Missing Ireland.

7 Nov

Ireland-Summer 2012

I’ve been missing Ireland recently, and with that strong sense of missing I am filled with a sense of hope….hope that I found another place I love and hope that one day I will return to a place that showed me what it is to feel truly alive. My 5 weeks studying abroad in Ireland this past summer were the hardest and best 5 weeks I’ve ever had. Heck, I made the decision to spend 5 full weeks in a foreign country where I didn’t know a single person beforehand. Thankfully, I could speak the language, though at times the accents took some getting used to (no matter how much I loved them). I experienced things I never dreamed: I climbed to the top of an Irish castle, I sat in numerous pubs and enjoyed traditional Irish music, which the locals called “trad,” I experienced the horror and excitement of having to remember which direction traffic was coming from, I enjoyed Bulmer’s Hard Cider to my heart’s content, and I made some of the most incredible friends. For the first time, I really did take a bite out of life. Actually, I ate the whole dang cake!

A quote from Autobiography of a Face by Lucy Grealy sums up my experience perfectly:

“Sometimes the briefest moments capture us, force us to take them in, and demand that we live the rest of our lives in reference to them.”

6 Responses to “Missing Ireland.”

  1. jnine0712 November 7, 2012 at 5:59 pm #

    Beautiful picture and post. I have never been, but my husband and I said Ireland is definitely on our bucket list. Someday hopefully!!

  2. colee112 November 7, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

    Glad it had such a large impact on you. as all good trips do.

  3. nikky44 November 7, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

    I would love to visit Ireland 🙂

  4. Hot Rod Cowgirl November 8, 2012 at 1:07 am #

    I am so happy for you:) What a gift to go and experience life in another country…you are blessed and will aways cary your memoreis close to your heart and in your heart forever. You are brave and wile it may have been un-nerving at times…pushing through gave you many blessings:) If we can push through our fears of whatever they are…we will be rewarded with alot of good memories and love:)

  5. Mary November 8, 2012 at 8:30 pm #

    What a great way to spend five weeks in the summer! I miss Ireland, too! I was only there once, in 2006, and it felt like home. I can’t wait to return.

    • ameliaclaire92 November 9, 2012 at 12:26 am #

      It really was a truly amazing experience. 🙂

Leave a Reply

