Finding Daddy Cox By Mike Cox: A Book Review.

6 May

In previous posts, I’ve mentioned Mike, one of my writing mentors that I met when interning at the Columbia Star newspaper in January of 2009. When I left my internship at the Star, Mike gave me 3 books as parting gifts, one of which was his own book he wrote in 2003, Finding Daddy Cox.

Finding Daddy Cox is the story of Mike’s grandfather, Cecil Cox, which includes all the lessons that he instilled in his children and grandchildren that are still evident in the Cox family today. I remember Mike telling me how he wrote this book for his family, and as a token of remembrance for the grandfather that he resembled, but who died when he was five years old. There are parts of the book that have still stuck with me, like Cecil’s conversation with a blind man where he describes every part of the sunset so that the blind man is able to enjoy it as well. I think that was one of my favorite parts of the book. Overall, Finding Daddy Cox is full of life lessons that you’d expect to hear from an old Southern family: discipline your children but show them you love them, the importance of hard work, how to deal with pain, loss, and fear, and the realization that one’s family is the cornerstone to all of life’s understandings. Even though Finding Daddy Cox was essentially a collection of stories that Mike had heard about his grandfather as he was growing up, Mike put his some of his own self into the stories as well since he had heard his whole life how much he and Cecil Cox were alike.

I think what was most interesting to me was reading a book that was written by someone I know. I could hear Mike’s voice through the words, and that was really cool for me. Though the book was stories of his grandfather, I could see how Mike used his own writing style in certain descriptions of things, though I’m sure he had plenty of help from the people in his family who were still around at the time who assisted him with the stories.

I definitely recommend this book. I mean, I guess it’s different for me because I am friends with Mike, and so I know him pretty well. However, Finding Daddy Cox was a great portrayal of an Old Southern family and how certain traditions and ways of upbringing can have such a long-lasting effect on the generations to come.

3 Responses to “Finding Daddy Cox By Mike Cox: A Book Review.”

  1. Errign May 6, 2012 at 6:16 pm #

    Sounds like a good book. The whole Southern family dynamic is totally foreign to me, so I bet I’d be interested.

    • ameliaclaire92 May 6, 2012 at 7:53 pm #

      Yeah. Even though I grew up in the South, my parents didn’t raise me in the typical Southern family way, so it was interesting for me to read it too.

  2. Ellen Girardeau Kempler May 9, 2012 at 5:51 pm #

    Hi, Amelia. Thanks for an inspiring blog. It sounds like you have the passion and drive to fulfill all your dreams. I also wrote a guest blog for Holstee My Life on how I launched my dream: a company, blog and website called Gold Boat Journeys: Live. Write. Travel. Explore. I realized a life-long dream of traveling on a literary adventure to Ireland last summer. I am a slower learner than you, in fact, I have two daughters in college now. You have an exciting life ahead of you. Enjoy every journey and bump in the road. To find a link to my post for Holstee, read our Ship’s Manifest(o), subscribe to our Ship’s Log and climb aboard our “Faceboat” visit us at http://www.gold-boat.com. Happy Sails! Ellen Girardeau Kempler (aka littlegoldboat)

Leave a Reply

