Natural beauty in a fractured world.

18 Oct

Driving on the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Sometimes it takes my breath away that I live in such an incredible place. However, more than that, it seems surprising that I’ve only lived here a year. When you consider how attached I’ve become to all the natural beauty that’s around me as well as the wonderfully accepting people who live in Asheville, you’d probably assume that I’ve been living here for years. Truthfully, that’s how it seems sometimes.

I’ve had very few times in my life that I could honestly say that I have completely loved the way my life seemed to be spanning out before me. However, I would definitely consider now to be one of those times. No, things aren’t perfect. Today just felt close to perfect. For instance, I got to campus 30 minutes earlier than I normally do on Thursdays just so that I could take pictures of the fall leaves that are finally fully bursting with reds and oranges, I went to my favorite used bookstore to buy Life of Pi (which I started on Tuesday while I was at work but wasn’t able to finish obviously), and then I just spent some “me time” driving around town looking at all the incredible natural beauty that I’m fortunate enough to see on a daily basis. So yes, today was pretty perfect.

I’ve always loved natural beauty. Since I grew up making frequent trips to the mountains and went camping and hiking with my family starting at a very young age, I guess you could say that it was pretty obvious that I’d become a mountain/nature girl. However, despite having all that exposure when I was young, I love it for all my own reasons (even though all the hiking and camping definitely helped). I love it because it shows that even through adversity, there can still be beauty. Yes, that’s cliché, but it’s cliché for a reason. I think nature in itself has always reminded me that there is something to smile about in every situation. Though it may be something small, like a red leaf that has landed on the asphalt in front of you, it’s reason enough to stop, take pause and breath in the beauty that surrounds such a fractured world. Even as I write this, it seems sad to think of our world as fractured. However, when you consider all of the bad things that happen in the world for unknown reasons, I think it’s an accurate description. Despite its fractured nature, there is something to love about the persistence of natural beauty. No matter what, autumn always comes. Even if things seem like they are falling apart around us, we can count on the seasons. We can count on looking out before us and being overcome with love for the mountains we call home.

12 Responses to “Natural beauty in a fractured world.”

  1. Hot Rod Cowgirl October 18, 2012 at 11:55 pm #

    We do all live in this natural world and if we will just stop and look around….we can see the beauty of God’s world….we can see His hand on our life and see His love for us in all things….our animals…our families….and our daily lives….and the world we live in and scenery we view each and every day:) Thank you for sharing this and your perspective:)

  2. Michelle October 19, 2012 at 12:37 am #

    I just wanted to let you know how much I enjoy your blog and to let you know that I’ve nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award. 🙂

    http://atouchofthedivine.com/2012/10/18/award-time-2/

  3. P. C. Zick October 19, 2012 at 7:48 am #

    I’ve been doing the same thing here in western PA. I’m reveling being back in four seasons after so many years of living in Florida. Majesty surrounds us. Thanks for sharing.

    • ameliaclaire92 October 19, 2012 at 1:17 pm #

      I bet being able to enjoy all 4 seasons is just what you needed after living in Florida. I truthfully can’t imagine what it would be like to not be able to experience all 4 of the seasons that we are so fortunate enough to have, especially autumn. The fall colors have always been my favorite. 🙂

  4. treadmarkz October 19, 2012 at 11:20 am #

    “Despite its fractured nature, there is something to love about the persistence of natural beauty. No matter what, autumn always comes. Even if things seem like they are falling apart around us, we can count on the seasons. We can count on looking out before us and being overcome with love for the mountains we call home.”
    That part really made me smile. Thanks!

  5. gacochran October 20, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    Just returned from a week in the Smokies (TN/NC) then traveled back to Maryland via the Blue Ridge Parkway! Nice to find the parkway picture in my email! My retreat continues…Thanks!

    • ameliaclaire92 October 20, 2012 at 4:43 pm #

      I bet taking the Parkway back was beautiful. I have 2 friends that live in Virginia, and I’ve always wanted to take the Parkway all the way up to where they are. Though it would be incredibly beautiful, I’d most likely make so many stops that it would be an all-day drive!

      • gacochran October 23, 2012 at 12:00 pm #

        You got it! That was my experience. Only made it to Roanoke on my way back home before needing to stop for the night.

Leave a Reply

