The Power of Introverts, A TED Talk by Susan Cain.

9 Jun

I just listened to this amazing TED Talk called The Power of Introverts by Susan Cain, and I wanted to share it with all of you. Susan Cain discusses the differences between introverts and extroverts, while also mentioning how our society needs to stop placing such a negative stamp on those who identify themselves as introverts.  I’ve got to go and get Susan Cain’s book: Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking. 

The Power of Introverts by Susan Cain

“The No. 1 thing is for introverts to feel not just comfortable about who they are but to be proud, and to harness their strengths. Introverts often feel like something is wrong with them, as if introversion is a weakness. People feel a lot of guilt about preferring to be alone. But they shouldn’t.”-Susan Cain (from a Q & A featured on PsychCentral.com).

13 Responses to “The Power of Introverts, A TED Talk by Susan Cain.”

  1. Angelia Sims June 9, 2012 at 11:37 am #

    I am an introverted extrovert…..at least according to my genes. My mom was a beauty queen, and my dad VERY INTROVERTED. He hardly left his house. I have to fight that introvert inclination in my life and when I am feeling confident and secure…it makes all the difference. Great post!

    • ameliaclaire92 June 9, 2012 at 12:20 pm #

      I used to not know if I was an introvert or extrovert, but after much thought I know that I am an introvert. Not extremely, but an introvert nonetheless.

  2. Alethea Eason June 9, 2012 at 11:49 am #

    Thank you for posting this. From one introvert to another.

    • ameliaclaire92 June 9, 2012 at 12:22 pm #

      You’re welcome. It helped me realize that I should embrace my introvert tendencies while also realizing that it’s not such a bad thing if I don’t reach the point where I don’t want to socialize with others (which won’t happen since I love the few close friends that I have more than anything).

      • Alethea Eason June 9, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

        A friend of mine opened me up to what it means being an introvert several years ago and it was a great gift. I so often feel like odd person out at places like around the lunch table at work, but I value the treasures being one has given me and the close friends that I have that are all sisters and brothers in the spirit.

      • ameliaclaire92 June 9, 2012 at 12:30 pm #

        I know exactly what you mean. It’s wonderful to reach a point where each one of us can finally feel comfortable in our own skin. 🙂

  3. yogikarenk June 9, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

    I love this TED talk. I am at heart, an introvert.

  4. stephenedwards425 June 9, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

    The TED talk is awesome…as are many others…you will enjoy the book…it is an easy and captivating read…plus it will give you tons to talk about at your next party. 🙂

    Be encouraged!

  5. April B. June 9, 2012 at 10:16 pm #

    Great TED talk! I love this! Thanks for all the great things you share on your blog! I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award…See it here: http://aprilbradham.wordpress.com/2012/06/10/the-versatile-blogger-award/

  6. Hot Rod Cowgirl June 10, 2012 at 1:08 am #

    Huge Amen:) Thanks for posting this:)

  7. belasbrightideas June 12, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

    I was JUST having this conversation with somebody yesterday! He and I both are introverts, but have learned to function in society as more extroverted. Doesn’t change the reality, however. 😉

Leave a Reply

