The Beauty of Used Bookstores.

16 Aug

I’ve been back in Asheville for less than two days, and I’ve already high-tailed my butt on over to my favorite used bookstore, Mr. K’s. Despite have the new Nicholas Sparks book that I haven’t read, you can never have too many books, right? Here are the gems I found in the mere 20 minutes I had inside Mr. K’s (I knew if I gave myself much more time then I’d be walking out with an armload full of books):

  • These Things Hidden by Heather Gudenkauf: I read The Weight of Silence by Heather Gudenkauf and absolutely loved it. Therefore, when I saw another book by her (and in the bargain section no less!), I knew that I couldn’t pass it up.

 

[Summary from Goodreads.com]: When teenager Allison Glenn is sent to prison for a heinous crime, she leaves behind her reputation as Linden Falls’ golden girl forever. Her parents deny the existence of their once-perfect child. Her former friends exult her downfall. Her sister, Brynn, faces whispered rumors every day in the hallways of their small Iowa high school. It’s Brynn–shy, quiet Brynn–who carries the burden of what really happened that night. All she wants is to forget Allison and the past that haunts her. But then Allison is released to a halfway house, and is more determined than ever to speak with her estranged sister. Now their legacy of secrets is focused on one little boy. And if the truth is revealed, the consequences will be unimaginable for the adoptive mother who loves him, the girl who tried to protect him and the two sisters who hold the key to all that is hidden.

  • The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver: I got in a Barbara Kingsolver kick over the summer, and when I found a few books by her that I haven’t read yet, I just had to get them!

 

[Summary according to Goodreads.com]: In her first novel in nine years, “New York Times”-bestselling author Kingsolver tells the story of Harrison William Shepherd, an unforgettable protagonist whose search for identity takes readers to the heart of the 20th century’s most tumultuous events.

  • Small Wonder: Essays by Barbara Kingsolver

 

[Summary according to Goodreads.com]: In 22 wonderfully articulate essays, the author of “The Poisonwood Bible” raises her voice in praise of nature, family, literature, and the joys of everyday life while examining the genesis of war, violence and poverty in the world.

I can’t wait to start reading these! 🙂

10 Responses to “The Beauty of Used Bookstores.”

  1. sandy August 16, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

    Good choices! I love all of Barbara Kingsolver’s books. The book of essays is very good. Thanks for a new author, too.

  2. stephenedwards425 August 16, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

    As an owner of a used bookstore I applaud your shopping choices.

    Be encouraged!

    • ameliaclaire92 August 16, 2012 at 4:09 pm #

      You own a used bookstore?! Too cool! I’m officially jealous. 🙂

      • stephenedwards425 August 16, 2012 at 6:16 pm #

        Susie and I owned three stores for 8 years. It was a wonderful way to indulge our passions for reading and coffee. However it was also a very wonderful way to very slowly lose large sums of money.

        Now we are only online. 😦

        Be encouraged!

  3. Patti August 16, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

    I too love used bookstores! You can get so many more gems for the dollar!

  4. Author, G. D. Grace August 16, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

    Reblogged this on Author, G. D. Grace.

  5. photosfromtheloonybin August 16, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

    Too many books? Never!!!!!

  6. Errign August 18, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    I recommend Kingsolver’s Animal, Vegetable, Miracle and also Those Who Save Us by Jenna Blum – add those to your list of books to get 🙂

Leave a Reply

