Here I Come, Florida!

19 May

By the time most of you read this, I will be on the road to Florida! A friend of mine from UNCA, Malia, lives in Florida, and she’s just now heading home for the summer. Since she had her car with her in Asheville, I have offered to ride down with her. Who doesn’t love a road trip?! Granted, I think after 8 hours of driving, we will be more than relieved to have made it to the sunshine state! Plus, this finally gives me a chance to see Malia’s home and meet all of her friends back home. I can’t wait. It’s going to be so much fun!

From what I can tell, I’m prepared. I’ve got 3 books for me. Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout which I’m reading now, The Choice by Nicholas Sparks (since Nicholas Sparks books are definite beach reads), and Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver. I’ll only be in Florida until Thursday morning, but I’ll be flying back so I’ll definitely need something to read while I’m in the airport/on the plane. Hopefully three books will be enough.

I love road trips. However, this will be the first time EVER that I’m taking a road trip with a friend of mine. I’m so excited. Thankfully we have an audiobook that Malia downloaded so we won’t get too bored in the car: The Mermaid Chair by Sue Monk Kidd (the author of The Secret Life of Bees). That being said, Malia and I have been debating how long it will take before we’re bitching at each other. She guessed 10 minutes. I guessed 5. But Malia and I have the kind of friendship where we can bitch at one other and banter back and forth until we have a stomach ache from laughing so hard. Needless to say, it’s going to be a really interesting car ride, and I’m so excited!!!

Our first stop will be in Orlando since one of Malia’s friends lives there. From what he’s told us, he’s rented a boat for us to enjoy on Saturday/Sunday which allows you to see all the Disney parks, but from a boat (which I think is super cool because you don’t have to deal with the crowds of people). Anyway, I’m really excited for the boat, and it’ll be so much to finally (maybe/hopefully) get some sort of tan before I go to Ireland! On Sunday night we’ll head to Malia’s house in West Palm Beach and spend the rest of the trip there (at least in my case). I’m excited to see where Malia grew up and hear all the childhood stories that you only really hear in full when you are in the place where they all happened.

And, of course, the beach! Even though I’m definitely a mountain girl, I really love the beach too. It’ll be so great to be able to lay out on the beach with a book and just soak up the sunshine. Granted, it’ll be pretty hot (since it is Florida, after all), but that’s what getting in the ocean is for…to cool off for a little bit before heading back to the book that holds characters that you silently wish you could just sit down with and talk to right then and there.

Check in tomorrow for a review of Barbara Kingsolver’s novel, Pigs In Heaven.

11 Responses to “Here I Come, Florida!”

  1. Emily January May 19, 2012 at 8:54 am #

    I will be interested to know what you think of Olive Kitteridge. I hated that book! 🙂

    • ameliaclaire92 May 19, 2012 at 8:56 am #

      I’m not really a fan of it so far, but I do like that each chapter is a new story. It makes it easier to stop reading after a particular chapter is over.

  2. ailialana May 19, 2012 at 10:00 am #

    Concentrate on that tan Ameliaclaire…it’s going to have to last you until you get back! Have fun (I’m actually really envious of that road trip….and Florida…stuff that dreams are made up from this side of the pond)

    • ameliaclaire92 May 21, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

      Tan…I’m not sure. But sunburn…yes, I’ve already started working on that.

  3. LA Edwards May 19, 2012 at 10:52 am #

    Florida sounds like fun. Have a good trip! You are a lucky girl. Yay you!

  4. Errign May 20, 2012 at 7:51 am #

    Have fun you two 🙂 The Mermaid Chair is a good book, but it’s a little dark sometimes.

    • ameliaclaire92 May 21, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

      We didn’t end up listening to The Mermaid Chair, but I’m going to read it once I get back home.

  5. Cultural Life May 20, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    Have fun in Florida! I would love to be on the beach right now soaking up the sun. 🙂

    • ameliaclaire92 May 21, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

      That’s exactly what I did today. It was so perfect. 🙂

  6. Laura May 20, 2012 at 5:11 pm #

    Hope your trip is fun!

Leave a Reply

