I’m back!

7 Jan

No, the break wasn’t long. However, yes, it was needed. Though I’m still in the stage of adjusting some things about my current life that had previously been on the back burner, I realized that I didn’t want this blog to be kicked to the back of my mind like so many other things. This blog has helped me too much to be at any place other than the forefront of my thoughts (right alongside academics, friends, and family).

One of my goals (not resolutions, but goals, or something I expect to stick around and even grow) for this year is to complete a rough draft of my memoir by the end of 2013. That being said, I am planning to spend as much time as I can to writing my memoir, which means my blog posts will no longer appear daily. I’m thinking of going bi-weekly or even weekly so that I actually might have something to say rather than feeling like I’m constantly rambling on about nothing. Though in the past I have shared certain memories related to my Cerebral Palsy on this blog (and have worked them into my memoir), I primarily began doing that because I was in need of support and feedback. Thanks to all of my lovely followers who have provided just that. However, now that I am beginning to not exactly need the encouraging feedback quite as often, I think it would be best to restrict my written memories to the Word document of my memoir. It seems safer that way. Plus, then my number of pages of my memoir might actually increase (hey, imagine that!). However, that doesn’t mean I won’t still be talking about my writing or what I’m facing on a daily basis in regards to my CP. I’ll still be sharing those snippets, and on those hard days when life just seems to knock me to the ground, every ounce of encouragement from all of you will be just what I need.

As the New Year came and went, I realized how often I was telling so many people: “I’m writing my memoir!” without actually doing much about it. Though I am not necessarily planning to give myself a deadline (good writing comes in time), I do want to move forward with my memoir. I’ve been in a pretty huge rut for quite a while, and even though I have never been a fan of outlines (normally, I’d prefer to just write, write, write and not care where it was doing), I think using an outline could provide me with a greater sense of direction in regards to my memoir, which is exactly what I need at this point. I don’t know how much it will help, but I’ll just have to see I guess.

Along with writing comes reading, and I have written numerous book reviews on this blog in the past. Today I signed up for GoodReads (and have decided to enter a Book Reading Challenge). My goal is to read 100 books in one year. Though that seems like a bit much right now, I know how much I read. And if I don’t complete the challenge, oh well. I just know that I will need a way to balance out all the writing I’m planning to do (plus college classes and friendships). Also, I think all the reading will be a nice break from focusing so heavily on my own life through writing my memoir. I think it was Stephen King who said: If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or the tools) to write. Simple as that.”

It will be one heck of a year filled with tons of writing, tons of reading, academics, and as much fun as I can squeeze in! Thank you to all of you who have continued with me on this journey, despite the fact that this blog has changed its focus so many times. I appreciate each and every one of you so much!

“Writing and reading decrease our sense of isolation. They deepen and widen and expand our sense of life: they feed the soul. When writers make us shake our heads with the exactness of their prose and their truths, and even make us laugh about ourselves or life, our buoyancy is restored. We are given a shot at dancing with, or at least clapping along with, the absurdity of life, instead of being squashed by it over and over again. It’s like singing on a boat during a terrible storm at sea. You can’t stop the raging storm, but singing can change the hearts and spirits of the people who are together on that ship.” – from Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life by Anne Lamott

11 Responses to “I’m back!”

  1. Laura January 7, 2013 at 11:04 pm #

    Welcome back! Good luck on your goals , you can do it! And 100 books WOW that sounds like fun… how many is that a month? (pulls out the calculator ) 8.3 books a month. Hm not SO bad, last year in January I read 10 books in the month but I don’t know if I’d want a repeat of that every single month. Though hmm 100 book challenge does seem fun……… 😀 Good luck!!

    • ameliaclaire92 January 7, 2013 at 11:07 pm #

      Thanks Laura! It’s so wonderful to be back. And yes, 100 books may sound pretty insane, but I partly just want to see how many I can read in a year. If I come close to 100, awesome! If not, oh well. 🙂

      • Laura January 7, 2013 at 11:11 pm #

        you can do it! When I tried to read 10 books in January last year I did a couple of small books, some YA, and then one book about the planets which took me like a week to read that really threw me behind, but I did manage to finish. so I say choose a nice assortment that way you can balance long and short reads 😀

      • ameliaclaire92 January 7, 2013 at 11:13 pm #

        I’m too much of a lover of longer books, but your suggestion is a very good one. Hopefully I can fit in some shorter ones!

  2. Carrie January 7, 2013 at 11:43 pm #

    Welcome back! I am amazed at how I felt as I read your words. We seem to be doing some parallel work. My blog has been and continues to be great support and offering of love. But – my writing is not going toward the reflective work I want to do.
    I just spent a portion of the weekend with Ron Rash. There’s still so much to learn! good luck to you happy 2013

  3. photosfromtheloonybin January 8, 2013 at 7:15 am #

    Great goals Amelia, and I totally understand about your blog. Blogging has really changed my life and I have met so many fantastic people, but posting every day really takes over your life. Now I just post when I want to, and I find it a lot less stressful :). Happy reading and writing!!

    • ameliaclaire92 January 9, 2013 at 12:49 pm #

      Yes, it was reaching the point of dominating my life, and now it’s nice to know that I don’t have to stress about making sure I give myself time to write my daily blog post.

  4. mcwoman January 8, 2013 at 8:15 am #

    Love the quote! Good luck with the memoir, although it is curious you’re writing one at such a young age. I’ve had trouble writing a resume about myself! Have a wonderful 2013 and I’ll stick with you as you focus on new adventures in your life.

    • ameliaclaire92 January 8, 2013 at 8:24 am #

      “Although it is curious you’re writing one at such a young age.” …I have heard this many, many times. Though I do understand why it is a cause for pause, I also am the only one who knows all that I have been through up to this point. Even though it does seem to make more sense until I’m older and have many more years of “life” ahead of me, I also know that it’s something I want to do right now. And while I’ve got the desire, I might as well try.

Leave a Reply

