Monday’s Musings.

14 May

It’s the start of a new week, but for me that just means I’m one day closer to leaving for Ireland! But here’s what I’m up to today.

  1. Reading Pigs In Heaven by Barbara Kingsolver.- I finally finished The Bean Trees by Barbara Kingsolver and absolutely loved it, so I’ve moved on to my second Barbara Kingsolver novel. Pleasure reading is just so wonderful.
  2. Making vegetablerisotto.- When I went to Peru during January of my senior year (in 2010), my first meal I had when I was in Peru was risotto. It was my first introduction to the amazing dish of risotto, and ever since Peru, I’ve been wanting to have it again. A few days ago I was at the store and saw a package of vegetable risotto. Though I know that a bag isn’t going to be nearly as good as if I were to make it from scratch, but I wanted to see how I liked this kind. If I seem to like it, them I’ve got something else easy to cook when I’m in my first apartment starting this fall.
  3. Packing for Florida.- On either Friday or Saturday, my friend Malia and I are driving down to Florida. She’s originally from Florida, but since she has her car here in NC, she’s got to drive down so I thought it would be a fun time for us to have a road trip and explore where she lives etc. Plus, it’s summer. Who would turn down a trip to Florida? Granted, I’m much more of a mountain person, but I love the beach too!
  4. Discovering new music.- Earlier today I was messing around on YouTube and came across an artist named Katie Armiger. She’s a country artist, who is also a songwriter, who has one of the prettiest voices I’ve heard in quite a while. Listen to her song “Scream.” It’s amazing! I always love discovering new music, and now I’ve got some great background music to keep me company while I’m cooking risotto today!

What are you up to today? 

12 Responses to “Monday’s Musings.”

  1. Antoinette van Heugten May 14, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

    I am gratified that you pulled my novel from the basement sale and I hope you enjoy it. Besides, just being on the shelf with A Moveable Feast makes me feel great!
    Antoinettete van Heugten
    savingmaxbook.com
    savingmaxbook@gmail.com

    • ameliaclaire92 May 14, 2012 at 10:06 pm #

      I finished it in less than a day. I just couldn’t seem to put it down. Amazing, amazing job!!! 🙂

      • Antoinette van Heugten May 15, 2012 at 8:12 am #

        Many thanks! Stay tuned for the next one coming out in October. THE TULIP EATERS. And then FINDING MARIANNE, the sequel to SAVING MAX. Marianne is one of those characters that needs killing!

      • LA Edwards May 15, 2012 at 10:25 pm #

        I think I am need to check out your book that you just finished. Which one was it again? Thanks. L

      • ameliaclaire92 May 15, 2012 at 11:05 pm #

        Saving Max.

  2. LA Edwards May 14, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

    Sounds awesome. I love risotto. I hope yours turns out as well as you remember from your time in Peru. 🙂

    • ameliaclaire92 May 14, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

      It wasn’t quite as amazing, but still pretty tasty! 🙂

  3. Jon-Paul May 16, 2012 at 8:23 am #

    If you like new music, check out two great artists. The first is my co-workers daughter who is a talented singer/song writer. I saw her at a house concert and she is so engaging in person. (http://rebeccaloebe.com/) I love her YouTube video (search Rebecca Loebe and bee’s and you will find it). Also, my theme song this year is by Matt Alber (http://www.mattalber.com/matt.htm).

    • ameliaclaire92 May 16, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

      Thank you! I always enjoy getting new music suggestions.

  4. sterlingsop May 17, 2012 at 4:47 pm #

    Safe journey! I hope you enjoy Ireland when you get there, it’s a beautiful place. Take your raincoat though!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tuesday’s Tunes: Katie Armiger. « lifeintheblueridges - May 15, 2012

    […] lifeintheblueridges A College Girl's Adventures in Asheville. HomeAbout MeBooksWhere I’ve Been RSS ← Monday’s Musings. […]

Leave a Reply

