How to prepare for a potential snow day (according to a college student).

29 Oct

There is a possibility of a decent amount of snow to hit Asheville tonight and into tomorrow, which means that my trip to the grocery store lasted 40 minutes when it should have just lasted 5. When there is even a slight mention of snow, people race to the nearest grocery store and stock up on food as if they are planning to be snowed it for a week. Though I find this funny, I feel the same inclination to get my butt to the store, even being the college student that I am.

How to prepare for a potential snow day (according to a college student):

  • Go buy cookie dough. It’s a necessity.
  • Make sure you have soup and/or ramen. Staying warm is important, obviously.
  • Make sure you have plenty of movies. Actually, why not just stop at RedBox when you’re on your way to the store. You can never have too many movies. Yes, there may be tons of movies in your closet, but you’ve seen each of those at least 20 times, right?
  • Have books at hand (if you’re a reader). No, you won’t be reading that Community Psychology chapter that’s not going to be covered for a week. You’re going to want FICTION, and lots of it!
  • Make sure you have cookie sheets at the ready. If there’s enough snow, you’re going to want to go enjoy those hills. Having to search for cookie sheets to slide down the hills on will just slow you down in the morning.
  • Make sure you have hot chocolate. There’s a potential for snow. Why not give yourself a warm treat?
  • Pull out the cute winter clothes that are still in the back of your closet. Even if the snow doesn’t accumulate, wearing those cute hats and gloves to go outside into the cold will make you smile.
  • Most importantly, be excited. Even if there isn’t a “snow day,” you can at least cross your fingers for a delay. You weren’t planning to go to that early morning class anyway, right?

Happy snow preparations, everyone! I’ve already got my sugar cookie dough ready to eat! There’s no shame in enjoying it early, right?

21 Responses to “How to prepare for a potential snow day (according to a college student).”

  1. Laura October 29, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

    I love snow days!

    • ameliaclaire92 October 29, 2012 at 6:28 pm #

      Me too! I haven’t seen too many true snow days in my lifetime, but I sure do love them if and when they come around! πŸ™‚

  2. photosfromtheloonybin October 29, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

    I love snow days as long as I don’t have to drive anywhere!! πŸ™‚ Bring on the cookies!!!!

    • ameliaclaire92 October 29, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

      More like bring on the raw cookie dough. It’s so much better uncooked, haha!

      • photosfromtheloonybin October 29, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

        Hmmmm, you just reminded me – I have cookie dough icecream in the freezer. Yummy!! I know it’s a little cold for that, but oh well :).

      • ameliaclaire92 October 29, 2012 at 6:54 pm #

        Go for it! Ice cream is my number one weakness, and I eat it during all times of the year, even during the dead of winter! πŸ™‚

      • photosfromtheloonybin October 29, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

        Me too, me too :)!!!

      • ameliaclaire92 October 29, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

        Ice cream addicts unite! “My name is Amelia…and I have a problem.” πŸ™‚

      • photosfromtheloonybin October 29, 2012 at 7:57 pm #

        I will come to meetings with you πŸ™‚

      • ameliaclaire92 October 29, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

        Sounds like a plan! πŸ™‚

  3. anewdayrising79 October 30, 2012 at 4:05 am #

    My Frankensandy prep involved buying two cubes of Diet Dew and making sure a random flashlight turned on. Clearly, I took it VERY seriously. πŸ˜‰ I do, however, like your cookie dough idea; I’ll have to save it for the next time we’re attacked by mutant weather. Did you get any snow?

    • ameliaclaire92 October 30, 2012 at 8:50 am #

      We got snow, but not enough to count for a snow day. Boo. I see you’ve accurately prepared. πŸ˜‰ Don’t let the mutant weather kill your spirits!

      • anewdayrising79 October 30, 2012 at 10:36 am #

        That’s the worst. One of the downsides of my job is that we’re considered “mission essential”, so Godzilla could be outside and we’d still have to go in. x_x

      • ameliaclaire92 October 30, 2012 at 10:41 am #

        Aw man, that sucks!

      • anewdayrising79 October 30, 2012 at 10:50 am #

        For real, Godzilla is serious buisiness.

      • ameliaclaire92 October 30, 2012 at 10:53 am #

        I don’t doubt it. You can use the energy you get from your Mountain Dew to take him down!!!

      • anewdayrising79 October 30, 2012 at 11:14 am #

        I’m not sure I would want to be the guy who took down Godzilla. I mean, people would want to make me their point of reference for how tough they are, so they could be the guy that took down the guy that took down Godzilla. It would help with the ladies though; I’d imagine. You don’t strike me as shallow, but admit it: you’d totally give the guy that single handedly took down Godzilla a second glance (or at least a fair first one). πŸ˜‰

      • ameliaclaire92 October 30, 2012 at 11:19 am #

        Oh I definitely would. There’s no doubt about that! However, only if that meant that by taking down Godzilla, you could send me an actual snow day!

      • anewdayrising79 October 30, 2012 at 11:49 am #

        That is not my super power, unfortunately. I’m still working on the ability to walk through walls.

      • ameliaclaire92 October 30, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

        If you gain that super power one day, you’ll definitely have to let me know! πŸ™‚

  4. belasbrightideas October 31, 2012 at 5:14 am #

    Oh my, don’t people panic this way? It happens even here in Hawaii when a tsunami warning is given. Years of memories in Maine with groceries flying off shelves in the event of a storm. Of course we did experience a big ice storm that cut power/phones for 10 days, so once in awhile it makes sense. Most times it doesn’t. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

