Living And Breathing For Books.

4 Apr

Last night I watched You’ve Got Mail, a romantic comedy starring Meg Ryan and Tom Hanks that’s actually quite old. Anyway, the movie is about 2 bookshop owners who are essentially at war. One bookstore is small and has been around forever, and the other bookstore is a huge mega bookstore that ends up putting the small, quaint bookstore out of business. Of course, this isn’t all of the story. There’s love too. But I want this post to focus on books.

Somewhere in the back of my mind, I’ve dreamed of owning a bookstore one day. The thought of waking up early and walking/driving to a store filled with books….books that wouldn’t be able to “light up” until I came to turn on the lights. A store full of all sorts of books: fiction, nonfiction, local authors, poetry, classics…and not to mention a bargain section. Books for only one dollar….ah, who could not love that? Of course, the bookstore would need to have super comfy chairs. Not the stiff ones, but the kind of chairs that you just seem to sink into. I’d love to have chairs like that littered around, as well as some smaller rooms in the bookstore. Smaller rooms full of all kinds of reading nooks that could fit any kind of reader. Reading nooks with comfy cushions, reading nooks looking out behind the bookstore to see a view of mountains. Just thinking about it makes me want to see it, but not just in my mind.

Then again, I love discovering all kinds of bookstores. Used bookstores…the bookstores packed with so many books that you can almost smell the pages aging as you sit there reading. It’s the fun part about being a lover of books. Enjoying the hunt of finding the perfect place to get a cup of coffee, sink into a comfy chair and lose yourself in the world of words. Nothing sounds more perfect to me. I live and breathe for all the emotions that books evoke within me. And though it is sad when a book ends, the great joy is knowing that there are so so many more to be read.

  • We read to know we are not alone.-CS Lewis
  • It is what you read when you don’t have to that determines what you will be when you can’t help it.-Oscar Wilde
  • Books are the quietest and most constant of friends; they are the most accessible and wisest of counselors, and the most patient of teachers.-Charles William Elliot
  • In the case of good books, the point is not to see how many of them you can get through, but rather how many can get through to you.-Mortimer Jerome Adler
  • Reading is the sole means by which we slip, involuntarily, often helplessly, into another’s skin, another’s voice, another’s soul.-Joyce Carol Oates
  • You think your pain and your heartbreak are unprecedented in the history of the world, but then you read. It was books that taught me that the things that tormented me most were the very things that connected me with all the people who were alive, or who had ever been alive.-James Baldwin
  • The best moments in reading are when you come across something – a thought, a feeling, a way of looking at things – which you had thought special and particular to you. And now, here it is, set down by someone else, a person you have never met, someone even who is long dead. And it is as if a hand has come out, and taken yours.-Alan Bennett
  • For some of us, books are as important as almost anything else on earth. What a miracle it is that out of these small, flat, rigid squares of paper unfolds world after world after world, worlds that sing to you, comfort and quiet or excite you. Books help us understand who we are and how we are to behave. They show us what community and friendship mean; they show us how to live and die.-Anne Lamott
6 Responses to “Living And Breathing For Books.”

  1. Katrina April 4, 2012 at 3:43 pm #

    How appropriate a title for your post today, I asked you in the past few weeks if you would be interested in Beta reading for me. I have a book ready. Here is the teaser I’m probably going to use: “Follow Caption Simone Reynolds as she tracks a vicious killer. Step into her world as she learns the dark secrets of two men who say they love her, but can she trust them? And what about the perpetrator of these brutal murders, serial killer or something else?” There are a couple sad parts, and yes someone good in the story dies (just a heads up), are you still interested in reviewing the book for me? If you are, just send your e-mail address to me at freefullife@gmail.com and I’ll get a copy of the manuscript to you. Thanks,

    • ameliaclaire92 April 4, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

      Yes, I’m still interested! 🙂 I emailed you. 🙂

  2. Laura April 4, 2012 at 7:23 pm #

    I have thought that too, that I’d love to own a bookstore! I love them, getting lost in the shelves forEVER! I especially love our local CD, Video game. movie, bookstore because it has a COFFEE SHOP!!!! hehe

    • ameliaclaire92 April 4, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

      Ah, so so great. I’ll have to go see it when I come up to visit you. 🙂

      • Laura April 4, 2012 at 8:57 pm #

        It’s sort of starbucks-ish but it’s SO much better!

      • ameliaclaire92 April 4, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

        Definitely a winner then! 🙂

Leave a Reply

