Walking down the empty streets.

13 Aug

“There is a certain unique and strange delight about walking down an empty street alone. There is an off-focus light cast by the moon, and the streetlights are part of the spotlight apparatus on a bare stage set up for you to walk through. You get a feeling of being listened to, so you talk aloud, softly, to see how it sounds.” – from The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia Plath

I don’t know what it is about this quote that resonates with me, but I love it. I think it has something to do with the certain level of contentment that can be achieved through merely being alone. So many people have said that writing is a lonely business to go into. However, what about for those people who enjoy time to themselves to mull over their thoughts? Is it as lonely? Or does it provide a sense of delight that allows you not only to mull over your own thoughts, but to hear how they sound when they’re spoken aloud?

My favorite author, Jodi Picoult, has said that writing is an acceptable form of schizophrenia, and I believe that’s true in certain ways. However, as writers, we don’t view it as a negative thing. All we’re doing is trying to get on the same level as the words we’re writing in order to make sure that we are being as true and honest and authentic as possible. And what’s so crazy about that?

9 Responses to “Walking down the empty streets.”

  1. Lisa W. Rosenberg August 13, 2012 at 11:33 am #

    Great post. And think sometimes it is crazy–who but writers would stay up until three a.m. chasing just the right combination of phrases? But it is a good crazy. Wouldn’t trade it.

  2. 4amWriter August 13, 2012 at 6:20 pm #

    ‘So many people have said that writing is a lonely business to go into.’

    I think ‘lonely’ is the wrong word because there is a sense that the writer is missing something. But a writer is surrounded by her characters and the world she created. A writer engages in conversation, confrontations. A writer has choices to make, questions to answer, problems to solve.

    I think people who have described writing as lonely don’t understand the true act of writing.

    I enjoy Sylvia Plath–she had great insight.

    • ameliaclaire92 August 13, 2012 at 6:58 pm #

      Yeah, I don’t think of it as lonely either because either way, we’ve got our words. It’s never just us.

  3. josieblueowl August 14, 2012 at 11:16 am #

    There’s a big difference between being lonely and being alone – as a writer having plenty of alone time is essential to me.

    • ameliaclaire92 August 14, 2012 at 11:17 am #

      I completely agree. There is a big difference. I need alone time for my writing as well.

  4. josieblueowl August 14, 2012 at 11:21 am #

    Your blog is an inspiration to me as I’ve only just started. I’m intending to put up a new post on http://www.vitalwrite.wordpress.com each Thursday, let me know what you think 🙂

    • ameliaclaire92 August 14, 2012 at 11:22 am #

      Thank you. That means a lot. I will definitely check out your blog. 🙂

  5. belasbrightideas August 15, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

    I think every reflective person has a writer lurking somewhere within. That being said, I love being alone – crave it – need it to recharge. If I’m a nut – and you wouldn’t be the first to suggest it – I accept my craziness. At least I’m not boring! 😉 (Love the quote, btw.)

Leave a Reply

