WWW Wednesdays (April 11th)

11 Apr

I saw these reading related posts a few days ago, and I just had to jump on the bandwagon since I’m a lover of books and reading. Plus, it’s a great way to get book suggestions from fellow bloggers. So all of you readers need to join the bandwagon too so we can have lots of varying book titles

To play along, just answer the following 3 questions:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

My answers:

  1. I’m currently reading Secrets She Left Behind by Diane Chamberlain, and I am loving it so far. I’ve loved discovering Diane Chamberlain’s novels, especially because she is described as the Southern Jodi Picoult, who is my absolute favorite author.
  2. I just recently finished reading More Than You Know by Beth Gutcheon, and I definitely recommend it. Check out my review.
  3. I think I’ll read Angela’s Ashes by Frank McCourt next. My godmother recommended it since I’ll be studying in Ireland for 4 weeks this summer, and the book is a memoir of Frank McCourt living/growing up in Ireland.

What have you been reading recently?

18 Responses to “WWW Wednesdays (April 11th)”

  1. Dana Staves April 11, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

    Fun! The last book I finished was “Dolci di Love,” a fun little food novel by Sarah-Kate Lynch. I’m currently reading “Water For Elephants,” which I’m enjoying, but which I’m reading slowly because I’m too tired to read at night. And next, I have plans to read “A Semi-Homemade Life,” a food memoir by Molly Wizenberg.

  2. Katrina April 11, 2012 at 6:45 pm #

    Amid all the chaos I’m reading 11/22/63 by Stephen King

  3. katkasia April 11, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

    I’m currently reading a collection of Dylan Thomas’ short stories and poetry – such a way with words!
    The last thing I read (apart from my manuscript which I am doing a final proofread on), was The Edge of the World by John Gordon – a YA fantasy, which I’ll be reviewing soon.
    The next thing I read…hmmm…I should probably finish Last Child in the Woods, which is about children and Nature deficit disorder.

    Look forawrd to seeing what others are up to!

  4. jensine April 11, 2012 at 7:06 pm #

    If you’re comin to Dulin don’t expect it to be lke angelas ashes .. try Roddy Doyle for a more modern take 🙂

  5. Laura April 11, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

    Oh what a fun idea

  6. LA Edwards April 11, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

    When I am not busy writing, I try to read before I bed. I just finished reading ‘A Helluva High Note; Surviving Life, Love and American Idol’ by Kara DioGuardi, don’t laugh it was a pretty decent autobiography. I am currently reading “More Than You Know” by Beth Gutcheon. I haven’t read far largely because I find I have fallen asleep holding my kindle. I am looking forward to reading this based on Amelia’s recommendation. I am not sure what book will grab my fancy after that.

  7. David Michael Williams April 11, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

    1. I’m currently reading “The Sun Also Rises” by Ernest Hemingway. (I grabbed it off the bookshelf on a whim…mostly because I’ve read next to nothing by this famous author, and I was feeling guilty about how long it has been since I’ve read true-blue litearture.)

    2. I just finished reading “Anansi Boys” by Neil Gaiman, who happens to be one of the greatest storytellers of our day.

    3. I expect I’ll read a collection of Isaac Asimov short stories next. A forefather of the sci-fi genre, he probably should be at the top of anyone’s list who plans to tinker with artificial intelligence in his/her ficiton.

    • ameliaclaire92 April 12, 2012 at 10:30 am #

      I approve of the Hemingway pick. I’ll be reading A Moveable Feast by him soon. 🙂

  8. stephenedwards425 April 11, 2012 at 9:38 pm #

    I’m game…

    1. Reading — Thinking the Twentieth Century by Timothy Snyder; Wired for Culture by Mark Pagel; Smart Trust by Stephen Covey; Einstein by Walter Isaacson; Shake the World by James Marshall Reilly; & last but not least The Start Up of You by Reid Hoffman and Ben Casnocha…yeah I know..my wife thinks it too…but I really can keep them straight.

    2. Just finished Mavericks at Work by William Taylor; Blue Ocean Strategy by Renee Montborgne and W. Chan Kim

    3. Have no idea.

    • ameliaclaire92 April 12, 2012 at 10:32 am #

      Whew! I have no idea how you can read multiple books all at the same time. I find that I like to be fully engrossed in a book, so splitting time in between books would not work for me. But how cool that you’re able to do that! 🙂

  9. RedheadCarol April 11, 2012 at 11:46 pm #

    Reading: Death with Interruptions, by José Saramago.
    Just finished: Mockingjay, by Suzanne Collins.
    Next: one of the books from my already-started-but-had-to-put-it-down pile that’s currently sitting on my bedside table. Probably. Or I’ll start a whole new one, who knows?

    • ameliaclaire92 April 12, 2012 at 10:33 am #

      Fun. I tried to get into the Hunger Games series, but I just couldn’t. I saw the movie before I decided to read the series so that’s probably why.

      • RedheadCarol April 13, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

        I always like to read the book anyway, because I feel like it always has information you don’t get in the movie. But I know what you mean, I’ve watched movies before and then just didn’t feel as excited to read the books.

  10. Laura April 12, 2012 at 5:37 am #

    I guess when I said this was a neat idea I could have um… answered.

    1. Currently reading – nada. Just finished reading a book though.
    2. Recently finished – Witch and Wizard by James Patterson. It was OK, I like childrens/YA books, and fantasy books. It didn’t leave me crazy to read the rest but I probably will at some point just to see how it all turns out.
    3. Next I have two books I’m trying to decide between. Abarat by Clive Barker (I LOVE Clive Barker) or Across the Universe. Both YA novels. Some day I might grow up and read big people books … hehe I’m kidding, I read adult novels too, I promise.

    • ameliaclaire92 April 12, 2012 at 10:34 am #

      Haha….”big people books” are my favorite! Sometimes my mom is a bit shocked at some of the books I read, but I just love them so much! 🙂

  11. Carrie April 12, 2012 at 11:19 pm #

    This is a great idea! It’s fun to see what people are reading. Currently – The Art of Hearing Hearbeats by Jan Philipp-Sendker. Also working on – Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Johnathon Foer. Look to read – Wicked by Gregory Macguire (seeing the production in May).

    Thanks for asking the questions.
    Carrie

  12. belasbrightideas April 14, 2012 at 7:16 pm #

    Currently reading BROWN by Richard Rodriguez. Just finished IQ84 by Haruki Murakami. Next on the agenda is likely WALDEN by Thoreau, which I’ve never read in my 58 years.

Leave a Reply

