Are You In Need Of A Writing Push?

13 Jun

“The great thing about dreams is no one else controls them.”

The above quote was told to me by one of my writing mentors 3 years ago, and I haven’t been able to get it out of my head recently. Yesterday I got some great support from the same writing mentor who told me the above quote.

Even though I haven’t touched my memoir in quite a while, the simple realization that there are people out there aching for me to share my story as much as I’m aching to get it out is enough of a push to help me to understand that I can’t stop writing. I can’t stop writing, even on the days when it hurts so much to emotionally revisit my painful past. I owe it to myself as well as those who love me to share my story of what it’s been like to live with, and ultimately overcome, Cerebral Palsy.

So here is my mantra as of today: Write On.

Have any of you recently needed a push to keep on writing? What has been your fallback when looking for something (an object or something abstract) to push you to keep digging for the words that you long to share with the world? 

7 Responses to “Are You In Need Of A Writing Push?”

  1. photosfromtheloonybin June 13, 2012 at 7:37 am #

    I, for one, can’t wait to read it! :). Write on!

  2. wildhorse33 June 13, 2012 at 2:22 pm #

    Amelia – I wish you all the best on your upcoming trip… it is nice when one can realize a dream! I love your writing and following your blog. Keep well and keep writing – you have so much to offer as inspiration to everyone, not just those who might have had or have a physical challenge. Look forward to more posts!

    • ameliaclaire92 June 13, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

      Thank you so much for your words of encouragement. It means so so much. 🙂

  3. Pastor Timothy June 13, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

    O, I wish that statement were true for me. Sometimes I fear that my dreams control me more than I control them. I have to bring myself back to reality and … well, die to my dreams. It’s truly frustrating and humbling.

  4. ltownsdin June 13, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    Thanks for commenting on my blog. Good luck on your memoir. I’ll be visiting your site often.

Leave a Reply

