Getting Published For The Third Time?!

30 Apr

A little over two weeks ago, I wrote a Photo Friday post about the Holstee Manifesto poster and the fact that it has impacted my life, which can be read here. Four days later, I received a blog comment from Mary Shouvlin, a member of the Holstee team. She mentioned that Holstee is putting together a website that is made up of people’s’ stories of how the poster has impacted their life, and she asked me to include my story and a photo of myself to include on the website when it goes live.

I was truly shocked at this amazing opportunity. Since beginning blogging, I never imagined that it could be such a wonderful way to connect with people and allow my writing to be recognized by so many people. The same day I received the blog comment from Mary, I sent her my story. I was so excited to finally get “published” again that I simply couldn’t wait even a day to express how the Holstee Manifesto has impacted my life.

When I interned with the Columbia Star newspaper in January of 2009, I had 2 articles published. The first is basically my life story, and the article that I’m most proud of. The second, a commentary, was an article I wrote as if I was the SC Superintendent of Education. Though the second article wasn’t as personal, it taught me how to research a topic that I’d need to write about, which is much different from researching a topic that you’ve got to write a paper on for school. Anyway, both of the articles that I wrote for the Columbia star can be found here. It was an amazing feeling when I was first published. There’s something magical about seeing my words in print and being recognized for them.

Even though what I’ve written for the Holstee site won’t be in print, it will still be connected with my name, and it’ll still be “published” since my name will be connected to what I’ve written, which will also include the picture of me that is on my “About Me” page on this blog. Anyway, I’m excited to be published for a third time, and I will be sure to let all of you know when the site goes live so that you can read what I’ve written.

For information on how you can write your own story on how the Holstee Manifesto has impacted you, go here.

28 Responses to “Getting Published For The Third Time?!”

  1. abl31175 April 30, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

    Congratulations! Great News!

    • ameliaclaire92 April 30, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

      Thank you! I’m really excited. 🙂

      • abl31175 April 30, 2012 at 3:54 pm #

        I can imagine there’s nothing like seeing your name in print what a feeling!

  2. zen and the art of borderline maintenance April 30, 2012 at 3:06 pm #

    Congratulations, that is very exciting. 🙂

    • ameliaclaire92 April 30, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

      Thank you so much! I can’t wait for it to go live so that I can share it with all of you. 🙂

  3. cherryberrybear April 30, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

    Well done…………….

    ps: love your template here.

    • ameliaclaire92 April 30, 2012 at 4:22 pm #

      Thank you. 🙂 I like it too. There are so many great themes that WordPress offers.

  4. Jon-Paul April 30, 2012 at 5:09 pm #

    Congrats!

  5. Jon-Paul April 30, 2012 at 5:41 pm #

    You are most certainly welcome! And than you for sharing the info about the Holstee Manifesto. I had seen it before, but didn’t know of the website, etc.

  6. Andrea Elliott April 30, 2012 at 6:07 pm #

    Well Done! 😉 xx

  7. terry1954 April 30, 2012 at 7:06 pm #

    good for you!!!

  8. LA Edwards April 30, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

    Yay you! Congratulations! This is wonderful news. I am so very happy for you. Looking forward to reading it. Cheers!

  9. Katrina April 30, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

    Excellent! Congratulations!

  10. Carrie May 1, 2012 at 12:40 am #

    Congratulations! I remember how I felt first time I was “published”. It still makes me smile.
    I noticed you have copyright information at the bottom of your blog. Where did you get this and did you have to pay for it?

    • ameliaclaire92 May 1, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

      I found it on the WordPress Support page. I just searched “Copyright.” I didn’t have to pay for it.

      • Carrie May 2, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

        Cool. Thanks!

  11. Anita S May 1, 2012 at 8:51 am #

    That’s so exciting, Amelia! Congratulations, and I hope you get published many, many more times. Your writing deserves it!

  12. Eloise Currie May 1, 2012 at 9:03 am #

    Amazing! Congrats – enjoyed reading your blog.

  13. belasbrightideas May 1, 2012 at 7:36 pm #

    Congratulations Amelia! Well deserved.

  14. jilllurie May 3, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

    Wonderful! this is just the beginning for you….:)

    • ameliaclaire92 May 3, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

      Thanks for all of your support, Jill. It means a lot! 🙂

  15. witifulramblings May 4, 2012 at 12:57 am #

    Hey, thanks for posting this! I submitted something too, and she contacted me today to let get a pic and let me know it will be on the site!

  16. Julia Dean-Richards May 18, 2012 at 12:24 pm #

    Well done – it goes to show, we can do so much if only we keep doing it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Published Again: The Holstee Site, My Life, is now live! « lifeintheblueridges - May 9, 2012

    […] wrote a piece for the Holstee site, My Life, about how the Holstee Manifesto has impacted my life: Getting Published For The Third Time?! I’m excited to announce that the My Life site has officially gone live, so all of you can […]

Leave a Reply

