Back in the land of the Hokies.

8 Nov

I’m up in Blacksburg, Virginia spending a long weekend with my best friend. However, though that is exciting in itself, I’ll also be going to a Virginia Tech football game tonight! Though I went to a game last year, this will be my first night game, and I’ve heard that Thursday night in Lane Stadium is CRAZY. Even though the Hokies have had a rough season, just having the chance to go to a game is really fun. Plus, the fact that my best friend will be dressed up as Super Hokie, Virginia Tech’s first superhero, is just going to make the whole experience even better.

I consider Blacksburg to be my second home away from home. Since I have been coming up here for the past 3 years to visit my best friend at Virginia Tech, Blacksburg has become a place that I’m always excited to get back to. Even though it’s different from Asheville and different from Winston-Salem (which is where my best friend and I met), there is always one aspect of nature that I have always been able to connect with: mountains. Though the mountains in Blacksburg aren’t the exact same mountains I see in Asheville, I still view them as a piece of home.

5 Responses to “Back in the land of the Hokies.”

  1. jnine0712 November 8, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

    Amelia, simply beautiful and have fun at the game 🙂

  2. anewdayrising79 November 8, 2012 at 6:16 pm #

    You’re not that far from me. 🙂

  3. P. C. Zick November 9, 2012 at 6:43 am #

    I visited Blacksburg for the first time last year and thought it was lovely. Thanks for the reminder. Go Hokies!

    • ameliaclaire92 November 9, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

      It’s such a great city nestled among the mountains. I love it!

Leave a Reply

