More Than You Know By Beth Gutcheon: A Book Review.

8 Apr

Despite being pretty bogged down with studying and classes, I somehow managed to finish More Than You Know by Beth Gutcheon on Friday. I really enjoyed the book, and I found it in the bargain section of my favorite used bookstore for only one dollar, so I was a happy camper.

The book is set in a small town called Dundee on the coast of Maine, and an old woman named Hannah Grey begins her story this way: “Somebody said ‘true love is like ghosts, which everyone talks about and few have seen.’ I’ve seen both and I don’t know how to tell you which is worse.” Hannah has chosen to share the story of the summer she met Conary Crocker, the town rebel but also the love of her life. Through telling her story, Hannah also uncovers the connection between Hannah and Conary and the chilling and hushed marriage that took place in Dundee one hundred years earlier.

I really loved this book, especially because the author wove together love and suspense, so it’s not as if I was getting sick of all the lovey-dovey scenes (even though I am a sucker for romance novels as well). Anyway, this author did an amazing job intertwining two seemingly different couples who were connected in many more ways than they realized. I was drawn towards the character of Hannah, partly because of her desire to share her own story, while also realizing that it wasn’t always happy. Also, I love books that start out with the image of an elderly character who is looking back on their life. It’s a reminder that at some point, we’re all going to be looking back at the life that we’ve lived, and using words to make the sharing permanent is a way to never forget…no matter how many times the story is passed down. Give this book a try if you’re wanting something to read. I definitely wasn’t disappointed.

My next read: Secrets She Left Behind by Diane Chamberlain. What are you currently reading? What is the next book you plan on reading? Have you read a book recently that has really touched you or has changed the way you look at something?

12 Responses to “More Than You Know By Beth Gutcheon: A Book Review.”

  1. RedheadCarol April 8, 2012 at 4:53 pm #

    Lots of books have changed how I view things and have touched me in many ways. Those are some of the best things about books, in my opinion.

  2. LA Edwards April 8, 2012 at 6:25 pm #

    Nicely written! You are wise beyond your years. An old soul, as they say. I will look for the book and see if I might be able to download it to my kindle/iPad. Thanks for the review. Again, nicely done. L

  3. Sheila (Book Journey) April 8, 2012 at 10:59 pm #

    This sounds good. I think I am reading a book by the same author. The book is called Gossip. I think that is her name anyway… 🙂

    • ameliaclaire92 April 8, 2012 at 11:39 pm #

      Oh, fun. I’ll have to check that one out as well. 🙂

  4. zen and the art of borderline maintenance April 9, 2012 at 9:31 am #

    I just bought this book a week ago. Have not started it. Glad to know you enjoyed it.

    The Center of Everything by Laura Moriarty comes to mind. That changed me forever. It really made me think about being a single mother – how hard it is. It’s one heck of a book. Couldn’t put it down.

    • ameliaclaire92 April 9, 2012 at 10:53 am #

      Let me know what you think of it. 🙂
      I’ll have to check out The Center of Everything.

  5. GJ Scobie April 11, 2012 at 12:14 pm #

    I have just finished reading Hard Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World by my favourite author Haruki Murakami. Thanks for posting the review.

  6. Susan August 11, 2012 at 10:36 pm #

    I loved “More Than you Know”. She wrote a couple more that are also set in Dundee Maine; Leeway Cottage and Goodbye and Amen, which are both excellent. I didn’t really like Gossip that much, although it stayed with me, which is a sign that it was a good book, anyway. I also just finished Saying Grace, which was quite good. I am now reading Still Missing, which is heartbreaking, so I am taking lots of breaks. As you may have guessed, when I like an author, I tend to read all their books.

    Other authors you may like if you like Beth Gutcheon are Alice Hoffman and Joyce Maynard.

    • ameliaclaire92 August 11, 2012 at 10:52 pm #

      Thanks for these suggestions. I do the same thing when I really like an author (try and read all of their books, I mean). The authors that have been like that for me are Jodi Picoult, Barbara Kingsolver, and Diane Chamberlain. They are all very talented writers as well. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. WWW Wednesdays (April 11th) « lifeintheblueridges - April 11, 2012

    […] I just recently finished reading More Than You Know by Beth Gutcheon, and I definitely recommend it. Check out my review. […]

Leave a Reply

