Writing Quotes.

9 Apr

Over the past few days, I’ve been looking for quotes that explain what I’ve been feeling as I’ve been writing my book. Through the quotes I’ve come across, I’ve realized that all writers struggle with loneliness, dark days, insecurity and days when it feels as if those that aren’t also writers can’t understand what they are feeling. I’ve compiled a list of quotes that either resonated with me or helped encourage me to keep on digging up memories of my past to ultimately share my story with the world.

  • “Don’t tell me the moon is shining; show me the glint of light on broken glass.” -Anton Chekhov
  • “Tears are words that need to be written.” -Paulo Coelho
  • “Write what disturbs you, what you fear, what you have not been willing to speak about. Be willing to be split open.” -Natalie Goldberg
  • “Amateurs sit and wait for inspiration, the rest of us just get up and go to work.” -Stephen King
  • “With writing, we have second chances.” -Johnathon Safran Foer
  • “When you’re missing a piece of yourself, aching, gut wrenching emptiness begins to take over. Until you find the link that completes your very soul, the feeling will never go away. Most people find a way to fill this void, material possessions, a string of relationships, affairs, food…I bear my soul, with words, for all to see.” -Jennifer Salaiz
  • “You cannot hope to sweep someone else away by the force of your writing until it has been done to you.” -Stephen King
  • “I am simply of the opinion that you cannot be taught to write. You have to spend a lifetime in love with words.” -Craig Claiborne
  • “If a story is in you, it has to come out.” -William Faulkner
  • “A story isn’t a charcoal sketch, where every stroke lies on the surface to be seen. It’s an oil painting, filled with layers that the author must uncover so carefully to show its beauty.” -Amelia Atwater-Rhodes
  • “To me, the greatest pleasure of writing is not what it’s about, but the music the words make.” -Truman Capote
  • “Becoming a writer is about becoming conscious. When you’re conscious and writing from a place of insight and simplicity and real caring about the truth, you have the ability to throw the lights on for your reader. He or she will recognize his or her life and truth in what you say, in the pictures you have painted, and this decreases the terrible sense of isolation that we have all had too much of.” -Anne Lamott
  • “Sometimes a book isn’t a heartbreaking work of staggering genius. Sometimes it’s the only story you knew how to tell.” -Tahereh Mafi
  • “When I am writing, I am trying to find out who I am, who we are, what we’re capable of, how we feel, how we lose and stand up, and go on from darkness into darkness. I’m trying for that.” -Maya Angelou
  • “You are lucky to be one of those people who wishes to build sand castles with words, who is willing to create a place where your imagination can wander. We build this place with the sand of memories; these castles are our memories and inventiveness made tangible. So part of us believes that when the tide starts coming in, we won’t really have lost anything, because actually only a symbol of it was there in the sand. Another part of us thinks we’ll figure out a way to divert the ocean. This is what separates artists from ordinary people: the belief, deep in our hearts, that if we build our castles well enough, somehow the ocean won’t wash them away.” -Anne Lamott
22 Responses to “Writing Quotes.”

  1. theotherwatson April 9, 2012 at 8:51 am #

    All of these quotes are amazing, you’ve done well finding them all! I have always loved that Chekhov one – his entire approach to writing has always fascinated me! 🙂

  2. Kris Kennedy April 9, 2012 at 8:52 am #

    It would be good to keep these quotes around…thanks for sharing.

    • ameliaclaire92 April 9, 2012 at 10:50 am #

      Definitely. I’m thinking of writing them on sticky notes and putting them on my wall so that I see them every day.

      • Kris Kennedy April 9, 2012 at 11:19 am #

        good idea…will have to as well

  3. Katrina April 9, 2012 at 8:59 am #

    These are amazing, thank you for finding them. Since finishing one book, I’ve felt everything from lighter to exhaustion to fear (fear I might not be able to do it again). Writing is hard work and often emotionally tiresome as you know. Great post!

    • ameliaclaire92 April 9, 2012 at 10:51 am #

      I’m glad you liked them Katrina. And yes, I know how emotionally tiresome writing is. However, those who have the drive to do it would rather write and feel all those emotions instead of not writing at all.

      • Katrina April 9, 2012 at 10:55 am #

        Absolutely, I agree

  4. zen and the art of borderline maintenance April 9, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    Thank you for posting these! 🙂

  5. stephenedwards425 April 9, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

    This is awesome…I love it. Like eveyone else who has commented, I appreciate you posting them.

    Be encouraged!

  6. Laura April 9, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

    Oh I love these, especially the first one, and the ones by Stephen King. —“Amateurs sit and wait for inspiration, the rest of us just get up and go to work.” -Stephen King—– I feel like I needed to read this today. I have a hard time really calling myself a “writer”, I’m not really. Sometimes I fancy the thought of being a writer, and I do like to write things, but A LOT of the times I think to myself, “I feel like writing today” but I dont particularly have an idea in mind so I just go about my business. Then sometimes it’s like I’ve been thinking of writing for days and days and days and just have no ideas what to write so I finally force myself to just sit down and stare at a blank screen til something comes to mind… and something always comes to mind. So I think maybe if I’d just sit myself in front of my screen or with a note book more often when I think I feel like writing, maybe I could actually have more things written LOL…I like to do things when Stephen King tells me to!

    • ameliaclaire92 April 9, 2012 at 8:11 pm #

      Yeah, Stephen King is a very powerful motivator. 🙂

  7. jilllurie April 9, 2012 at 9:42 pm #

    These are wonderful, as is your writing, bravery and willingness to push on even when it hurts or when you aren’t sure where to go. You keep pushing, and in doing so you create beauty for those of us who read your words (and for yourself too, of course). 🙂

  8. margiewrites April 10, 2012 at 1:15 am #

    What a great list. Many of these I haven’t heard of before, so I’m very inspired by this. Thanks for sharing!

    • ameliaclaire92 April 10, 2012 at 7:21 am #

      Yeah I came across a lot I hadn’t heard of before, and I just had to share. 🙂

  9. 2sidestory April 15, 2012 at 7:58 pm #

    These are such inspiring quotes but I think my favorite has to be the one about writing being like an oil painting…beautiful. Thanks for sharing!

    • ameliaclaire92 April 15, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

      You’re welcome. I’m glad that you enjoyed them.

  10. Ann Ivy Male April 18, 2012 at 9:08 am #

    The perfect inspirational quotes to give a writer the boost needed when a blank page stare back at them. Thanks so much for sharing.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. a writer’s resonations « seeking spirit - April 18, 2012

    […] Writing Quotes. 09 Apr (from Life in the Blue Ridges) […]

Leave a Reply

