Goodbye finals, hello reading hibernation!

10 Dec

It’s official! I took my last final this morning, so the fall semester of my junior year of college is officially behind me! Woohoo! It feels amazing to be done, and now I have nothing but good things to look forward to over the next month. This week kicks off a slew of good things: meeting with the Easter Seals program director of the Asheville office tomorrow, going to see The Nutcracker with my mom on Wednesday (which I haven’t seen since I was really young), and leaving for Lynchburg, Virginia on Thursday to spend a week with Kayley and her adorable daughter, Clara. I can’t wait!

However, best of all, I rewarded myself for being done with finals by making a trip to Barnes and Noble. Yes, it was a success. Here were the two treasures I knew I could not live without:

photo-12

These two treasures are only the beginning of my month-long reading hibernation I look forward to every year in between the fall semester and spring semester. However, I know they will be perfect reads to start things off. To all of you book lovers out there, are there any books you are looking forward to reading this holiday season? Share your suggestion in a comment below! 🙂

 

 

19 Responses to “Goodbye finals, hello reading hibernation!”

  1. Sara December 10, 2012 at 4:48 pm #

    I need a good read or two over the holidays. I might check these two out. 🙂

  2. Rosie Baillie December 10, 2012 at 7:35 pm #

    I’m planning on reading the Life of Pi over Christmas, I’ve heard a lot of good things about the book.

    • ameliaclaire92 December 10, 2012 at 9:15 pm #

      I’ve been meaning to read Life of Pi as well.

  3. photosfromtheloonybin December 10, 2012 at 7:39 pm #

    Yayyyyyyy!!!! Wahooooo!!!!! Congrats on getting through the 1st semester. We knew you could do it :).

  4. P. C. Zick December 11, 2012 at 8:31 am #

    I just received the new Kingsolver novel but haven’t started yet. I can’t see the title on the John Irving novel and don’t recognize the cover. What is it? They are two of my all time favorite authors. Good choices.

    • ameliaclaire92 December 12, 2012 at 11:09 am #

      It’s The Cider House Rules. I’ve never read anything by him so I’m excited to read it.

      • P. C. Zick December 12, 2012 at 11:59 am #

        Good one. I’ve read all his books and loved them all. No one does quirky like John Irving. I love Barbara Kingsolver because she explores such a variety of topics and experiments with style and technique.

      • ameliaclaire92 December 12, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

        Yeah, I love Barbara Kingsolver’s writing. Have you ever read anything by Jodi Picoult or Diane Chamberlain? They’re both really good too!

      • P. C. Zick December 12, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

        Jodi – yes and I like her, too. But not Diane Chamberlain. I’ll have to check her out.

      • ameliaclaire92 December 12, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

        She used to be a psychologist before she started writing so she pulls a lot of that into her books, which makes them incredibly hard to put down!

      • P. C. Zick December 12, 2012 at 2:52 pm #

        I’m getting ready to post on my blog about two recently read books – The Marriage Plot and Leaving the World. I tend toward female authors because that’s what I am, but I thoroughly enjoyed these two intelligent books with characters deeply flawed yet sympathetic.

      • ameliaclaire92 December 12, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

        Is The Marriage Plot by the same author who wrote The Virgin Suicides?

      • P. C. Zick December 13, 2012 at 7:39 am #

        Yes, and Middlesex for which he received a Pulitzer. He takes ten years to write his novels but they’re all different. I think as a college student you would enjoy it although it’s a little dark.

  5. Doug Oldfield December 11, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

    Congratulations on finishing the semester. I’m a Vince Flynn fan and plan on reading The Last Man which was just released in November. I’ve read all of his books so it’s great when he writes a new one.

    • ameliaclaire92 December 12, 2012 at 12:06 pm #

      Thank you! I’ve never read anything by him. What genre of books does he write?

Leave a Reply

