When in Ireland, take luck where you can find it.

25 Jun

Most of us have heard the phrase, “the luck of the Irish,” but whether the luck is still around or not, I’m not sure. I’ve never really believed in luck, but since coming to Ireland, I’ve learned to just take luck where you can find it.

For instance, I’m currently in Ireland and tomorrow I start my study abroad program at NUIG. That’s luck. Though it may not seem like luck that I am here, it’s lucky that the right opportunity arose to allow me to be here taking part in a study abroad program. There are not many people who get this kind of opportunity, but when I realized that I had this chance, I had to take it.

Even though I’m excited about what my program holds and I’m looking forward to meeting new people, I’m nervous. It’s scary….doing something this big. I don’t know anyone. I’m in a foreign country. Thankfully they speak English, but even that isn’t too much of a reassurance considering how big of a step I’m taking. Even though I went to Peru in January of 2010 with a group from my high school, this is a step up from that. Though traveling to Peru was my first time out of the United States, the trip only lasted 12 days, and I was with a group of students from my school, so I knew everyone. In this instance, I don’t know anyone, and I will be hereΒ for 28 days rather than 12. Quite a difference.

I know that it takes time to adjust, and my mom has warned me that I shouldn’t be too hard on myself about not doing everything since just being here and taking classes for 4 weeks is huge in itself. However, there’s always that voice in the back of my head urging me to not hold back….that voice in my head that would rather go out and do stuff instead of hang out on campus and study and pleasure read on the quad. However, hanging out on campus and studying/pleasure reading on the quad sounds pretty great to me. Since it is luck that I’ve had the opportunity to enjoy this experience, I’m going to enjoy it my way. All students are different, and all of the students participating in this study abroad experience in Galway, Ireland have different expectations for how the program is going to go. Just because my expectations don’t match those of another student doesn’t mean I need to fret. Maybe it just means that I need to enjoy being in Ireland/taking classes/reading, and maybe by some small stroke of Irish luck, I’ll meet someone who’s looking for a similar experience.

12 Responses to “When in Ireland, take luck where you can find it.”

  1. Besma at Life Demiraged June 25, 2012 at 9:30 am #

    I have to admit I’m not usually a fan of autobiographical writing. But your writing style is so grasping that I find myself following your experiences with quite an interest!

    • ameliaclaire92 June 25, 2012 at 11:46 am #

      Aw wow, well thank you so much. That means a lot to me. πŸ™‚

  2. photosfromtheloonybin June 25, 2012 at 9:36 am #

    I admire you so much for having the courage to do what you are doing. I could never have done that at your age. You should be very proud of yourself, and I’m sure you will do amazing in your classes!!

  3. Lisa W. Rosenberg June 25, 2012 at 11:52 am #

    I believe luck will surely come to someone with as much courage as you’ve got. Enjoy and be proud!

    • ameliaclaire92 June 25, 2012 at 11:55 am #

      Thanks Lisa. Your support means so much to me. I hope all is well with you. πŸ™‚

  4. Carrie June 25, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

    Your luck started when you boarded that plane. I continue to be grateful that we have ‘met’. There are many similar stories of my college years and testing my limits. No regrets – friend.
    We will read an entry soon — the right person came along and the journey will grow.

    • ameliaclaire92 June 27, 2012 at 6:35 am #

      πŸ™‚ I’m grateful that we’ve ‘met’ as well.

  5. ariannasrandomthoughts June 26, 2012 at 1:25 am #

    You”ll have a wonderful time, I’m sure πŸ™‚ Just be open to new experiences and who knows what will happen. Cant wait to hear what your adventure has in store for you.

    • ameliaclaire92 June 27, 2012 at 6:35 am #

      Thanks Arianna. I’m feeling much better today. πŸ™‚

  6. 4amWriter June 26, 2012 at 7:57 am #

    We make our own luck, I think. So, to me, the fact you’re in Ireland about to embark on a study abroad program is because you took advantage of an opportunity. That is luck. πŸ™‚

  7. v1wchrysalesen1985 September 4, 2012 at 12:49 am #

    Reblogged this on Tres Mckinney Weblog and commented:

Leave a Reply

