It’s (almost) summer!

26 Apr

Well, I’m officially done with finals and moved out of my dorm. I’ve just got a short paper due on Monday that I’ll get done this weekend. Even though I’m very happy to be done and have the stress melt away, it was sad saying goodbye to my friends (especially 2 of my friends who are exchange students from England). I have loved my first year at UNCA (but second year of college). It’s been so amazing.

I’ve made some of the most incredible friends….ya know, those kind of people who you know you’re going to be friends with forever. It is such a great feeling, and I’m so happy that I got the opportunity to find a place where I belong. I know it takes some people a while to find that special place, while others seem to just be thrown into it…ya know, the people who just love a place from the start. That’s how it was when I visited Asheville for the second time though. I knew that it just fit me so much better. I was nervous as usual, but everyone gets nervous when it comes to new experiences.

Anyway, even though I won’t be technically on summer vacation until I write this last paper, I am eager to do lots of pleasure reading and have the chance to enjoy living in the mountains and not being bothered with schoolwork. It’ll be such a great change (at least for a little bit). Tomorrow I’m heading to Columbia to talk to one of my previous physical therapist’s graduate physical therapy classes about how things have been for me having CP. Though I have gotten better at talking openly about my CP over the past few months, the thought of standing in front of a class of graduate students and talking about my life is a little scary. I’m not exactly sure what I’ll say. However, I am pretty sure that Meredith (my previous physical therapist) will try to make it as easy on me as she can. However, that doesn’t take away from the fact that I’ll be standing in front of students talking about myself.

Though CP is a huge part of my life and I do want to share my story with the world, I’ve never really liked talking about myself too much. I just never want to take away from the possible things the other person I’m speaking with may be able to teach me (in regards to their own life). Friendship, and communication in general, is a two-way street, and I think many people forget that. Anyway, tomorrow will be interesting to say the least. However, I’m excited to hear what the students have to ask me and to hear what they are currently learning about. Since I had 15 years of PT, I feel like a pro to the terminology when it comes to comparing my knowledge to someone who has no background/experience with PT. However, it’ll be interesting to see what the PT students know in comparison to my own knowledge. After all, it’s never considered a bad day when you have the opportunity to learn something new.

3 Responses to “It’s (almost) summer!”

  1. colee112 April 27, 2012 at 2:14 am #

    It’s nice to come across bloggers that want to connect on a 2 way street. At first when I started blogging I thought it could possibly turn into the most narcissistic thing I could do, ironic for getting over my narcissistic ex boyfriend… But its so much more for that. Great post. It’s nice to come across other people that see that too.

  2. Social Butterfly April 27, 2012 at 11:32 am #

    That is so awesome that you found the right school for you and the right friends! I know the friends I’ve made it college will last forever. Also, I saw you’re studying abroad in Ireland? I’m studying there too next summer! Hope you have a fun trip. 🙂

  3. Anita S April 27, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

    I like your comments about friendship and communication! I agree it’s a two-way street, and unfortunately sometimes I’m a bit lacking on my side. I’m glad you’ve made such good friends.

Leave a Reply

