Ireland detox: not as hard as I expected.

29 Jul

I returned from Ireland late Thursday night, or more accurately, during the wee hours of Friday morning. Even though I wasn’t quite sure how I would adjust to being back, I’ve drifted back into my life in North Carolina pretty nicely. However, at this point I’ve also realized that it’s only been a few days. A week from now I could be longing for Ireland in every fiber of my being. For now though, I’m loving being back.

I think it also has something to do with the fact that I’m jumping back into routines soon, so it’s not as if I’m sitting around for a few months before really getting back to my life. For instance, I start back at my internship with Lark Books (a book publisher in Asheville) tomorrow, I move in to my very first apartment on the 15th of August, and classes of the fall semester and my first day back to work at the bookstore both begin on the 20th of August. Therefore, I have things to look forward to and prepare for, which I’m thankful for. If I came back from Ireland with all this time to sit and think about what I was missing, I think it would be a lot harder to adjust to being back.

I also just love where I live, so it’s not as if I left the beauty of Ireland to come back to a place that I didn’t like. I absolutely love living among the Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina, and I’m even more anxious to head back to Asheville so that I can be among my friends again. However, there are definitely things that I miss, most of which are the people who I met and got to know. Even though I know that I won’t keep up with all of the people who I met in my study abroad group, I know that there are a few that I’ll keep up with just because we connected so well when over in Ireland. In terms of smaller things, it’s a bummer that I have to go from being able to drink in Ireland to not being legal yet in the states. However, when I was Ireland, I talked to this Irish guy who said that he went over to the US when he was 20, and it sucked that he had been able to drink for 2 years in his home country only to come to the US and not be able to. Yeah, I agreed with him that that would have been much harder.

Despite knowing that there will be things that I’ll miss about Ireland, I know that I’ll find a way to go back one day if it’s something that I really want. However, during my time in Ireland, I also realized how many places there are in the United States that I’m longing to visit too. Therefore, maybe when the travel bug bites again, I’ll settle to head somewhere in my home country. I’ve got so many options regarding terrain though. I think that’s what’s so great about the US. There are so many different places that are a relatively short distance apart, especially compared to the distance between the US and a place like Ireland. Now that I’ve been to Ireland, I have no doubt that I’ll want to explore all the different areas in the US as much as I can.

18 Responses to “Ireland detox: not as hard as I expected.”

  1. Laura July 29, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

    Welcome home 😀 Glad you had a great trip!

  2. ameliaclaire92 July 29, 2012 at 5:52 pm #

    Thanks! 🙂

  3. P. C. Zick July 30, 2012 at 6:47 am #

    Welcome back to the States. I agree that you couldn’t have come back to a more beautiful spot especially this time of year. I love reading the column about you and your life.

  4. Letters to Little Man July 30, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    I hope I readjust as easily as you! 🙂 I’ll be seeing you soon!

  5. Errign July 30, 2012 at 1:47 pm #

    Welcome home!

    • ameliaclaire92 July 30, 2012 at 1:59 pm #

      Thanks Errign! It’s about time I catch up on your life/blog. 🙂

      • Errign July 30, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

        I want to come down for a weekend soon – I had the perfect weekend picked out but Malia was going to be in FL.

      • ameliaclaire92 July 30, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

        Yes! Please do. 🙂

  6. 4amWriter July 31, 2012 at 10:20 pm #

    Yay! Welcome home! 🙂

  7. teawithmanaguagunn August 1, 2012 at 4:53 pm #

    ”Blueridge mountains” is such an exotic name! I think its interesting that a trip to Ireland makes you want to explore close to home. Or maybe its the travel bug, as you said. Its nice you liked it.

    • ameliaclaire92 August 1, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

      Yeah, it was a really great experience that also made me realize how much I love where I live as well. 🙂

  8. Mackenzie August 3, 2012 at 11:48 pm #

    welcome back! and you are suuuuuper lucky to live in the blue ridges. i know i am a wee bit jealous. i miss it so much!

    • ameliaclaire92 August 3, 2012 at 11:53 pm #

      Just all the more reason to come visit, Mackenzie!! 🙂

  9. stephm29 August 4, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

    I went to Ireland a few years ago also. If I was able to travel across the ocean again I would go back to Ireland before I went anywhere else because it was so wonderful! You should add pictures!

    • ameliaclaire92 August 4, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

      I’ve posted a good many pictures in a lot of my When In Ireland posts that I wrote while over there. 🙂

      • stephm29 August 4, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

        Oh just noticed that, coffee hasn’t kicked in yet today. 🙂

      • ameliaclaire92 August 4, 2012 at 12:50 pm #

        No worries. I’ve had those days.

Leave a Reply

