When in Ireland, travel to push through writer’s block.

3 Jul

After yesterday’s post (When in Ireland, write through the uncertainty) I have been really introspective. Introspective about my writing, my life, my current experiences. Though I normally get introspective when I talk about my writing, I was especially introspective last night.

I’ve been told that travel is great for writers because being in a new place with new people can help boost creativity and the writer’s spark that most writers can understand on some level. I agree that travel is a great way to broaden one’s perspective in order to create a writing style with more variety. However, what about those times when you’re traveling and you’re just blocked? Completely and utterly blocked.

Other than the uncertainty post I wrote yesterday, I’m pretty much stuck in a rut. I know I need to write. I need it like every single person on Earth needs water. However, I just can’t seem to grab hold of something that takes more than a day to write. I’m writing daily blog posts, and those are hard enough to get out these days. I’m used to my blog posts being pretty easy to write out. Even the posts that tend to be pretty emotionally heavy, the looming thought that I’ll feel better once I get the words out is what pushes me forward, what pushes me to keep typing until the only thing that I feel is relief, relaxation, and maybe happiness. Recently though, writing my blog posts has been hard. I love it. I do. I’ve felt so much happier since beginning this blog last November, and it’s never been something that I’ve had to force. I’ve always wanted to write my daily posts. I still do want to write them, even now. I guess it’s just not quite as easy right now.

As writers, I know we all get stuck though. And those of us who are true writers push through the writer’s block and keep on going. And that’s what I’m doing. However, that doesn’t mean that I’m not faced with moments where I’m staring at my computer screen waiting for the words to come to me. Waiting for them, all the while knowing that they will come eventually. They will. They have to. They are what I know, who I am, and what makes me feel alive.

10 Responses to “When in Ireland, travel to push through writer’s block.”

  1. photosfromtheloonybin July 3, 2012 at 12:56 pm #

    Don’t try so hard. The words will come 🙂

  2. Besma at Life Demiraged July 3, 2012 at 4:52 pm #

    Your posts have been great, didn’t suspect any of the difficulties. Just keep telling us of the most interesting thing you’ve done, encountered, learned, seen, tasted, or heard on the day. Tell us, we’re all ears.

  3. Jennifer M Eaton July 3, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

    I just write. Look out your window. Start describing the rain, or anything else you see. It doesn’t matter. Once the words start, they will not stop.

    • ameliaclaire92 July 4, 2012 at 7:34 am #

      Describing the rain is actually one of my favorite things. I’m surprised I didn’t think of it before.

  4. LA Edwards July 3, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

    Your posts are great and very heartfelt. Keep up the writing even the best writers get stuck in ruts. Relax and enjoy your surroundings and the words will come. Trust in yourself and allow the creative side in you overcome whatever is going on in your head preventing you from writing. I know it can be difficult. It has happened to me, and many great writers; persevere. I think it might have something to do with being away from the comforts of things you are comfortable, friends, family, school, etc. Take in this new adventure in your life, relax and grab hold of this wonderful experience you are on. The words will come. Never give up hope. You have the makings of a great writer. By merely writing your posts albeit difficult you have demonstrated that you can persevere. Let loose of the worries and have fun. Tell us about Ireland. We would love to hear all about your adventures. Hope this helps.

    • ameliaclaire92 July 4, 2012 at 7:35 am #

      Thank you so so much for this, Louise. I needed it.

  5. heylookawriterfellow July 4, 2012 at 7:24 am #

    Oh, just take a break and enjoy your trip. Why are writers the only people on earth who never allow themselves a real vacation? Every brain needs rest, some time to reflect, experience and enjoy what’s out there.

    The stories will come as soon as you stop putting so much pressure on yourself.

  6. 4amWriter July 8, 2012 at 5:41 am #

    Yes, just write. Personally, I think it is hard to write on top of blogging–because blogging does utilize those creative juices. But when you think about the fact that you are already writing, just in a different format, then you know the thoughts, words, ideas are there. You just have to access them differently. Try a certain time every day, or go to a quiet pub daily, or something that is different than how you go about writing your blog.

    But don’t worry about it too much, because you are obviously drawing a crowd with your words.

Leave a Reply

