If you could choose any book character to be real, which one would you pick?

7 Aug

Those who know me really well know that Jodi Picoult is my favorite author. Therefore, it’s relatively surprising that it took me this long to finally go out and buy Between The Lines, a YA novel that Picoult co-wrote with her daughter, Samantha Van Leer. Here’s a synopsis of the book written by Picoult herself (from jodipicoult.com):

Between the Lines was Sammy’s idea, and frankly, she’s got a better imagination than I ever did at her age. It’s called Between the Lines, and it’s about what happens when happily ever after…isn’t. Delilah, a loner hates school as much as she loves books—one book in particular. In fact if anyone knew how many times she has read and reread the sweet little fairy tale she found in the library, especially her cooler than cool classmates, she’d be sent to social Siberia . . . forever.To Delilah, though, this fairy tale is more than just words on the page. Sure, there’s a handsome (well, okay, incredibly handsome) prince, and a castle, and an evil villain, but it feels as if there’s something deeper going on. And one day, Delilah finds out there is. Turns out, this Prince Charming is not just a one-dimensional character in a book. He’s real, and a certain fifteen-year-old loner has caught his eye. But they’re from two different worlds, and how can it ever possibly work?

It’s an absolutely STUNNING book – with the coolest illustrations that remind of Arthur Rackham’s work from the turn of the century and silhouettes that take my breath away — in other words, it’s a book you want to keep on your shelves and just look at because it’s so pretty. But it’s also sweet, and funny, and charming, and it was a delight to have the experience of writing it with my own daughter! I’m incredibly excited for its publication and we’ll be on tour this summer to promote it!

Even though I just started the book, I can already tell I’m going to love it. I mean, the basic plot involves a girl who finds out that the Prince Charming of the fairy tale that she’s read cover to cover multiple times isn’t just a character inside of a book. This simple idea got me thinking…if I could live inside of a book or if I could choose characters in a book to be real…which book/characters would I pick?

Though normally this question would take quite a bit of thought from me, I know without a doubt which character and book I would choose to be real: Augustus Waters from The Fault In Our Stars by John Green. It’s the best book I’ve read this summer and probably one of my favorite books now (not counting older literature like Crime and Punishment by Dostoyevsky and other popular fiction like any book by Barbara Kingsolver). Augustus Waters from The Fault In Our Stars is my fictional dream guy. He’s intelligent, he reads a lot, he tells things how they are without sugar-coating them (but it’s an attractive quality and not something that’s ever hurtful to the girl in the story, Hazel), and he’s romantic without being overly mushy-gushy. As I was reading The Fault In Our Stars, on practically every page I’d think to myself: Why can’t Augustus Waters be real? I think at one time or another, everyone has imagined the possibility of their favorite fictional character being real. For me, at the moment, it’s Augustus Waters. However, a year ago it could have been a completely different character, such as Mr. Darcy from Pride and Prejudice. Come on though, what woman doesn’t want Mr. Darcy to be real? I know that I definitely went through a Mr. Darcy lovesick phase myself.

So, now it’s your turn, if you could choose any character from any book to be real, which one would you pick and why?

35 Responses to “If you could choose any book character to be real, which one would you pick?”

  1. photosfromtheloonybin August 7, 2012 at 11:36 am #

    Oh that’s easy – hands down it would be Jamie Fraser from The Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon!!! Hubba hubba! 🙂

    • ameliaclaire92 August 7, 2012 at 11:41 am #

      I haven’t read that series. Maybe I should start! 🙂

      • photosfromtheloonybin August 7, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

        OMG you haven’t read that series?!?! You have to!!! I know you will fall in love with Jamie just like every other woman who has read it. Great story with lots of historical content plus time travel – it’s one of my favourite series ever!!

      • ameliaclaire92 August 7, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

        I’m not really into history stuff, but I’ll try it and see what I think.

  2. melissacuevas August 7, 2012 at 12:12 pm #

    Honestly, I can’t think of many. Even when I look at my own male protagonists, the ones I wrote, there are things about them I don’t care for. I’ve spent more time considering that about video game characters, and since there are novelizations about them, they’d probably fit but still….eh…I’m going to go way off in left field and throw out a really weird one here as a guy I’ve just always loved from a video game and is in the short story Of Blood and Honor ( http://www.wowwiki.com/Of_Blood_and_Honor ) Highlord Tirion Fordring. http://www.wowwiki.com/Tirion_Fordring I know you’re not familiar with him, but he’s always struck me as a truly great character that is kept away from the masses because he is first and foremost a video game character and not one of the really popular ones at that. He would really be served by having a higher quality writer deal with his arc than the often hilariously bad quality tie in novelizations would give him. One of the last ones to come out completely butchered another of my favorite characters, perhaps it’s best if this story just stays in my mind…

  3. spashionistareport August 7, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

    Lisbeth Salander from the “Girl” trilogy by Larson. She’s brilliant, fierce, and independent. She has overcome a lifetime of adversity and abuse both as a child at home and later by the very “system” that’s supposed to protect her. I love this character and I can relate to her thought process and sense of what is truly right or wrong.

  4. Wilhelmina Upton August 7, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

    For me it would be Maeve Connelly from ‘leaving unknown’. I have the biggest crush on that character, which is probably why I read it 3 times in less than 8 months 🙂

    • ameliaclaire92 August 7, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

      I haven’t heard of Leaving Unknown. What’s it about?

      • Wilhelmina Upton August 7, 2012 at 1:46 pm #

        Maeve sets out to leave her messy life in North Carolina and move to LA but on the way there (she makes a road-trip out of it) she gets stuck in rural Arizona. Since she is broke she needs to work and thus ends up very engaged in the towns affairs. She is running away from her past and in that small town she finally learns that she doesn’t have to run away. Ah, I make it sound stupid, but I really love this book, even more than Sing You Home.

      • ameliaclaire92 August 7, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

        That wasn’t a bad summary at all. It actually sounds like a really good book. I’ll have to put it on my TBR list. I really liked Sing You Home. Then again, I love all of JP’s books. They’re just so wonderful and always pull you in so fiercely that you can’t seem to put them down.

      • Wilhelmina Upton August 7, 2012 at 1:52 pm #

        Actually Sing you Home was my first Jodi Picoult but most likely not my last 🙂

      • ameliaclaire92 August 7, 2012 at 1:57 pm #

        Harvesting The Heart is my favorite by her but it’s different from her usual books because it doesn’t have a court case. I also love My Sister’s Keeper (and it was the first book that I read by her). They’re all amazing though!

      • Wilhelmina Upton August 7, 2012 at 1:59 pm #

        I suppose my sister’s keeper must be good. I only saw the movie but it was really god. Actually, I can live without the court case. So far, I couldn’t really decide which of her books to read next.

      • ameliaclaire92 August 7, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

        The book is so much better than the movie!!!! If you don’t want the court case, go for Harvesting The Heart. It’s the only one of her books that I’ve read multiple times. I usually try and read it once a year. It’s just sooo good! 🙂

      • Wilhelmina Upton August 7, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

        I heard that the book was so much better, only the movie was on TV and I didn’t have anything else to watch 😀
        Thanks for the tip, I will give Harvesting the Heart a try soon 🙂

      • ameliaclaire92 August 7, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

        Let me know how you like it once you read it. 🙂

      • Wilhelmina Upton August 7, 2012 at 2:10 pm #

        I will 🙂

  5. craneclaw August 7, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

    I would choose Hank Rearden from Atlas Shrugged. I think he’s the most admirable fictional man I’ve read about because he is able to open his heart to a love he didn’t think he was capable of, that he didn’t think he deserved, and that he didn’t think existed in the first place. Once he starts realizing the truths of the industrial world as we know it, he is able to apply his ethics in his business to his relationship and he becomes a very honorable, honest, loving, and dedicated man. I like that he doesn’t change for the woman he loves, but because of her, so the changes are actually permanent and real.

  6. stephaniejdawson August 7, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

    Mr. Darcy–forever and ever. He’s smart enough to fall for the smart as a whip Elizabeth who always speaks her mind.

    • ameliaclaire92 August 7, 2012 at 3:52 pm #

      Yep, Mr. Darcy is high up on my list as well. 🙂

  7. Ed Lynch August 7, 2012 at 7:06 pm #

    Well, I would choose to be Jacob Barnes from The Sun Also Rises (despite his, um, injury). But I would like to meet Catherine Barkley from A Farewell to Arms! PS…I work with a woman who claims that Daisy Buchanan from Gatsby is her favorite literary character. But then I quoted both the opening and ending sentences to her and she had no idea what I was talking about. Turns out she had merely seen the Robert Redford movie…aargh! She probably thinks Tender is the Night is a Jackson Browne song!

    • ameliaclaire92 August 7, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

      Gotta love Hemingway. 🙂 That is so funny about the woman you work with. I guess she just doesn’t know good literature…or she hasn’t given it the proper chance. What a shame. The book is so good!

  8. Ed Lynch August 7, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

    Oh…I do like certain Picoult books!

    • ameliaclaire92 August 7, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

      Which ones do you like?

      • Ed Lynch August 8, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

        My Sister’s Keeper, obviously, which I think you also cited in another post. Believe that’s the first work by her that I bought.

  9. Anjali Lind August 7, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

    Howard Roark from The Fountainhead – we need more men like him, uncompromising in his beliefs and values.

  10. surroundedbyimbeciles August 7, 2012 at 11:39 pm #

    I would like for Ed Tom Bell, from “No Country for Old Men”, to be the sheriff of my county.

    • Ed Lynch August 8, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

      Love Cormac McCarthy! My youngest son also enjoys his work, especially The Road. I gave him my first edition set of the Border Trilogy; I know he’s proud to have those books on his shelves! 🙂

  11. maddiecochere August 8, 2012 at 12:43 am #

    I have to comment because this is truly what flashed into my head as soon as I read your question. Please keep in mind I sold children’s books for years, and rarely had time to read a book for an adult. The book character I would most like to be real: Winnie the Pooh 🙂

    • ameliaclaire92 August 8, 2012 at 8:35 am #

      I loved to read Winnie the Pooh when I was little. I’m pretty sure I would be equally as happy if he were real, but only if he could bring Piglet with him. 🙂

  12. belasbrightideas August 8, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

    I am fortunate to have, if not Mr. Darcy, a kind and hardworking man by my side. And so I would have to go with a Gandalf, or a magical Silmarillion character – a fantasy for me might as well be full-on fantastical!

  13. KatherinesDaughter August 8, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

    I would be Stephanie Plum from the Janet Evanovich novels!

  14. 4amWriter August 11, 2012 at 4:58 am #

    Jem and Scout from To Kill a Mockingbird. I think I would have had a lot of fun playing with them.

Leave a Reply

