Fun Sick Days Don’t Exist In College.

12 Apr

During my childhood, being sick was an exciting time (if it wasn’t the stomach bug or another nasty equivalent). Being sick in the middle school days meant staying home from school, being curled up on the couch in pjs watching tv, having my mom make me soup and get popsicles and ice cream from the store, and best of all, sleeping. Sometimes when I was younger, I looked forward to those days, even if I was feeling pretty crappy. It meant having a break from school, which wasn’t exactly needed during the younger years, but something I gladly took anyway.

Being sick in college is not nearly as fun. Since there’s so much schoolwork to get done and most teachers penalize you for assignments being late or for missing a test, there’s no “fun” in being sick. Yesterday, I had 2 classes and worked at the bookstore for 4 hours despite being tired and coughing so much that I thought I’d cough up a lung eventually. Once I was done with classes yesterday, I came back to my dorm room to try to sleep, but I had no luck due to my constant coughing. After I had “rested” for about an hour, I had to get back to working on all the schoolwork that my professors have piled on over the last week.

No matter how old I get, I think I’ll always want my mom when I’m sick. Someone to make me soup and buy me popsicles and basically spend the day babying me. Everyone feels rotten when they’re sick, and all anyone wants is to feel better. Though moms can’t wish away sickness, they still do a pretty good job making sick days the best of the worst days. Ever since yesterday, I’ve wanted to be at my house curled up on the couch in pjs not having to worry about anything but sleeping and getting better. Though I know it’s important to get better now too, I’ve got so much due. As a kid, I never thought I’d need more time for “life.” I used to think there was so much already. College beats that thought right out of you, but leaves the sickness lingering….waiting to attach itself to the next tired and stressed college student.

33 Responses to “Fun Sick Days Don’t Exist In College.”

  1. Ginger April 12, 2012 at 11:31 am #

    I hope you feel better soon. My daughter is home sick with a terrible cough today. She’s laying in bed all snuggled up and watching movies. It’s no fun being sick as a grown up, though I don’t think she’s really having much fun either.

    • ameliaclaire92 April 12, 2012 at 11:58 am #

      But the movies are better than nothing, I bet. 🙂 I hope she feels better soon too.

      • Ginger April 12, 2012 at 12:32 pm #

        Very true and better than suffering in school 😦

  2. 1pointperspective April 12, 2012 at 11:37 am #

    Hope you’re feeling better. It sucks when Mom’s not around.

    • ameliaclaire92 April 12, 2012 at 11:58 am #

      Definitely.

      • 1pointperspective April 12, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

        I was going to tell you how things in the working world are even less sensitive to illness, but didn’t wanna kick a girl when she’s down

      • ameliaclaire92 April 12, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

        I appreciate the sensitivity….I think.

      • 1pointperspective April 12, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

        Well…it was sensitivity, but the timing sucked…in all seriousness, i hope you’re feeling better….as for the world beyond college, you may prove my cynical thoughts to be incorrect, and i hope you do.

      • ameliaclaire92 April 12, 2012 at 5:09 pm #

        Unfortunately, I seem to be getting worse. Runny nose, cough, headache, and now after a full day of classes, pure exhaustion. I think it’s time for a nap…

      • 1pointperspective April 12, 2012 at 5:11 pm #

        Don’t waste valuable sleep time reading my dopey words. My youngest is in college, so I think maybe I projected a little there, from a Freudian standpoint. Go to sleep and feel better.

      • ameliaclaire92 April 12, 2012 at 5:13 pm #

        It’s okay. No worries. 🙂

      • 1pointperspective April 12, 2012 at 5:13 pm #

        cool…sweet dreams

  3. Errign April 12, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

    Hope you’re feeling better!

  4. LA Edwards April 12, 2012 at 1:16 pm #

    Sorry to hear that you are sick. Sending a hug to you. Hope you feel better soon!

  5. zen and the art of borderline maintenance April 12, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

    This is poignant. 🙂

  6. stephenedwards425 April 12, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

    Sorry to hear about the sickness…hope you get better real quick. The cool thing about when you are married and get sick is your spouse takes the place of your mother…so you can hang out in bed, with the pillows propped up behind you, tissues beside you, and comfort food (prepared by spouse) stacked up on the bedside table. The only part that really sucks is when your spouse is sick…my advice…marry a doctor…at least when they get sick, they can prescribe something for themselves and get well quick. lol

    Be encouraged!

  7. Ellie April 12, 2012 at 4:47 pm #

    Oh I can SO identify with this! Hope you feel better soon.

  8. Laura April 12, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

    Sorry you’re feeling sick 😦 I’m sick too! I know what you mean about needing your mom to baby you… My mom actually went out and got me some theraflu today and brought it to me even though we don’t live in the same town anymore. Mom’s are the best when it comes to being sick!

    I wish I could call into work too but I need the money so I’ll sit there in some theraflu haze trying to stay awake and keep from going coo-coo!

    And Stephen is right about the spouse thing – the hubby is always right there waiting to give me all the covers, let me sleep to some ungodly hour, and make sure I am fed properly!

    • ameliaclaire92 April 12, 2012 at 5:05 pm #

      I hope you made it through your work day and are now enjoying the 5pm GG re-run on ABC Family. 🙂

      • ameliaclaire92 April 12, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

        Or not. It’s not on! 😦

      • Laura April 12, 2012 at 5:09 pm #

        I don’t go in to work until 6:30 😦 You know I always forgot about GG on ABC family. I think it’s about time i re-start watching the show from season 1 again hehe

      • ameliaclaire92 April 12, 2012 at 5:11 pm #

        No work until 6:30?! Ah, that would be so rough for me. And yeah….they just started the GG re-runs back a few months ago. I’ve enjoyed them, but apparently today they decided to show a movie instead. Boo.

      • Laura April 12, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

        Well that is absolutely no fun! *Shakes fist at ABC Family*

      • ameliaclaire92 April 12, 2012 at 5:21 pm #

        I know right?! I guess I’ll just have to put in a GG dvd. *Sigh* That takes so much more energy hahaha!

  9. LA Edwards April 12, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

    Do you like Florence + the Machine? I noticed today they have an MTV live version on Itunes today. I listened to a few of the tracks and think I will probably by them. I must be re-living my youth. I do hope you are feeling better. I would like to talk to you more about your CP. Would you be up for that? I have so many questions as I try to understand my daughter better. I You can check me out before you do, if you like through my website and webpage. It is almost if I was meant to find you. I don’t want to freak you out, I think I am missing my daughter and she is about your age. I feel like since you can communicate and she can’t very well, by communicating with you I feel like I might be able to communicate or at least maybe understand some of her feeling better, since you both have the same condition. You may not want to have the entire blog out there for the world to see. Check me out, and let me know. Thanks.

    • ameliaclaire92 April 12, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

      I love Florence + the Machine. They’re great!
      I’d be more than happy to talk with you more. Email me here: accoonrod@gmail.com. 🙂

      • LA Edwards April 12, 2012 at 8:22 pm #

        Thanks! I am glad that you like Florence + the Machine. I saw the CD posted today on Itunes that they released an unplugged version on MTV. I downloaded it. I like it. I think you will as well. The MTV unplugged CDs are usually really great. Anyway I didn’t know if you knew about the unplugged version. It made me think of you. Perhaps it will make you feel better. Thank you for passing along your email. It is kind of weird in a good way, but when I think of you, in turn I think of my daughter, Ashley, which then makes me happy. Can’t explain why things happen the way they do. I am glad to have your email. Thanks! I will write more later, I need to get my photos ready for my next post. I hope you feel better soon. 🙂
        Louise

  10. yogikarenk April 12, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

    “I’m too mean to get sick”. Works for me : ) Get well soon!

  11. Lisa W. Rosenberg April 12, 2012 at 11:00 pm #

    Feel better Amelia!

  12. byroisinhealy April 18, 2012 at 6:29 pm #

    This post has made me miss my mom! 🙂 make sure to watch only the best dvds! 🙂

Leave a Reply

