Nurture Your Adventurous Spirit.

21 Apr

I’ve always been quite an adventurous eater, in terms of my openness to try new foods. My grandfather has said to me ever since I was little how he thinks it’s so great that I’m willing to try pretty much anything when it comes to different foods. Though this may have been the case when I was young and growing up, I think I’ve begun to lose part of my adventurous spirit when it comes to trying all sorts of new foods.

However, I don’t necessarily think this is a bad thing. I think that even though I have lost a bit of my adventurous spirit when it comes to food, I have also gained an adventurous spirit in other aspects of my life. For example, my mom has always been the type of person who loves to travel. Even though I loved going on family trips when I was young, over the past few years I have been bitten over and over by the travel bug. Ever since I first flew by myself a few years ago to visit my aunt and uncle in College Station, Texas, I’ve increased my pure inner need to travel. Now that I know that I’m able to travel by myself and enjoy myself as much, and maybe more, as I did when I went on family trips, there’s not much that is stopping me.

It is sort of similar to the freedom that you feel when you finally get your license and a car. However, my beginning driving experiences weren’t as much about freedom as they were for most teenagers. Though I knew I’d be able to drive, I had to take things slow. I remember when I was first learning how to drive. My mom would be sitting in the passenger seat, and before I even cranked up the car, my legs would start to shake. My legs shake when I get nervous, which is really annoying since it means that everyone is able to tell when I’m nervous. Anyway, eventually I was able to calm down enough to crank up the car and put it in drive. In the beginning, a big deal was going 20 miles per hour and making sure to stop at stop signs and use my blinkers before turning. Thankfully, I got past that early phase of nerves, but it’s something that I’ll always remember. I guess now I’m glad that I grew up in a really small town. Learning how to drive in even a moderate-sized city would have been an entirely different experience.

Even though I’m not as adventurous anymore when it comes to food, I love being adventurous when it comes to traveling or going to new places. The best part is the fact that I don’t necessarily need someone with me in order to have a really fun experience. For instance, I have 2 very close friends that live in Virginia, and I love driving up to visit them. Though it’s quite a drive to get to the different parts of Virginia that they live, I love the road trips…even when it’s just me and the radio. The great thing about traveling alone (especially when it comes to road trips) is having the ability to stop whenever and wherever you want and not feeling rushed. Having the opportunity to take all the time I need to explore a new place is something that I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of.

Though I know that different people are adventurous in different parts of their lives, I feel like it’s something that should definitely be nurtured. For instance, my mom instilled in me a love of traveling and experiencing new places. However, my best friend Skidmore is into fashion design, and she is adventurous in the clothes she makes (in terms of not being afraid to try out new designs to see if they work). I guess what I mean to say is that I think it’s important for all of us to nurture the adventurous spirit inside of us, from whenever it comes. A sense of adventure is very similar to finding something that you love to do, in terms of the excitement and the even greater sense of happiness when you feel like you’ve uncovered something that you’ve been missing in your life. So, embrace your adventurous spirit. You never know where it may take you.

 

8 Responses to “Nurture Your Adventurous Spirit.”

  1. sherrylcook April 21, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

    I absolutely hate flying alone . I took a trip to Las Vegas last summer to meet a friend, it was a terrible flight, the weather was bad and I missed my connecting flight, I woulduch rather be with someone I knew. Great post !

    • ameliaclaire92 April 21, 2012 at 2:10 pm #

      Even though I do get nervous flying alone, I feel better when I have my ipod and a book with me. It’s such an amazing feeling when I’m able to get so absorbed in a book that I forget the stresses of traveling solo.

  2. Laura April 21, 2012 at 11:37 pm #

    I have never flown! And my hubby is terrified of it so we took a 3 day bus ride from Kentucky to Vegas… that was DEFINITELY an adventure!

    • ameliaclaire92 April 21, 2012 at 11:38 pm #

      Wow, that does sound like quite an adventure. 🙂

  3. R April 22, 2012 at 12:25 pm #

    Instinct. The following of a hunch. Walking down the narrow street, gearing down the steep winding trail into the jungle, driving into the river, not knowing how it will end. Going up to her and introducing myself, offering to help carry a heavy pack, being the first to smile, taking a chance, big adventures and small adventures, they make up life and in them we discover who we are and what we’re made of. Turn off the TV, drop the book, go outside, make a friend or start a fight, win an enemy or lure a lover, life is long and hard, the best is past, the worst is yet to come as death lovingly whispers words next to me, words I can’t understand, so I move a little closer, and I smile.

    • ameliaclaire92 April 22, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

      Wow. Your writing is truly moving. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. 🙂

      • R April 22, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

        Thank you Amelia Claire, you are kind, and although I do not posses command over the English language comparable to yours I have written what came to mind as I read your post.

  4. belasbrightideas April 24, 2012 at 10:44 pm #

    Nice reflections, Amelia. From where I sit, I’ve seen my focus shift from one place to another several times in life. It’s nice to stay fluid. Today, food adventures. Tomorrow, travel. Beyond that, life continues unfolding!

Leave a Reply

