All dreams matter, not just those on national television.

6 Aug

As surprising as it may seem, I don’t like watching the Olympics. However, before all the confusion and rage surfaces, let me explain why.

Even though I understand that the Olympics holds the motto of “follow your dreams” and “anything is possible,” I also believe that there are so many people in the world who may be in the same situation except for the fact that the majority of those people aren’t being cheered for on national television. I can guarantee that there are people in the world today who are working incredibly hard to follow a lifelong dream. However, instead of receiving the satisfaction of having billions of people cheering for them, they settle for the realization that there is a light at the end of the tunnel, and that light is symbolic of their dreams becoming a reality.

I do believe that the Olympics does show the hard road that so many people face when it comes to making their dreams a reality. It’s not a walk in the park. It takes determination, strength, persistence, and above all, heart. Eleanor Roosevelt once said, “The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.” For anyone who has had a dream that is not easily attainable but still is what they strive for, they know how much heart it takes. In my opinion, heart is at the very center of seeing your dreams become a reality. You’ve got to want it. You’ve got to want it more than anything.

I’m reminded of what it means to follow your dreams based on 2 movies, Akeelah and the Bee and August RushAkeelah and the Bee tells the story of a young girl from South Los Angeles who tries to make it to the National Spelling Bee. Akeelah spends a lot of time training for the National Spelling Bee with a coach, and during one of her training days, her coach asks her to read the following quote by Marianne Williamson:

Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.

In my opinion, this quote really speaks to the concept of following your dreams. Though we may try and try and try to remain positive when chasing our dreams, fear runs through all of us, but more precisely, the fear of failure. However, though the fear of failure is present in every one of us to some extent, it’s important that we don’t let it overpower us. As a writer, even though I worry about failing, I also know that I’m already writing. A few published articles and writing a blog post every single day since November of last year is proof of the fact that I am following my dream. Though I’m currently not a well-known published author, I’m doing what needs to be done in order to get there: I’m reading a lot and writing a lot.

The movie August Rush also talks about following your dreams or your heart to achieve something greater. It is the story of an orphaned musical prodigy who uses his gift as a clue to finding his birth parents. In the movie, Robin Williams plays the character of Wizard, who says this,

You got to love music more than you love food. More than life. More than yourself.

As much as failure plays into following your dreams, you’ve got to be sure that it’s something you love and something that you are willing to keep on chasing no matter how many times it seems to slip away. I’ve learned that the hard way in terms of my writing. Though I love it, it took me a long time to realize that writing wasn’t something I simply wanted to do…it was something I needed to do.

Therefore, in terms of not really watching the Olympics…though I understand the reasoning behind watching it and wanting to cheer on your own country, I simply believe that it’s also important to realize that every single person in the world has a dream. It may not be as momentous as the dreams that are discussed on national television, but that doesn’t mean that those dreams are any less important. Sometimes even the small dreams hold just as much weight, if not more.

13 Responses to “All dreams matter, not just those on national television.”

  1. wildhorse33 August 6, 2012 at 11:39 am #

    Well said and explained Amelia – I agree totally. LOVE your last paragraph that sums it up: “everyone has a dream.”

    Followed your blogs through your trip and back – have a great August!
    Linda

  2. melissacuevas August 6, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

    Someone asked me once why, after all of these years of struggling, I haven’t given up on my writing dream. I answered them with the quote that is now on my facebook page… “The only thing that hurts more than having dreams you can’t live is letting them die.” I may have moments where I question my resolve, but I will never give up. Nobody should, because what are we if we let that part of ourselves die?

  3. LA Edwards August 6, 2012 at 3:57 pm #

    Well stated.

  4. spashionistareport August 6, 2012 at 8:36 pm #

    I’m not watching them, either, for the same reason! We have become so busy trying to catch up all our social networks, comment on everybody’s blog, and get everybody’s attention that we run the risk of having no time to dream, let alone make the dream come true! I have to be somewhat selective in what I do until they invent the 36 hour day (or I become a Superhero ;-P ).

  5. photosfromtheloonybin August 6, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

    Very well thought out and written post Amelia. I couldn’t agree more! And by the way, I loved both of those movies!

  6. belasbrightideas August 8, 2012 at 7:28 pm #

    We don’t watch the Olympics either. With all the drugs and hype, it loses something in translation, for us anyway. You mention two of our favorite movies – August Rush and Akeelah and the Bee. Definitely heroic, human, poignant films!

  7. 4amWriter August 11, 2012 at 4:52 am #

    I agree. I like the personal inspiring stories certainly. Because I am reminded that anything is possible if we work hard enough and believe hard enough. But the fact that we only focus on the super successful or the super tragic is disheartening. There are far more in the middle who get missed or overlooked, but they tried just as hard to reach their dreams.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Heart attack food and …. « Eating at my Desk - August 12, 2012

    […] All dreams matter, not just those on national television. (lifeintheblueridges.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Day 29: What WAS your biggest dream in life (you wanted to do as a kid but no longer can)? « A Strange Life… the oddities that makes us - August 12, 2012

    […] All dreams matter, not just those on national television. (lifeintheblueridges.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

