NPR: Music Therapy Treats Stress And Speech Disorders.

5 Apr

I just listened to this on NPR’s website, an article about the benefits of music therapy in the field of mental health. Here’s the story: Treating Stress, Speech Disorders With Music

This was a really interesting story for me to hear. I was introduced to the concept of music therapy when I read Jodi Picoult’s, Sing You Home, last year. Though I had heard that music could have an impact on the mentally ill and those who are sick, it was interesting to read Picoult’s novel so that I could learn more about how music therapy works.

This NPR story explains music therapy in greater detail, so have a listen if you’d like. Within the story, when a musician gives a snippet of a musical therapy session, it reminded of meditation and visual meditation. According to the musician, he instructs one to listen to the music that he is playing while focusing on your breathing. Therefore, I found it interesting that music therapy has a strong connection with yoga and guided meditation.

9 Responses to “NPR: Music Therapy Treats Stress And Speech Disorders.”

  1. fiztrainer April 5, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    This is so interesting. I’ve always believed this to be true. I’ll be interested in hearing this. Thanks for sharing. πŸ˜€

  2. Cassie April 5, 2012 at 10:39 am #

    Gosh I love NPR. I really loathe Jodi Picoult, but I do like that she uses upcoming technology, medical ideas, and studies to really make her work come to life.

  3. middleagestudent April 5, 2012 at 11:09 am #

    Thanks for sharing that story. I’ve just been accepted to WCU’s graduate program for Communication Science and Disorders and I’m looking forward to exploring all possible avenues of speech therapy. I also LOVE that NPR always has the transcripts for their shows on their site. I don’t have speakers on this computer, so it’s nice to be able to read a story instead.

    • ameliaclaire92 April 5, 2012 at 11:12 am #

      Oh wow, that’s so cool. Congrats on the acceptance. And yeah, it is nice that they provide the transcripts. πŸ™‚

  4. Dana Staves April 5, 2012 at 11:17 am #

    Thanks for posting this! I passed it along to one of my students who is doing a research proposal on the benefits of funding research for music therapy.

  5. LA Edwards April 9, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

    Thanks for sharing. I have found that my daughter benefits greatly from listening to music. She continually has her head phones attached to her ears listening to whatever suits her fancy at the time. Often she will sing along. I firmly believe that music in all forms helps those with disabilities often overcome some, or at least provide comfort; a certain solace. I even know that I can not go through the days without music in my life. I find it soothes me and my nerves. Thanks for your continued inspiration. I love your quotes. I am one for quotes as well. I have quotes at the beginning of each of the chapters of my novel. πŸ™‚ BTW my husband added “More than you know,’ on my kindle last night. Thanks for the recommendation. I look forward to reading it.

    • ameliaclaire92 April 9, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

      Yes, I feel like music can help soothe pretty much any emotion. I’m the type of person that constantly has music playing, and when I don’t, things are just a little too quiet. I’m glad you enjoyed the quotes. And let me know what you think of the book. I definitely enjoyed it much more than I thought I would. Since I bought in from the bargain bin for only a dollar, I didn’t know how good it would be.

Leave a Reply

