Let the packing begin!

16 Jun

I leave for Ireland in 3 days! Ah, excitement!!!!! Today marks day 1 of my packing, which will also count as day 1 of list-making for the last-minute things that I still need to get. From the experience of packing for previous trips, I’ve found that I often don’t think of the things that I still need to get until I start putting things in my suitcase that I know I’m definitely taking. Therefore, I’m just going to start pulling out all the things I know I’m going to take: clothes (including a raincoat….a Β necessity for Ireland), toiletries, important documents, chargers and adapters, PicCell phone, camera, computer, etc.

I better go hop on the packing bandwagon before I waste too much time looking at the blogs of all those that I follow on WordPress. However, I’d love to hear of some of your packing tips when preparing for a long trip. Yes, I know the whole “pack light” mantra, and thankfully I’m a pretty concise packer. However, what are some of your packing tips? What are certain things you’ve found that you can’t leave home without when going on long trips (the only thing included in this category for me are my computer, my PicCell phone, and my camera)? Packing tips….stories…important things you’ve forgotten….I’d love to hear it!

8 Responses to “Let the packing begin!”

  1. Anita S June 16, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

    My only tip is to review your packing list anytime you leave one place to go to another. I don’t know if you will be in one location or several, but when I went to Europe I left a trail of items — some of them things I really valued — behind me.
    Good luck & bon voyage!

    • ameliaclaire92 June 16, 2012 at 4:34 pm #

      I’ll be traveling around Ireland, but I’ll be staying in Galway for all 4 weeks of my study abroad program. Thanks for the tips Anita. πŸ™‚

  2. spashionistareport June 16, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

    Many years ago I spent three weeks traveling through Spain and France. It was lovely, and I’d like to think the world has become a more open-minded place towards the disabled than it was when I was there. But, in case it hasn’t, remember that different cultures have very different attitudes towards CP. In many places the locals thought I was a beggar or a Gypsy trying to scam them out of money because this is (or was) common practice throughout Europe. It hurt my feelings that they threw coins at my feet and I told them so – I speak both languages. I threw their money back at them, focused on the beauty of the countryside (and the food!) met a few genuinely good people,and had a wonderful time.
    I really, really, want you to come back and tell us how amazing your stay was and how nice people were. I want to know that time has changed the European preconceptions about CP.
    Remember to chew gum during your flight’s takeoff and descent to avoid your ears getting stopped up πŸ™‚

    • ameliaclaire92 June 16, 2012 at 4:38 pm #

      I’m sorry to hear about the unfortunate reaction towards your CP. Though I hope that I don’t come across the same reactions, it will be a learning experience either way. Since I’ve dealt with plenty close-minded people throughout my life and those that were obviously uncomfortable around me, I just choose to surround myself with the people that lift me up inside of those who tear me down. However things turn out though, I’ll learn a lot. Unfortunate experiences thankfully also can be very significant learning experiences when it comes to trying to understand a new culture.

      • spashionistareport June 16, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

        I’m sure you’ll be fine, and I wasn’t trying to put a damper on your excitement in any way. You’re a smart, lovely girl and anybody who looks down their nose at you is a fool πŸ˜‰
        Have a blast and keep us in the loop!

      • ameliaclaire92 June 16, 2012 at 6:22 pm #

        Yeah, it’s fine. I definitely appreciate the heads up though. πŸ™‚ And I’ll be keeping everyone in the loop. I can’t leave my lovely blog followers hanging. πŸ™‚

  3. yogikarenk June 16, 2012 at 7:33 pm #

    yee haw!

Leave a Reply

