When in Ireland, dream of the Blue Ridges.

20 Jul

 

Thousands of tired, nerve-shaken, over-civilized people are beginning to find out going to the mountains is going home; that wilderness is a necessity.-John Muir

The Blue Ridge Mountains of North Carolina are my home, and one week from today, I will be back among their beauty and serenity. I even believe that my coming home calls for a trip to Max Patch Summit, a grassy bald that offers a 360 degree view of mountains. It really is one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been. I haven’t been to Max Patch in about 2 years, so it’s definitely time for another trip since Max Patch is quite literally the most inspirational place I know, the perfect place to go and think. The thought of sitting on top of Max Patch all day and just writing my heart out sounds like just what I need after being away from home for the past 5 weeks.

6 Responses to “When in Ireland, dream of the Blue Ridges.”

  1. photosfromtheloonybin July 20, 2012 at 7:00 am #

    Sounds to me like someone is getting homesick :). I can’t believe your time there is almost done! It seems like just yesterday you were leaving. I hope it has been a wonderful experience for you!!

    • ameliaclaire92 July 20, 2012 at 7:01 am #

      Yeah, I’m ready to head home. 🙂 It has been a really amazing experience though. I’ve had so much fun, and I’ll definitely be back!

  2. Lisa W. Rosenberg July 20, 2012 at 9:12 am #

    Amazing how a big trip makes a person appreciate home! I have to say, I always thought of Ireland as a place of wonderful natural beauty, but there’s nothing like those mountains you’re missing!

    • ameliaclaire92 July 20, 2012 at 9:20 am #

      Ireland has been incredibly gorgeous, and so are the Blue Ridges. It’s a different kind of beauty, but I love both! 🙂

  3. Besma at Life Demiraged July 21, 2012 at 7:04 am #

    Sounds amazing!

Leave a Reply

