When in Ireland, seek out the live music.

29 Jun

Last night Alex (my roommate) and I went to Eyre Square in downtown Galway in search of live music. We took the bus, which I prefered since I’m trying to save my energy as much as I can. Anyway, the bus dropped us off at Eyre Square, and we went hunting for music. We saw this pub called Richardson’s and saw a sign that said “Live Music Tonight” and decided to take a look.

The pubs in Ireland can be pretty different from one another, but I like them. Richardson’s was pretty typical. Warm, inviting, plenty of places to sit. Though it wasn’t packed when Alex and I got there, there were still a good many people there enjoying the soccer game that was on tv. Though I didn’t drink last night, the bartenders were very nice and asked us if we wanted anything. Since the pub wasn’t packed, I think it gave the bartenders a chance to try to make sure everyone was happy and enjoying themselves.

The live music started at 9:30, once the soccer game was over. The band was made of up a fiddler player, the beautiful red-headed accordion player, and a guitar player. Alex and I were set for the night once we saw the beautiful red-headed Irish guy. The music was really wonderful too. Since the pub wasn’t packed with people, Alex and I enjoyed it more because rather than the musicians having to play over the noise, the music just played for itself. About halfway through the night, one of the band members (the guitar player) asked if there were any Americans in the house, and Alex and I said yes. His response: “There’s always one.” We laughed.

They then proceeded to play a Bob Dylan song as well as a Simon and Garfunkel song. Alex and I sang along to the songs we knew and cheered happily once the songs we over. Even though the music was amazing and neither of us wanted to leave, I knew that if we didn’t leave after a while we wouldn’t be up for our Lit class at 9 this morning.

We did end up making it to our class this morning, and both of us are still happily chattering about how much fun we had last night. Tonight we are planning to try to find the band we heard last night. I’m sure they’d enjoy having two American girls being their groupies, or at least that’s what I’m telling myself.

10 Responses to “When in Ireland, seek out the live music.”

  1. photosfromtheloonybin June 29, 2012 at 6:48 am #

    Too bad you didn’t take a picture for us of the beautiful red-headed guy 🙂 LOL

  2. belasbrightideas June 29, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

    So cool. Maybe you’ll run into Damien Rice performing on a street corner 😉

  3. Laura June 29, 2012 at 3:33 pm #

    Sounds like so much fun!

  4. Besma at Life Demiraged June 30, 2012 at 4:43 am #

    I’m glad you’re enjoying your experience to the fullest.

  5. Errign June 30, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

    Oh, beautiful Irish men…they’re my kryptonite for sure!

  6. 4amWriter July 8, 2012 at 5:37 am #

    Ooh, one of my favorite things about Europe are the quaint pubs. Nothing like what we have here. Sounds like a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

