Well, it was fun while it lasted.

2 Nov

Due to being completely swamped with schoolwork, projects, papers, and all sorts of end of the semester stuff that professors love the throw at us the few weeks before Thanksgiving, I’m going to have to drop my commitment to do NaNoWriMo. Though I’d love to say that I have the time, I truly don’t, and this blog has always acted as just a way for me to let my feelings out. With everything related to college + making time for NaNoWriMo, I don’t have a place for my frustration to go. Plus, I just know that I really need to focus on academics right now. That’s what college is about…plus reading some on the side and making weekly, if not by-weekly, drives on the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Therefore, I’m sorry to those of you who were looking forward to my day-by-day account of NaNoWriMo, but I know that I’ll definitely be posting similar writing pieces throughout the month…just not quite every day. Plus, as I’ve learned since January, writing a memoir isn’t exactly an easy thing. Having to dig up a new painful memory from my childhood to write about each day is just too much right now. Plus, I think it’s also important for me to keep reminding myself that there is no timeline. I don’t have a deadline I need to meet. I don’t need to relive my entire childhood in the span of a single year. Truthfully, I think taking my time with it will make it that much better. I’ve never worked well when I’m rushed, even if I am the person that ends up getting things done if they need to be done. I guess I just have now realized that this doesn’t need to be done right now. I’m not giving up on it by any means. That’s not what I’m saying at all. I think taking more time with it will make it even better, which is what I want.

That being said, I’m off to spend the evening working on an incredibly important research paper, especially since I’m hoping to have it done by the beginning of next week (even though it’s not due for a few weeks). Wish me luck! Also, happy writing to those of you who are trudging through NaNoWriMo. I’ll be cheering you all on throughout the month!

9 Responses to “Well, it was fun while it lasted.”

  1. colee112 November 2, 2012 at 7:31 pm #

    Writing is always meant to be a fun outlet, you don’t need to abuse it with some imaginary goals that don’t suit your lifestyle.

  2. jnine0712 November 2, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

    Amelia, I applaud you for knowing what you can handle right now. Trust me I totally get it and can relate. I am trying me best with NaNoWriMo, but if I am unable to do it in the end and make the deadline I know it isn’t the end of the world and that is that. I have a lot going on too in my life, especially since the hurricane hit and am truly just taking it day by day myself. So can relate to your post, too!!

    • ameliaclaire92 November 2, 2012 at 8:12 pm #

      Thanks for the support. I really do appreciate it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Julia Dean-Richards November 3, 2012 at 5:45 am #

    Your words will be worthwhile, wherever they are written x

  4. anewdayrising79 November 3, 2012 at 5:58 am #

    I’m reconsidering it myself. I have stories that I want to write, *need* to write, but I am not sure blazing forward without any prewriting is the way to do it.

    But it sounds like you have your priorities in line. I’m proud. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. photosfromtheloonybin November 3, 2012 at 7:52 am #

    We all have too much stress nowadays, so I think you are smart to choose what is most important to you and what fits into your schedule. Just write when you are moved to do so, and we will be here anxiously waiting to read :).

  6. mcwoman November 3, 2012 at 8:43 am #

    The odd thing about this time in the semester is just when you think you can’t stand any more papers, exams, etc. etc. the new catalogs come out and you dream about what you’ll take next semester. College is the only place you will ever PAY someone to drive you nuts! Hang in there, Amelia —

  7. P. C. Zick November 3, 2012 at 8:50 am #

    I wondered how you would manage the time, but glad you realized it now. I really wanted to participate as well but my writing schedule right now won’t accommodate it. Next year, I’m going to plan better.

Leave a Reply

