A Soft Place To Land by Susan Rebecca White.

10 Jun

Since I’ve been reading like crazy lately, I thought I’d post book reviews for the next few days. Two weeks ago I read  A Soft Place To Land by Susan Rebecca White, which was yet another book that I bought at my favorite used bookstore in Asheville, Mr. K’s. Here’s the synopsis of the book (according to Amazon.com):

For more than ten years, Naomi and Phil Harrison enjoyed a marriage of heady romance, tempered only by the needs of their children. But on a vacation alone, the couple perishes in a flight over the Grand Canyon. After the funeral, their daughters, Ruthie and Julia, are shocked by the provisions in their will.

Spanning nearly two decades, the sisters journeys take them from their familiar home in Atlanta to sophisticated bohemian San Francisco, a mountain town in Virginia, the campus of Berkeley, and lofts in Williamsburg, Brooklyn. As they heal from loss, search for love, and begin careers, their sisterhood, once an oasis, becomes complicated by resentment, anger, and jealousy. It seems as though the echoes of their parents deaths will never stop reverberating until another shocking accident changes everything once again.

I read A Soft Place To Land soon after reading How To Be Lost by Amanda Eyre Ward, and even though they were two different books, I am now catching myself getting them confused since it’s been a few weeks since I read them. If asked to choose, I’d say that I enjoyed How To Be Lost more. However, they are 2 different books by 2 different authors, so there’s only a certain amount of comparison that can be done.

More than anything A Soft Place To Land is about sisters and the connection that the sisters have with each other before and after their parents deaths. This book was a quick read for me, which most of the time is a good thing. However, I think at this point I’ve read so many books in the last 2 weeks that the differing plot lines are beginning to mesh together. In my personal opinion though, How To Be Lost was a better read. Feel free to check out my review for How To Be Lost here: https://lifeintheblueridges.wordpress.com/2012/06/02/how-to-be-lost-by-amanda-eyre-ward/

Leave a Reply

