When in Ireland, pharmacists are as good (or better) than doctors.

21 Jun

To continue with my “When in Ireland” series….on Tueaday right before my flight from the JFK airport to Dublin, I realized that my throat was starting to get sore. The easiest thing would have been to just bypass it and not really make a big deal of it. However, when I woke up this morning, it hurt worse when I swallowed and my throat glands were super swollen. The normal reaction (or the “normal” reaction that entwines my mom and I’s increased cussing since arriving in Ireland) would have been: “Aw shit I’m getting sick!” However, though my throat hurt like crazy when I swallowed, I gave in to the lovely pull of Ireland and drank as much tea as possible (see, normally I’m a coffee person. However, ever since being introduced to Irish tea, I have converted…or at least for the remainder this trip).

Anyway, since I was feeling worse this morning, I had one cup of tea before breakfast, 2 cups of tea at breakfast, and 2 cups at “lunch.” And I say “lunch” because since we had a full breakfast…we didn’t eat lunch until 4pm this afternoon (2 hours ago). The Irish must think our eating times are so weird. However, they just smile and bring us a pot of tea with our meal, even though drinking tea here is more connected to a mid-afternoon tea-time I’m guessing.

Even though our lunch was late in the day, those who served our lunch were super sweet. Since they were so accommodating, we decided to ask their advice on what to do about my sore throat since the pain hadn’t let up from this morning (except for the times when I was drinking tea). A sweet Irish woman suggested we go to a pharmacy. “Don’t go to a doctor. You’ll have to wait an hour and pay 50 Euro to get the same information from a pharmacist that could be free. Truthfully, the information that you get from a pharmacist will be just as good (or better) than what a doctor will tell you.”

Therefore, we turned around and headed back towards Killarney, where we are staying tonight. We ended up seeing a pharmacy before getting to Killarney, which was easily found by the neon green plus sign that flashes just outside each pharmacy. Anyway, after describing my symptoms to the pharmacist, I was given a throat spray and then got some Halls throat lozenges to help with pain as well. Even though the throat spray left an awful taste in my mouth, I “chased” it with a strawberry-flavored throat lozenge and felt the pain ease up in a matter of minutes. Even though my throat still hurts some, I’m just relieved that I now have something to ease the pain. Something is always better than nothing. Plus, now I have made a great discovery to carry with me throughout my time in Ireland: Pharmacists are as good (or better) than doctors!

10 Responses to “When in Ireland, pharmacists are as good (or better) than doctors.”

  1. belasbrightideas June 21, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

    I found this amazing as well, when last in Europe! Also all the homeopathic remedies (ALL the remdies!) one can find in the pharmacy!

    • ameliaclaire92 June 21, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

      I noticed all of those as well. So amazing! πŸ™‚

  2. Dave Shockley June 21, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

    My wife is from Ireland and she is always telling me how much better it was there.

    • ameliaclaire92 June 21, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

      So much better, and it only cost me 20 Euro as opposed to having to shell out 50 Euro for a doctor’s visit plus the 20 Euro to pay for the medicine the doctor would recommend picking up at a pharmacy.

  3. niasunset June 21, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

    Just keep in your mind, drinking instead of tea when you have throat problem like yours, drink sage tea or your can make just to gargle (the sage tea, dried leaves and you put a piece of them into a boiled water just for a few minutes then you can drink or keep in your mounth for a few minutes… It is so sad to be sick during travel, I am glad toy find the best place, I hope you get well soon. With my love, nia

  4. niasunset June 21, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

    I am glad to hear that you found the best place there…. sorry for my mistake.

  5. Errign June 21, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    I’ll never forget taking cold medicine there (that comes over the counter with codeine in it) the first night we went out drinking. I got stupid drunk from the combination and made a huge fool of myself πŸ™‚

  6. photosfromtheloonybin June 21, 2012 at 9:35 pm #

    Feel better πŸ™‚

  7. Laura June 22, 2012 at 1:04 am #

    Hope you feel better!

  8. fiztrainer June 22, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    My husband (a pharmacist) will be proud!! Hope you feel better! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

