Tuesday’s Tunes Special: The Kiss Country Guitar Jam.

13 Nov

Tonight, my mom and I are going to The Kiss Country Guitar Jam, which is a country concert that benefits Mission Children’s Hospital in Asheville. The concert will feature country artists Dustin Lynch, Craig Morgan, Randy Houser, and Matt Stillwell. Though this is the 5th year that Kiss Country and The Orange Peel have had this concert, this year is the first year that I am going, and I am so excited. I love country music more than anything, but I also know that this particular show is going towards the children in Mission Hospital who are sick, struggling, and just need something to make them smile.

Even though I didn’t go to Mission Children’s Hospital for all of my surgeries and intense physical therapy, I was born there. In some strange way, I feel a connection to all the kids who are there now. I feel like I can empathize since, a little over 20 years ago, I was a two pound one ounce baby in the NICU of Mission Children’s Hospital, using all the strength I could muster to simply survive.

So, to all the children currently in Mission Children’s Hospital who are fighting to see just one more day, tonight is for you. Tonight will serve as the reminder that we are thinking of you, though those thoughts may seem far away at times. It’s through kids like you that we know what it is to not simply survive, but thrive.

Leave a Reply

