even though the art of missing does reflect the strong amount of love that people are able to show to one another, it’s almost as if the love is just never quite enough.”
    Exactly! You are right, missing can become a sickness. It’s difficult to let go, to let those memories be memories and nothing more. Not expecting them to ever be present again.
    This is a very thought-provoking post. Thank you!

  6. terriblethinker May 29, 2012 at 7:40 pm #

    very well said 🙂

  7. LA Edwards May 30, 2012 at 12:57 am #

    Very well stated amazingly insightful. In keeping with that theme, I miss you. 🙂

  8. Polly Hoyt Nance May 31, 2012 at 8:50 am #

    Brandi Carlile is my all time favorite!!! I saw her in Athens, GA a couple of months ago in a tiny theater that only held 600 people… I was on the second row (pics are on my blog). One of the most real artists out there… thank you for this! 🙂

Leave a Reply

