Summer pleasure reading wrap-up.

31 Jul

It’s hard to believe that my summer is almost over (though I still have about 2 weeks left). However, since I spent as much time as possible reading as many books as I could, I thought I’d do a summer/pleasure reading wrap-up for the months of May, June, and July. Also, since I love quotes, I thought I’d include quotes from the books that I could find quotes from on Goodreads. 🙂

May

  1. The Life All Around Me by Ellen Foster by Kaye Gibbons: “I believe that anything is possible if you have the combination of love for what you’re doing and the will to sit down and not get up until it’s done.”
  2. The Bean Trees by Barbara Kingsolver: “In a world as wrong as this one, all we can do is make things as right as we can.”
  3. Saving Max by Antoinette van Heugten
  4. Pigs In Heaven by Barbara Kingsolver: “No matter what kind of night you’re having, morning always wins.”
  5. The Choice by Nicholas Sparks: “Stories are as unique as the people who tell them, and the best stories are in which the ending is a surprise.”
  6. Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver: “I thought I wouldn’t live through it. But you do. You learn to love the place somebody leaves behind for you.”
  7. How To Be Lost by Amanda Eyre Ward: “When you are small, if you reach out, and nobody takes your hand, you stop reaching out, and reach inside, instead.”
  8. Beyond The Waves by Miranda Marek
  9. A Soft Place To Land by Susan Rebecca White
  10. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green: “Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.”

June

  1. Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal? by Jeanette Winterson: “That is what literature offers—a language powerful enough to say how it is. It isn’t a hiding place. It is a finding place.”
  2. Fifty Shades Of Grey by EL James: “Laters, baby.”
  3. The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh: “Perhaps the unattached, the unwanted, the unloved, could grow to give love as lushly as anyone else.”
  4. If You Want To Write by Brenda Ueland: “I found that many gifted people are so afraid of writing a poor story that they cannot summon the nerve to write a single sentence for months. The thing to say to such people is: “See how *bad* a story you can write. See how dull you can be. Go ahead. That would be fun and interesting. I will give you ten dollars if you can write something thoroughly dull from beginning to end!” And of course, no one can. ”
  5. On Writing by Stephen King: “Writing is not life, but I think that sometimes it can be a way back to life.”
  6. The Girls’ Guide to Hunting and Fishing by Melissa Bank: “Sometimes you’re loved because of your weaknesses. What you can’t do is sometimes more compelling than what you can.”
  7. Fifty Shades Darker by EL James: “You’re the only person I’d fly three thousand miles to see.”

July

  1. Love Walked In by Marisa De Los Santos: “But sometimes, a boat needs to rock; a boat needs to head straight for the heart of a storm and come out on the other side, weather beaten but with flags flying.”
  2. Fifty Shades Freed by EL James: “I want your world to begin and end with me.”
  3. Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger: “Listen, sometimes when you finally find out, you realize that you were much better off not knowing.”
  4. Sam’s Letters To Jennifer by James Patterson: “What are we but our stories?”
  5. The Map Of Love by Ahdaf Soueif
  6. The Tenderness Of Wolves by Stef Penney: “It just goes to show you can’t leave anything behind. You bring it all with you, whether you want to or not.”
  7. Harvesting The Heart by Jodi Picoult: “Perhaps he d always known that the truth of a person lies in the heart.”
  8. Belong To Me by Marisa De Los Santos: “You know what he said? He said that being away from me is less like being away from a person than being away from other people is. I don’t know anyone else who would say something like that. And he was right. When we were apart, I missed him all the time, but he didn’t feel faraway. He felt closer than the kids at school.”…Certain people are like that, I guess. They’re together no matter where they are. They just belong to each other.”

Total: 25 books. Not too shabby, especially considering I was studying abroad for 5 weeks and going to my internship for 5 days a week. 🙂

What have you read this summer that you’ve really enjoyed?

21 Responses to “Summer pleasure reading wrap-up.”

  1. edlynch July 31, 2012 at 7:45 pm #

    I always enjoyed Kingsolver, of course…went to a book signing or two in order to meet her. Also noted Jeanette Winterson on your list…she’s very good! Have no idea if you would enjoy or not, but have you heard of a book titled Reading Lolita in Tehran? Not sure why I thought of it just now…simply came to me! 🙂

    • ameliaclaire92 July 31, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

      Yeah, I went on a bit of a Kingsolver kick this summer. And no, I haven’t heard of Reading Lolita in Tehran. I’ll have to check it out. 🙂

  2. LA Edwards July 31, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

    Very impressive! I love that you chose to add quotes. And great quotes! Wow, 25 books. I am lucky to get maybe 3 or 4 in that time frame. Nicely done.

  3. Laura July 31, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

    Wow that is a lot of books! In January I made myself read 10 books as a goal for the month and it was hard, I almost didn’t make it. The past couple of months or so I’ve been reading the Dark Tower series by Stephen King. Right now I’m on the fourth one, Wizard and Glass.

    • ameliaclaire92 August 1, 2012 at 8:48 am #

      Sadly, summer is when I get a good chunk of my pleasure reading done, so I know that my list will dwindle once classes and work start up again. However, I’m still planning to keep a month by month list so that I can look back at the end of the year and see how many books I’ve read. 🙂

  4. 4amWriter July 31, 2012 at 10:25 pm #

    Gosh, I’m jealous. I can’t get in a lot of reading over the summer when the kids are home. Right now I’m reading The Night Circus (I’m only on page 14, but I’m liking it so far). Just before that I read The Little Book by Selden Edwards, which I highly recommend if you like a book with lots of layers!

    • ameliaclaire92 August 1, 2012 at 8:49 am #

      I like books with layers so I’ll definitely have to check that one out. Thanks! 🙂

  5. 4amWriter August 1, 2012 at 4:39 am #

    Back again–I nominated you for a Thanks for Writing Award. You can see the info here:
    http://4amwriter.com/2012/08/01/awards-in-rhyme/

  6. Carrie August 1, 2012 at 6:47 am #

    Great list! I, too, am impressed with how much you read while you were doing everything else. My list: ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ – to stay current with what young people of all ages are reading (It’s a priest/educator thing); ‘The Lacuna’ by Kingsolver – to be immersed in another culture with people who intrigue me, i.e. Frida Kahlo and Diego Rivera, and to learn more about the Vanderbilt’s Asheville; ‘Coyote’ by Catherine Grieb – personal story woven into history of the migration of coyotes to eastern U.S. (more later) and ‘Christianity without Religion’ – Diana Butler-Bass – interesting perspective on where the ‘institution’ finds itself today (it’s a priest thing).
    I hope you meant it when you asked what we were reading!! I’m am glad you are back.

    • ameliaclaire92 August 1, 2012 at 8:51 am #

      I haven’t heard of ‘The Lacuna’ by Kingsolver. Is it a new novel by her? I’ll have to check it out since I’ve loved so many of her other books.

      • Carrie August 1, 2012 at 9:05 am #

        My mother introduced me to this one. It was published in 2009. I would love to talk to you about it if you decide to read it. Maybe that would be our “excuse” to meet for coffee. It would be a good idea (coffee) anyway – don’t you think?!

      • ameliaclaire92 August 1, 2012 at 9:06 am #

        It really depends on my schedule. Things are getting really really busy for me. I don’t have much more time to pleasure read on a regular basis anyway with classes and work starting back soon.

  7. P. C. Zick August 1, 2012 at 7:30 am #

    Nice list. We favor some of the same authors although I have to admit I’ve stayed away from the Shades of Gray books. I’d like to hear what you think of them if you’re ever so inclined. Your list shows me you do know good literature! One of my favorites from this summer was A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan.

    • ameliaclaire92 August 1, 2012 at 8:56 am #

      I gave in to Fifty Shades because I wanted to know what all the huff was about regarding the series. I feel like it’s exploded in the literary world. I read the first book of the series and wasn’t planning to continue reading just because of how vulgar it was. However, I was just dying to know what happened to the characters. It wasn’t that I thought it was written well. In my opinion, it’s a very poorly written book. However, I just had to know what happened with the characters so I ended up reading the whole series. Despite knowing that the series isn’t written well, I really loved it actually.

  8. Antoinette van Heugten August 2, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

    Thank you for reading my novel, SAVING MAX! Would love to know what you and others on your blog think of it.
    Best,
    Antoinette

    • ameliaclaire92 August 2, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

      I loved it!!! Is there going to be a sequel?? I’m dying to know what happens to Max’s mother!

  9. Mackenzie August 2, 2012 at 3:59 pm #

    YOU ARE A READING BEAST! can’t wait to make my way through these 🙂

    • ameliaclaire92 August 2, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

      Aw thanks Mackenzie. You should make your way to Asheville at some point so we can drink coffee and talk books all day long! Ah, LOVE! 🙂

  10. belasbrightideas August 3, 2012 at 2:14 am #

    Amelia, thanks for the ideas. Don’t know where I’ll go with them, but ya never do know! 😉
    I have not finished books this summer – instead, it’s grab a snippet of this, a chunk of that. We’ve moved twice in two months, and that’s taken pretty much all the energy I have for other pursuits. But hope we’ve settled for awhile now, and I can get back to reading and writing!
    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

