Counting Down The Days Until Ireland!

11 Jun

I leave for Ireland in 8 days. Truthfully, it still feels a bit unreal, and yet it’s not. In eight short days, I’ll be saying goodbye to the United States and hello to a dream of mine: Ireland. 🙂

I spent time yesterday getting things ready for Ireland: making copies of all the important documents, going out and getting power adapters for my computer and camera charger (the two necessities of my trip, both of which will help me document the experience of a lifetime). Even though I haven’t started packing yet, I’ll probably do some packing trial runs throughout this week so that I’ll be sure and have everything when I leave on the 19th. Even though I’ve been told that a lot of things can be bought once I’m Ireland, I still want to bring as much of my own things as I can. Thankfully, I’ve always been a pretty light packer anyway, and I’ll definitely want to have plenty of room for gifts for family and friends as well as a few momentoes for myself.

Since I’ll be traveling around for a week with my mom before my program begins in Galway, I’ll hopefully be able to at least get a feel for things (transportation, money, shops, pubs etc) before starting my program. While in Galway, I’ll be taking two courses, and even though I haven’t officially signed up for classes yet, I’m hoping to take Irish Literature and Film and Gaelic Culture. Four full weeks of reading Irish literature and learning as much as possible about the Irish culture…I couldn’t think of anything better.

I’m also excited to keep all of you up to date on my travels and my experiences while in Ireland. I’ll be posting tons of pictures as well as recapping the best memories of every few days. I’m so happy to be able to tell all of you how my trip is going. Most of all though, I’m just ready to embark on the experience of a lifetime. I’ve had more than my share of nerves over the past few days, but truthfully, I think once I actually get there, most of my nerves will settle. I mean, how can I not smile constantly when I’m finally living a dream of mine? 🙂

14 Responses to “Counting Down The Days Until Ireland!”

  1. photosfromtheloonybin June 11, 2012 at 8:01 am #

    I can’t wait to hear about your experiences which I know will be amazing!! My dream is to one day go to both Scotland and Ireland, but for now I will live vicariously through you :).

    • ameliaclaire92 June 11, 2012 at 9:49 am #

      Well I definitely give you permission to live vicariously through me, haha!

  2. lisahurstphotography June 11, 2012 at 11:28 am #

    You are so lucky. I would love four weeks in Ireland to take pictures. Enjoy!

  3. Errign June 11, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

    As far as powering stuff – you’re better off to buy a plug adapter for your computer, only, since computers have built in converters that most other electronics don’t. (best thing to do is buy chargers that charge through your computer). Also, you’d be better off to buy a phone there (pre-paid) than to take yours – message me on facebook if you have questions…I want to come visit!

    • ameliaclaire92 June 11, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

      Yeah, I just got a plug adapter because I talked to my brother and he said that my Mac’s power chord does the conversion already. And yeah, I’m not taking mine since the roaming charges would be crazy. I got a PicCell phone (which is what API recommended), primarily for emergencies. Come visit me, please please! 🙂

  4. Hot Rod Cowgirl June 11, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

    Congratulations! I just nominated you for The Blog On Fire Award! Here is my link:

    http://hotrodcowgirl.com/2012/06/11/blog-on-fire-award/

  5. Laura June 12, 2012 at 4:38 am #

    Ah I’m so jealous!!! Have a great trip 😀

  6. 4amWriter June 12, 2012 at 4:51 am #

    You’re going to have a blast. Looking forward to your updates!

  7. hypersensationalism June 12, 2012 at 9:58 am #

    Ooooh I can’t wait to read about it!

  8. belasbrightideas June 12, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

    Have TOO MUCH FUN!!! So excited for you! I need to go there one day and connect with some of my tangled roots 😉

  9. Alexa June 13, 2012 at 4:43 pm #

    Spent five months in Galway studying at NUIG. I’ve been back almost 3 weeks now and am already dying to go back!! Nothing to be nervous about, the people couldn’t be nicer if they tried and it’s so so beautiful there! I would be shocked if you had less than an amazing time there!

    • ameliaclaire92 June 13, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

      It’s so great to hear that you had such an amazing experience. I’ve heard wonderful things about Galway, and I’m so happy that I decided to study at NUIG for the 4 weeks of my study abroad program! 🙂

Leave a Reply

