Writing: A Thriving Mechanism.

16 Sep

I’ve been in a relatively happy mood over the last week, which explains my lack of writing lately. As strange as it may seem, my desire to write often decreases if I’m in a good mood. I partly think this is the case because for as long as I can remember, writing has been a coping mechanism. I began writing at the age of 8 because there were stories in my head and poems that I felt just needed to be expressed. I continued to write not because I had all these wonderful ideas for stories, but because at the age of 11, my intense surgeries began, which were followed by lots of intense physical therapy. I wrote to let out the pain.

Lately, my desire to write has changed somewhat. I no longer use writing as a coping mechanism. These days, writing is more of a thriving mechanism. Of course, I do have down days, and my writing definitely comes in handy during those times. However, more recently, my writing has been a tool to celebrate what I have overcome. Living with Cerebral Palsy isn’t easy. Even though most people can probably figure that out, the majority of people don’t know what people with CP face on a regular basis. That’s why I strive on a daily basis to share my story with the world. Even though I haven’t written that much regarding my memoir, I still talk about my life with CP on a regular basis when it comes to this blog.

Even though I’ve only begun having a CP focus on my blog since beginning my memoir in January, I can already see the incredible impact that it’s had on me as well as others. In terms of my life, sharing my struggles of having CP has made me happier and has put me on the path of ever so slowly accepting myself. It has also allowed me to realize that I was born to do this. I normally don’t use that phrase because in my head it holds a little bit of a religious connotation. However, all religious connections aside, I do feel like being a CP advocate and sharing my story of living with CP is what I was born to do. That doesn’t mean that it’s the only thing I was born to do though. I love psychology just as much as I love advocating for others with disabilities, and the thought of one day being a counselor for kids with special needs seems like the perfect fit. Then again, I don’t know what the future holds. I’ve got my entire life ahead of me. In terms of my blog, I’ve also seen how focusing on talking about what it’s been like for me to live with CP impacts others as well. Since beginning to discuss living with CP this past January, I’ve received wonderful feedback. I’ve received comments and emails from parents of children with CP who have thanked me for giving them a window into what their child faces. I’ve received a comment from a girl who is facing a lot of the same surgeries in the same hospital that I went through. I’ve had a woman come up to me at a restaurant after overhearing me talk about writing my memoir to tell me that her son has CP and that she fully supports what I’m doing. Even though I have a good amount of benefits that writing my memoir has provided for me, I do it for everyone else. I do it for the kids with CP. I do it for the parents of kids with CP so that they can better understand what their children face. I do it for Grace, a girl I know who has CP, because it’s the only way that I know how to help her. As well as writing my memoir for the families that have been affected by CP, I write about my life for the general public as well. Not many people know about CP, and I know for a fact that not many people know what someone with CP faces on any given day. That’s what I’m here for: to be the voice of every other kid with CP who just wants someone who understands what they’ve faced.

So maybe I don’t have to use writing as a coping mechanism anymore. However, I believe that’s one of the biggest steps that I could’ve made. Rather than being set on writing through pain, I have chosen to focus on the people who I am impacting every day through my words. It is because of all of you that I have decided to continue my writing journey. Someone’s got to be the voice of so many who are currently faced with having to live with Cerebral Palsy. Why can’t that voice be mine?

12 Responses to “Writing: A Thriving Mechanism.”

  1. Jennifer Stuart September 16, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

    Good for you, there are so many things I love about this. I love thinking about writing as a thriving mechanism; like you, I used to write for the purpose of coping with different things. Now it can have a different fuel sometimes.
    I really admire your altruism and desire and willingness to help others. It’s so wonderful to see!

  2. mcwoman September 16, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

    I completely understand how writing is a coping mechanism for pain and hurt–emotional and physical. I wrote continuously through high school, trying to “understand” all of the things that happen at this age. I wrote during the loneliness of surgeries and physical therapy, and I filled volumes when I went through a divorce. Yes, I understand. But I’m so happy that you’ve decided to use your blog to inspire others, and I’m sure as you do so, you will be greatly blessed.

    • ameliaclaire92 September 16, 2012 at 11:18 pm #

      Thank you for your support. It often seems that only those who have undergone intense surgeries and physical therapy are able to truly understand the loneliness and pain that’s connected with it.

  3. photosfromtheloonybin September 16, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

    You have such an amazing attitude towards life! You are definitely going to go places :).

  4. P. C. Zick September 17, 2012 at 8:52 am #

    You are an inspiration. You’ve been given the gift of language to eloquently express yourself and I’m happy you’re using that gift to inspire others. My biggest volume of writing comes out of my pain so when much of my angst and unhappiness began disappearing in the past few years (after lots of hard work on my part), I worried I wouldn’t be able to write because I was so happy and content. It turned out not to be true as I’m sure you’re beginning to discover. Thanks for the post.

    • ameliaclaire92 September 17, 2012 at 2:34 pm #

      Yes, I am beginning to see that just because I’m in a cheerful mood doesn’t mean that the words cease to come. Thank you for reading. šŸ™‚

  5. 4amWriter September 17, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

    Love your attitude. I think you are already that voice you seek.

    • ameliaclaire92 September 17, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

      Thank you so much, Kate. That is such a wonderful compliment. šŸ™‚

  6. Lisa W. Rosenberg September 17, 2012 at 11:59 pm #

    I agree: you are that voice, Amelia, growing into it with every word you write. Thinking about the idea of writing less when you are in a good mood: I think writers take advantage of that to get out into the world and gather material!

    • ameliaclaire92 September 18, 2012 at 8:41 am #

      Thank you, Lisa. Also, that’s a good point about using a good mood to get out and gather material. I didn’t think of it that way.

Leave a Reply

