When in Ireland, laugh at the road signs.

24 Jun

In Ireland, the phrase “go mall” means slow/slow down. My mom and I have gotten quite a kick out of this phrase because it just sounds so funny to say. We have come across so many sayings or road signs here that are common for the Irish, but yet make us American collapse into a giggle fit. For instance, I explained in my first Ireland post, When in Ireland, don’t drive like an American, that driving on the opposite side of the road has been enough of a challenge. However, when you throw in phrases like, “go mall” and “Caution: Unstable Road Edge,” the only choice we have is to laugh and hope we can stay on the road and not have an accident.

Since my mom and I were still getting used to being able to get around Ireland by car, when we saw the “Unstable Road Edge” sign, we thought: Great.Β Just great. We soon found out that Ireland is full of curves, or “bends” as they call them here, as well as bumpy countryside roads. Therefore, shouldn’t they also include a “Stable Road Edge” sign? I think so.

Also in Ireland they call speed bumps “ramps,” which is also pretty funny, especially because the “ramps” can be pretty extreme depending on the speed that you are driving. You know how in America there are some pretty major speed bumps that have the ability to make your stomach drop? Yeah, well, it seems like all the “ramps” do that here too. That being said: ramps + unstable road edges + bendy roads + all the potholes just leads to a bit of an upset stomach at the end of the car ride. Maybe that’s why the Irish drink so much. Maybe they’ve just gotten out of the car after driving on a tiny, curvy, bumpy country road and all they want to do for the next few days is sit in a dark pub and drink Guinness by the pint. Just a thought. πŸ™‚

18 Responses to “When in Ireland, laugh at the road signs.”

  1. Stephen G. Hipperson June 24, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

    From what I’ve seen, some of them need little excuse to ‘sit in a dark pub and drink Guiness by the pint”. – but that’s very similar to many other places I’ve been! So have you had your first pint ye?

    • ameliaclaire92 June 24, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

      Nope, I don’t think they need much of an excuse either. And no, I haven’t. I tried it, but I’m not a fan of Guinness. It’s too dark for me. I’m sticking to Bulmer’s, Irish hard cider. πŸ™‚

  2. Ryan Davis June 24, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

    great. seems like you are having a lot of fun there. huh ? great.

    • ameliaclaire92 June 25, 2012 at 7:58 am #

      Yeah, it’s been fun so far!

      • Ryan Davis June 27, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

        that is great. my job is going okay as well. πŸ™‚

      • ameliaclaire92 June 28, 2012 at 4:22 am #

        Yay. I’m glad to hear that!

      • Ryan Davis July 4, 2012 at 2:55 am #

        thank you.
        πŸ™‚
        putting up another poem do read it, at leisure, its random but involves a dream I had.

  3. Errign June 24, 2012 at 7:15 pm #

    Road signs in Asia are SO funny. πŸ™‚

  4. Planning 2 Learn June 24, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

    Sounds like you are having fun! I miss England and never did make it to Ireland. Just watch the round a bouts!

    • ameliaclaire92 June 25, 2012 at 8:00 am #

      Yep, the round a bouts took some getting used to but my mom and I are close to pros….or close to an average understanding of them haha. πŸ™‚

  5. katkasia June 24, 2012 at 10:52 pm #

    Sounds like fun! The tall hedges hemming in the road, but with a stone wall lurking inside the fuchsia are pretty scary too!
    My favourite was in either the Netherlands or Denmark (I can’t quite recall which), where the speedhumps are called ‘Drempels’, which is such an onomatopoeic word.

    • ameliaclaire92 June 25, 2012 at 8:01 am #

      Haha, yes. ‘Drempels’ is a pretty funny choice for a word too. πŸ™‚

  6. middleagestudent June 25, 2012 at 9:29 am #

    Who needs a reason to drink a Guinness? I’m always up for a some “good craic” in a pub snug! We were glad we took a tour bus when we went to Ireland. The driving seemed to be more of a challenge than I would want to undertake. Kudos to you!

  7. rmangena June 26, 2012 at 8:48 am #

    Have you been greeted with a “Top of the morning? already. I am told this is an Irish form of “Good Morning”. In case you haven’t been, this is how you respond, if it finally comes “And the other half to yourself” or something to that effect

    Enjoy Ireland and savour as much as you can of the potatoe recipes

    • ameliaclaire92 June 27, 2012 at 6:36 am #

      I haven’t been greeted with a “Top of the morning,” but I look forward to it. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

