My packing soundtrack.

11 Aug

I’ve spent most of today packing since I move into my first apartment on Wednesday (Yay!). Normally I find packing to be quite a chore even if it is exciting in the beginning. Thankfully, when I came home for the summer at the beginning of May, I left the majority of my stuff in boxes since I knew that I wouldn’t be using most of it until classes started back in the fall. That being said, though I’ve got a good amount of stuff already in boxes, I’ve got to go through those boxes and make sure I still want everything. Plus, since I’m moving into my first apartment, I’ve also got to include kitchen stuff and other knickknacks that I didn’t need when I was just in a dorm room.

The plus about my packing routine though is that I always play music. I’ve loved music for as long as I can remember, and even though my music taste has changed over the years, my love of music has remained strong. Anyone who has ever tried to pin down my music taste normally doesn’t have too much luck since my music taste is so varied. I love country because I grew up in the South and it’s my connection to my Southern roots. I love singer/songwriters because to me they signify real music since you know that the musicians wrote their own songs and sing them because they feel like it’s their true passion (and there’s nothing more inspiring than that). I also love music from Broadway musicals (primarily Rent and Wicked). I was involved in community theatre from ages 8 to 16, so I have an appreciation for the theatre industry. Also, because of my theatre background, I’ve seen 3 different Broadway musicals in New York City (Hairspray, All Shook Up, and Wicked), and they pretty much changed my life. Despite those three genres (country, singer/songwriter, and broadway musicals), I still have a relatively wide range of music that I listen to on a regular basis. However, in terms of my soundtrack for today’s packing, I’ve stuck to country songs. Here are some examples:

  • Neon by Chris Young
  • When She’s On by Chris Young
  • Cowboys and Angels by Dustin Lynch
  • Heads Carolina, Tails California by Jo Dee Messina
  • Never Say Die by Dixie Chicks
  • You by Chris Young
  • (Kissed You) Goodnight by Glorianna
  • Time Is Love by Josh Turner
  • Glass by Thompson Square
  • Lovin’ You Is Fun by Easton Corbin
  • Wanted You More by Lady Antebellum

Do you have any specific music you like to listen to while packing?

7 Responses to “My packing soundtrack.”

  1. maddiecochere August 11, 2012 at 3:14 pm #

    Nice list. I find I don’t listen to country as often as I used to. I don’t know why; I love it. And I love Broadway musicals and soundtracks, too! Even the really old stuff. 🙂 Good luck with your packing and your move.

    • ameliaclaire92 August 11, 2012 at 10:46 pm #

      Thanks. Hopefully everything will be packed and ready to go tomorrow so I can just relax on Monday and Tuesday.

  2. Lisa W. Rosenberg August 11, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

    Congratulations on your upcoming move, Amelia! And today, for no good reason, I cleaned my living room to the waltzes of Johann Strauss (the Blue Danube etc.). It was actually really fun!

    • ameliaclaire92 August 11, 2012 at 10:47 pm #

      Thanks. Packing/cleaning always seems to be just a little more fun if you’ve got music to sing/dance to.

  3. The Bumble Files August 12, 2012 at 6:43 pm #

    Good luck on your move. I’ve been helping my dad move this weekend. Argh!! So hard. Music would help significantly, and sadly, there’s been none.

  4. Wilhelmina Upton August 14, 2012 at 7:26 am #

    I’ll also be packing my stuff up soon for my trip to Canada. And you’re so right, music makes everything better. I love music and mostly singing along with it. However I don’t have a special packing soundtrack. I just put my favourite Playlist on shuffle or pick an artist I want to listen to.

    I appreciate singer/songwriters as well because it’s one thing to be able to sing a song, but it’s a whole different story to be able to write music and lyrics on your own. In my opinion, only that makes you an artist and not some music industry puppet.
    Oh and a YAY for Wicked, it’s awesome!

  5. belasbrightideas August 15, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

    Cooool … I usually prefer silence. But when moving? I always listen to music!

Leave a Reply

