Monday’s Musings.

23 Apr

It’s Monday aka the beginning of finals week. I realized that I haven’t made a motivation list in a while, so here are the things that are helping me get through finals week.

  • Summer!–I’m done on Thursday, and then it’s me and pleasure reading for weeks on end. Ah, it sounds so amazing. I can’t wait!
  • Alison Krauss and Union Station concert with my mom on Saturday!–We both love Alison Krauss. Her voice is simply beautiful, and I can’t wait to hear her perform live.
  • Sleep!–Which is always something college kids look forward to since not much sleep occurs during finals. I can’t wait to just cuddle up in my comfy bed with a book, reading late into the night.
  • IRELAND!–Yes, this probably should have been first on the list, but I won’t be leaving for Ireland until around June 18th, so I’ve got a while to wait. However, it’ll be exciting to put together packing lists and figure out all the cool places my mom and I are going to see when we travel around for a week before my program in Galway begins. I’m really happy that we will be able to experience Ireland together!
  • Spending quality time working on my memoir!–I haven’t be able to dedicate long spans of time to working on my memoir in a while since I’ve been busy with finals and work, etc, but I’m glad that I will be able to spend more time with it this summer. I’ve been in somewhat of a writing rut recently, but I think that’s partly because I’ve reached the point where I finally have to confront some of the really delicate memories that I’ve put off dealing with. However, this summer will be a good time to do that since I won’t have much else to focus on that’s important.

That’s about it for what’s getting me through this week, but I can do it. One day at a time, right?

Life has no smooth road for any of us; and in the bracing atmosphere of a high aim the very roughness stimulates the climber to steadier steps, till the legend, over steep ways to the stars, fulfills itself. -W.C. Doane

What are some things helping you get through this week? What do you use as motivation when you know a busy week is coming up?

18 Responses to “Monday’s Musings.”

  1. zen and the art of borderline maintenance April 23, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    Yay for you AND READING. Also love Alison Krauss. I’m excited for you to go to Ireland. I hope you write about it. XO

  2. Laura April 23, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

    Good luck on your finals!

  3. stephenedwards425 April 23, 2012 at 6:38 pm #

    I have enjoyed immensely reading your blog. As a writer I know you will understand if I am absent from making comments for a couple of months. I have two books I’m writing and the push is on to get them finished…so with only 24 hours in the day, I am going to continue to read and like, but my comments will be limited to replies for those who comment on my blog…thanks for the grace.

    Be encouraged!

    • ameliaclaire92 April 23, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

      That’s completely understandable Stephen. Thanks, as always, for reading. It means a lot to me.

  4. colee112 April 23, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

    Ireland is amazing! one of my favourite countries that I have visited so far. Where in Ireland will you be? You must go to Belfast whilst you are there, it’s amazing and the history is so interesting.

    • ameliaclaire92 April 23, 2012 at 9:41 pm #

      I’ll be in Galway.

      • colee112 April 24, 2012 at 12:12 am #

        I didnt go to Galway but I hear it’s beautiful. Looking forward to hearing about the prepartion of your trip and all your adventures.

      • ameliaclaire92 April 24, 2012 at 12:18 am #

        I’m excited to share all of it with my amazing followers! 🙂

  5. Ryan Davis April 23, 2012 at 9:34 pm #

    lots of good things to come for you and I can sense your excitement in the post. I am happy for you! I have my exams though so haven’t been posting much, linguistics and european history, american history and eastern history!

    • ameliaclaire92 April 23, 2012 at 9:42 pm #

      Good luck with your exams. Study hard, but don’t forget to take breaks too.

      • Ryan Davis April 24, 2012 at 5:26 am #

        I rarely study I am on break always. I keep thinking a lot of stuff, funny things, impossible things and a lot of daydreaming. 😀

  6. Anita S April 23, 2012 at 10:03 pm #

    Right now it’s mostly things that get me through the day: reading blog posts, napping, jigsaw puzzles on the computer, watching Fringe. I’m doing well but at the same time I’m fragile, mainly because I’m in uncharted territory and every step is a conscious one.

  7. wildhorsefeatherz April 24, 2012 at 12:04 pm #

    Wow Ireland! Hope you have fun and keep us all up to date on what you do over there! Good luck on your finals : )

    • ameliaclaire92 April 24, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

      Yep, I’ll be blogging while I’m other there. Pictures and travel adventures galore! 🙂

  8. ailialana April 24, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

    Hi Amelia I’m like Stephen above but working on five different writing projects so my blog reading is a way below par…but I know you know I’m at this end when you get to Ireland.. You have my email and I’m expecting to hear from you ( just in case you think i’ve fell off the edge of our beautiful planet! ) I know the time is going to slip in….

Leave a Reply

