My heart is in Texas.

3 Nov

I haven’t been to Texas in a few years. However, over the past two weeks, I’ve been missing it more and more. Through loving Texas and North Carolina (which are two very, very different states), I’ve learned that it’s possible to feel like you belong in more places than just one. Yes, I absolutely love North Carolina. The mountains have allowed me to find a true happiness within myself that I didn’t know existed until recently. However, there is something about Texas that acts almost like a force of gravity. I don’t know if it’s the big Texas sky (which seems simple, but is one of the most incredible kinds of natural beauty I’ve found), the connection to my country roots, the amazing Texas bbq (which is so much better than southern bbq, at least in my opinion), the wildflowers in the spring, the amazing music scene or the huge sense of pride than those living in Texas seem to have for their home state. Either way, I absolutely love it, and every time that I’ve visited, it’s been harder and harder to leave.

 

 

 

An I’ll grab the wheel and point it west
Pack the good and leave the rest
I’ll drive until I find the missing piece
You said I wouldn’t get too far on a tank of gas
And an empty heart
But I have everything I’ll ever need
I got this old guitar and a brand new set of strings-Miranda Lambert

4 Responses to “My heart is in Texas.”

  1. jnine0712 November 3, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

    Beautiful Amelia and I am not a country girl, but city girl. However, I can relate to your feelings of where you grew up and came from. This is how I feel about NYC. I just can’t help, but love it. Love your pictures, poem and your share of music here, too 🙂

  2. nikkolya November 4, 2012 at 9:33 am #

    I spent 22 years living in Texas (just under two-thirds of my life) and have been away for the last four years now (with about two weeks total visit time in those four years) and I miss it terribly (it doesn’t help that I really hate where I live now). I know that feeling you describe…like it seems to always draw you back and it gets harder to leave each time. I used to joke that Texas is at the center of a singularity…it is near impossible to escape and even if you do, chances are you’ll end up back there at some point. The funny thing is, growing up I HATED living there. And whenever anyone called me a Texan I’d insist that I was in no way, shape, or form a Texan. That was why I originally moved away four years ago…it was like my great escape, and the first week I was finally gone and living in my new place, I stopped and realized…”dammit…I’m a Texan”.

  3. P. C. Zick November 5, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    Love the boots! I’m in San Antonio this week and I must say there’s something about Texas. . . But back to the boots – where can I get a pair?

    • ameliaclaire92 November 5, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

      I got them in College Station at this place called Cadaver’s. Maybe just look up Cadaver’s and see if they have multiple locations? There may been one in San Antonio!

Leave a Reply

