Own your story.

20 Apr

Owning our story can be hard but not nearly as difficult as spending our lives running from it. Embracing our vulnerabilities is risky but not nearly as dangerous as giving up on love and belonging and joy—the experiences that make us the most vulnerable. Only when we are brave enough to explore the darkness will we discover the infinite power of our light.-Brene Brown

When I came across this Brene Brown quote a few days ago, I couldn’t help but realize how much it applied to my certain circumstances. Not just the overall situation of living with Cerebral Palsy, but the more recent circumstances of realizing that I must now face the emotions which resulted from my recent return to physical therapy. Though it would be so much easier to resist thinking about the emotions and memories that returning to physical therapy brought up for me, I know that I must face them if I’m going to be able to move forward.

Throughout my life, I have heard people tell me how awesome it is that I don’t let my CP define me. According to my CP doctor, I “make it look easy.” Though I do understand that most people are trying to compliment me, it’s also hard for me to believe them in the full sense of the phrase. Though I don’t ever introduce myself as “the girl with CP,” I often wonder if that’s what others are thinking, specifically people I have just met. Overall, I try not to let myself focus too much on all of the difficulties it brings, because if I did that, how the heck would I still be able to find joy in the little things? However, at the same time, my CP affects me on a daily basis. Every day is hard, and every day I am reminded of how different I am from those around me. At the same time, I am reminded of how far I’ve come, and that’s where “owning my story” comes in.

Though I began writing my memoir in order to help myself come to terms with what I’ve faced and to help others in similar situations, I have also just wanted to shed a light on just how many of us are struggling in ways people may not truly understand. Putting all the benefits and support aside, “owning my story” through writing about it and essentially saying “Yes, this is who I am, and I am damn proud” has been the most frightening, scariest, most frustrating and overall hardest thing I’ve ever done. In all actuality, it sucks, but it’s helping me. Truthfully, it reminds me of the idea that you’ve got to hit rock bottom before you can truly understand your own strength. It’s cliché, but it’s also true. In many ways though, I feel as if trudging through this first draft of my memoir is similar to hitting rock bottom, over and over again.

Despite the frustrations of “owning my story,” it’s my way of being the voice of so many others who aren’t able to express what it’s like living with a disability. If writing my memoir means I can give a voice to a few of those people, then I will plunge into the darkness of it. Just because there are people who aren’t able to express the emotions connected with what they have experienced doesn’t mean that they shouldn’t have a chance to still be heard. If anything, all of those people deserve it a little bit more. After all, every one of us has so much to learn from each of the people we come into contact with, so why not start by owning the experiences we’ve faced, no matter how scary and painful?

5 Responses to “Own your story.”

  1. belasbrightideas April 23, 2013 at 6:44 pm #

    Yes. Stories are useful when they are able to help others get through challenges. Then at some point, we have the choice to drop the storylines (I’ve blogged about this one), and it opens life up to amazing possibilities. We don’t want our stories to restrict us, even in service to others. We are always at our best when living our “Best Life,” as Oprah says 😉 Sending you good healing energy from the islands – stay safe, take good care.

  2. RedheadCarol July 2, 2013 at 3:27 pm #

    I can’t wait to read your memoir.

    • ameliaclaire92 July 2, 2013 at 3:28 pm #

      There’s still a long way to go, but I’m just taking it one day at a time. 🙂

      • RedheadCarol July 2, 2013 at 3:30 pm #

        That’s the way to go, one day at a time. But never doubt you’re an incredible writer. You have a way with words, and that’s priceless. 🙂

      • ameliaclaire92 July 2, 2013 at 3:31 pm #

        I appreciate the compliment. I’ve been out of the blogging world (and my own writing world) for a while because I just couldn’t think of what to write, but it’s coming back slowly.

Leave a Reply

