The Bookshelf Chronicles: Part Two.

3 May

This past March, at the beginning of my Spring Break, my dad and I embarked on a trip to Ikea to purchase a wall of Billy Bookcases for my room. I realized yesterday that I never did a follow-up post to The Bookshelf Chronicles. Yes, we (or more precisely, my dad) got the wall of bookshelves up, and boy are they pretty!

I put my books in alphabetical order and put 2 letters to a shelf, meaning that A and B are on the first shelf, C and D are on the second shelf, and the third half while be used as spaced to put pictures or other knickknacks. Also, Jodi Picoult and Nicholas Sparks each have their own shelf since I have so many of their books. Anyway, with each of the three bookcases, there will be at least one shelf that will be for something besides books (to give it more of an artsy feel).

As of right now, my bookshelves look relatively empty (and this picture doesn’t include the 20 or so books that I still have to shelve since I acquired so many more used books when at college in Asheville). However, I love all of the space because it just means that I have room for more books. Also, breaking up the shelves by each 2 letters will definitely help since I won’t have to shift my books around every time I have to add a new book to my collection.

Since it’s now summer vacation for me, that means more time for pleasure reading. The first book of summer was Finding Daddy Cox by Mike Cox (one of my writing mentors that I mentioned in yesterday’s post, How Do You Deal With Criticism, Writer’s Block and Burnout? Anyway, I’ve been meaning to review Mike’s book, but I guess I just haven’t quite gotten around to it. Maybe that’ll be a post I write in a few days. Anyway, yesterday I was sitting in front of my bookshelves trying to decide what I was going to read next. I ended up choosing three different books in case I couldn’t seem to get interested in one of them: The Life All Around Me By Ellen Foster by Kaye Gibsons (Yes, Kaye Gibbons is the author. It’s a rather confusing title.), Saving Max by Antoinette van Heugten, and A Moveable Feast by Ernest Hemingway. The Kaye Gibbons novel is one that follows one of her previous novels, which was simply titled Ellen Foster. I loved reading the previous novel many years ago (and I highly recommend it if you haven’t read it), but I’m anxious to read this follow-up novel by Kaye Gibbons because it portrays Ellen Foster’s struggles as a teen, as opposed to the abusive father that she struggled with in the first novel. A Moveable Feast is a book I’ve been wanting to read ever since I heard it quoted in City of Angels, a romance movie starring Nicholas Cage and Meg Ryan. Saving Max is one of the novels that I found when rummaging through the bargain books section at my favorite used bookstore in Asheville, Mr. K’s. It looked like an interesting read, so I decided to give it a try.

Alright, well all these great books I have yet to read are calling my name, as is the comfy couch. However, I’d love to know how pleasure reading has been for all of you recently?

What are you currently reading? What is a book that you’ve read recently that you’d recommend and why? And lastly, what’s your favorite book? (Because I’m sure we’d all love some more recommendations, as if we all don’t have continuously growing “to-be-read” piles!) 

4 Responses to “The Bookshelf Chronicles: Part Two.”

  1. stephenedwards425 May 3, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

    First mine when it comes out…lol. Second, Carol Dweck’s Mindset: The New Psychology of Success.

    Be encouraged!

  2. melissacuevas May 3, 2012 at 1:50 pm #

    I just read two books out of a series, and they go down as the worst reviews I have ever put up on goodreads. I really need to find something good soon.

  3. Eric May 3, 2012 at 8:21 pm #

    I got Goethe’s Faust out of the library just yesterday and I am enjoying it very much (and I did got it from the library even though I have so many books in my house that I haven’t read yet.)

  4. Laura May 3, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

    I need some awesome shelves like that!! Currently I’m reading Stephen King’s The Gunslinger. I have a ton of favorites though, Stephen King’s The Stand. Any of the Chronicles of Narnia. Harry Potter. Hunger Games. Fight Club.

Leave a Reply

