For anyone needing a pick-me-up.

25 Oct

Though it’s Thursday, which is only one day closer to Friday (and the weekend), the light at the end of the tunnel that signals the end of this incredibly hectic week seems very dim. At this point, I am up to my eyeballs in notecards that cover Developmental Psychology, Community Psychology, and Human Biology. Whoever thought it was a good idea to give me 3 exams that are back-to-back on a Friday is a complete nut job.

However, as I was taking a quick break from trying to memorize buckets and buckets of information last night, I was reminded of a short, but effective motivational video that I saw about a year ago. It’s called “Jessica’s Daily Affirmations,” in which a little girl named Jessica is standing up on her bathroom counter and looking at herself in the mirror as she proceeds to state everything she loves about her life. Even though it seems a bit silly, it is a video that never ceases to put a smile on my face and inspire me to get my work done.

Even though I may never have as much guts as Jessica (as well as not being a cute little girl who can easily get away with standing on her bathroom counter shouting positive things at herself), I have always been a lover of quotes. I don’t know what it is about reading others words regarding the difficulties of life, but it seems to help. So, even though you won’t catch me shouting positive phrases into the bathroom mirror every morning, don’t be surprised if you see some of the following quotes written on post-it notes that have started to accumulate on my bathroom mirror and other places that strike my fancy.

Don’t ask what the world needs.Β Ask what makes you come alive and go do it.Β Because what the world needs is more people who have come alive. -Howard Thurman

Life is either a daring adventure or nothing. -Helen Keller

We must let go of the life we had planned so as to have the life that is waiting for us. -Joseph Campbell

Happiness is the consequence of personal effort. You fight for it, strive for it, insist upon it, and sometimes even travel around the world looking for it. You have to participate relentlessly in the manifestations of your own blessings. And once you have achieved a state of happiness, you must never become lax about maintaining it. You must make a mighty effort to keep swimming upward into that happiness forever, to stay afloat on top of it. -Elizabeth Gilbert

Do not let your fire go out, spark by irreplaceable spark in the hopeless swaps of the not-quite, the not-yet, and the not-at-all. Do not let the hero in your soul perish in lonely frustration for the life you deserved and have never been able to reach. The world you desire can be won. It exists.. it is real.. it is possible.. it’s yours. -Ayn Rand

I love to see a young girl go out and grab the world by the lapels. Life’s a bitch. You’ve got to go out and kick ass. -Maya Angelou

19 Responses to “For anyone needing a pick-me-up.”

  1. photosfromtheloonybin October 25, 2012 at 7:09 am #

    I love this video!! I can’t wait to see what this little girl does with her life. I hope somebody does a follow up about her one day when she is older :).

    • ameliaclaire92 October 25, 2012 at 8:06 am #

      I think they may have already done one actually, but I’m not entirely sure.

  2. mcwoman October 25, 2012 at 8:55 am #

    The quote by Maya Angelou is my fav! She’s my kind of gal.

  3. Julie DeNeen October 25, 2012 at 10:34 pm #

    I love your blog! Great post. And just so you know- I am part of a blogging group on Facebook and every week- we pick one blogger that we like and “flock” ’em with pageviews and comments. πŸ™‚ So if you see people commenting tomorrow with the hashtag #flocked, they are from our group. The link below is the image we like to give out to say- awesome blog!!!! Have a great Friday!

    • ameliaclaire92 October 25, 2012 at 10:39 pm #

      Aw thank you so much Julie. That’s so sweet! πŸ™‚

  4. Steve Walters October 25, 2012 at 11:40 pm #

    So great to see a little girl with such a positive outlook on her life. Thanks for the Friday motivation! #flocked

  5. Melanie Chisnall October 26, 2012 at 2:11 am #

    You had me hooked at “affirmations” and quotes – I love them! Beautiful piece to remind us of what’s important in life and believing in ourselves. Thanks – perfect blog to start off my Friday. Oh, and #flocked! πŸ˜‰

  6. clarkscottroger October 26, 2012 at 4:22 am #

    very enjoyed your blog, AC, both in presentation and in content.
    There really can be little argument that this medium, the internet in general and the blogosphere specifically, is having a significant effect on that timeless endeavor, understanding (oneself) by understanding others.
    I see in the Comment above that Julie has mentioned that she has asked that (the members of her excellent blog group) use of the hashtag: #flocked as part of our Comments.
    I trust I have applied it in the approved manner and not inadvertently said something obscene, lol

  7. P. C. Zick October 26, 2012 at 7:27 am #

    Amen to Maya and you! Thanks for sharing. Now go out and slay dragons.

  8. Rich Rumple October 26, 2012 at 7:28 am #

    Okay, you’re being #flocked! lol Really a great hub. Doing a “check up from the neck up and getting the latitude of your attitude” is really starting the day off perfectly. Loved the blog, as well as, the video (even the deleted scene). Great Job!

  9. Janine Huldie October 26, 2012 at 7:36 am #

    I am from Julie Deneen’s FB group and loved this post. The video truly was the best and fit in perfectly. I have two little girls and could truly see my older doing something like this when no one was looking. I have to tell you this truly did give me a pickup this morning and thanks for that πŸ™‚ I am also happy to be following you now, too!!

  10. pictimilitude October 26, 2012 at 9:14 am #

    I love the video. I found your post very uplifting. Beautiful work and good luck on those tests. Not so very fun. LOL.
    #flocked.

  11. pictimilitude October 26, 2012 at 9:26 am #

    Oh, by the way, I live right near Asheville. It’s a VERY cool town. πŸ™‚

  12. Stacy Lannoye Harris October 26, 2012 at 9:36 am #

    Positive self talk can do wonders for a person. However, if you don’t feel like standing in the mirror, positive quotes work just as well. My favorite quote comes from the movie Casper – “Can I keep You?” Looking a little deeper into it, it makes a person feel like they are loved and they are wanted. Great inspirational post for a Friday morning… You have been #flocked!

  13. Cari Lorine October 26, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

    What a cute post! I love the video, and I think I actually live by the Howard Thurman quote. Great blog! (I’m from the FB group, too, so I guess you’ve been #flocked again.)

  14. Stephanie Smith Sprenger October 26, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

    I love that! Such a wonderful idea, and so easy to forget. I used to try to fall asleep each night thinking about the things I was grateful for- better pick it up again! Love the quotes! By the way, you have been #flocked! πŸ˜€

  15. Kate Hall October 26, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

    Oh, I love quotes! I have a little book of 3×5 cards of quotes. So encouraging to pull them out and read them. Loved that little girl in the mirror. I need to do that! #Flocked again!

  16. Emily October 26, 2012 at 5:18 pm #

    Great post and I especially love that last quote by Maya Angelou…here’s another fave one of mine, though I don’t know who said it: “A Day Without Laughter Is A Day That Is Wasted.” Oh and #flocked by bloppy bloggers! Great blog!

Leave a Reply

