Twenty-one reasons why.

5 Aug

I just got back from spending the weekend in Virginia. I went to visit my best friend Skidmore to celebrate her 21st birthday with her. Since today was her 21st birthday, I thought I’d dedicate this blog post to her. So Skidmore, here are 21 reasons why I love you (even though there are so many more):

  1. You are the truest friend I’ve ever had, and I’m so grateful every day to be able to say that I have someone like you in my life.
  2. You are the least judgemental person I know. I still remember the night at Salem when I finally opened up to you about my past. You were the first person I opened up to, and realizing in the very beginning that you would just be there to listen meant so much to me.
  3. You’re the best hugger I know. Seriously.
  4. You’ve helped me realize what it means to believe in myself. Even though I still have pretty low self-esteem, I’m working at it, and your belief in me to be who I truly am gives me strength.
  5. You love Taylor Swift and country music as much as I do. Who else can I belt out Josh Turner with?
  6. You’ve converted me into a VT Hokie football fan. No words can describe how much I love that. πŸ™‚
  7. You introduced me to Middleman, even though we haven’t watched it in forever. I still want a teddy bear suit though!
  8. You’re a kickass apparel designer. Seriously…the dresses you made for the fashion show were amazing.
  9. You have a giant Scrabble board made out of duct tape. We’ve been best friends for 5 years, and I still can’t get over your amazing duct tape skills.
  10. You’ve fully supported me while I’m working on my memoir, and I’ve loved your feedback. There’s nothing I can say to express how much it means to me that you’re invested in my writing.
  11. You have the best dog in the history of the world.
  12. You’ve helped me develop a sense of style, and for the first time ever, I actually really love shopping for clothes. Who ever thought that day would come?
  13. You love Jodi Picoult as much as me. One of these days we’ve got to go to one of her book signings.
  14. You’ve made me see that true friendship can’t be broken by something as simple as distance.
  15. You’ve helped me realize that I can literally talk to you aboutΒ anything, and that means so much to me.
  16. You introduced me to foot massagers and back massagers. They’ve changed my life.
  17. You are an example of a true Salem sister. I’m so glad that Salem brought us together, but more than that, I’m glad that we have proved that true Salem bonds can never be broken.
  18. You’re probably the most unique person I know. Actually, I take that back…you are the most unique person I know.
  19. You introduced me to Sid, who is an amazing photographer and took some great pictures during my first photoshoot.
  20. You introduced me to V8 Fusion. My life will never be the same.
  21. You are the most amazing best friend I’ve ever had, and I’m so happy that I get to say that you’ve been in my life for the past 5 years. I wouldn’t be who I am today without you, and I love you so much!

 

 

17 Responses to “Twenty-one reasons why.”

  1. irishkatie August 5, 2012 at 10:59 pm #

    *smiles* that was a lovely thing to write of your friend. I think you are both lucky to know one another.

    • ameliaclaire92 August 5, 2012 at 11:02 pm #

      I definitely know I’m so lucky to know her. My life wouldn’t be the same without her. πŸ™‚

  2. Bill Chance August 5, 2012 at 11:40 pm #

    Very nice. A great compliment to your friend and I love that first photo. Y’all both look so happy.

    Thanks for sharing.

  3. beyouandtruetoyourself August 5, 2012 at 11:57 pm #

    My best friend and I totally love this post. It is soooooo sweet and made us smile :)–Jess & Britt

    • ameliaclaire92 August 6, 2012 at 8:30 am #

      Aww thanks. I’m glad you both liked it. πŸ™‚

  4. LA Edwards August 6, 2012 at 3:02 am #

    How utterly beautiful. Your words speak volumes. You are so very lucky Indeed to have a friend like Skidmore, but more importantly, she, is very lucky to have a best friend like you!

  5. Rishabh Upadhyay August 6, 2012 at 8:25 am #

    This is sooo beautiful…. God bless both,, you and your friend Skidmore… πŸ™‚

  6. photosfromtheloonybin August 6, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

    What a wonderful tribute to your best friend, and the photos of the two of you are beautiful. A friendship like that is to be treasured!

  7. belasbrightideas August 8, 2012 at 7:39 pm #

    What a lovely tribute to a true friend – and the photographs! Striking!

  8. Mackenzie August 13, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

    you two are TOO CUTE! this is really the best. you are a good friend, lady.

    • ameliaclaire92 August 13, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

      Aw thanks! πŸ™‚ I have no doubt that you are too!!!

  9. nikky44 August 14, 2012 at 10:48 am #

    It was always my dream to have a best friend like yours. You are very lucky to have each other

    • ameliaclaire92 August 14, 2012 at 10:49 am #

      Yeah. I have no idea where I’d be without her.

Leave a Reply

