Finals Survival Music: Hem.

22 Apr

I’ve been studying like crazy this weekend with finals approaching. It’s been stressful, but the past part is being able to listen to Pandora while I’m writing papers or looking over notes for a particular class. One of the artists that has been a favorite of mine to listen to while paper writing is Hem. Hem is an indie folk-rock band from New York City, and they are definitely worth a listen.

The video I’ve posted below is “Half Acre” by Hem (taken from YouTube), and it’s absolutely beautiful. Let me know what you think.

 

10 Responses to “Finals Survival Music: Hem.”

  1. Anita S April 22, 2012 at 11:01 am #

    I like this. They have a bit of Celtic flavor, especially the rhythms. I will need to check them out some more!

    • ameliaclaire92 April 22, 2012 at 11:02 am #

      Yeah, I recognized the Celtic aspects too, which made me want to check them out even more since I’m going to Ireland in June! 🙂

  2. terry1954 April 22, 2012 at 5:38 pm #

    i hated tests, finals, anything that had to do with proving myself. the night before i would spend hours going over and over my notes from classes. the day of test, i would feel sick to my stomach, afraid i would lose all i had learned. the teacher said start. i did, and handed them in. i would go to the ladies room and sit and feel like i was going to pass out from the rush of fear being released so quickly. the next day i would see an A on the top of my page. i was always like this .lol

  3. Bailey Mikell April 22, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

    I love Hem, too! Great for when you need to focus. I’m currently studying for finals too! Remember to breath, and good luck!

  4. Lisa W. Rosenberg April 22, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

    Beautiful writing music. I’m partial to the Celtic feel too, I have to say. Sort of Kate Rusby-ish only more up to date, less historic sounding.
    Good luck with all the tests!

  5. Lisa W. Rosenberg April 23, 2012 at 11:46 pm #

    Hi Amelia, just wanted to let you know I nominated you for a Sunshine Award!
    http://lisawrosenberg.com/2012/04/24/sunshine-award-nomination/

    • ameliaclaire92 April 23, 2012 at 11:49 pm #

      Thank you! I’ve received the Sunshine Award already, but I’ll add your name to the post! 🙂

Leave a Reply

