A New Blog Look And My Writing Journey.

31 Mar

“Everything you’re ashamed of, all the parts of yourself that you keep secret, everything you want to change about yourself – it’s who you are. That’s your power. Deny it and you’re nothing.”-Fame

Last night after I watched Fame (the 2003 version…sorry to disappoint), I was messing around on WordPress and decided to change the look of my blog, while also adding a few widgets (or the various things located along my sidebar). I added a countdown to Ireland. As many of you know, I’m studying abroad in Ireland this summer, and I just had to have a countdown. I’ve also got one on my computer that’s broken down in days (it’s 87 days, by the way). That seems so crazy. 87 days until I’m in Galway, Ireland. WHAT?! Ah, so so cool.

Anyway, I’m happy for a new look on here, and I hope you all enjoy it as well. I figured it was time for some change, especially since it’s Spring. Also, in terms of change, I feel like I have changed a lot since beginning this blog back in November. As crazy as it seems, I began this blog 5 months ago. I’ve blogged every single day for the past 5 months. How cool! However, I owe it to all of my amazing followers who’ve given me nothing but support and encouragement. Really, all of you are so awesome!

I feel like I’m a very different person than I was back in November. When I began this blog, I didn’t really know where it would lead. At the time, I didn’t know that in 5 short months I would have established “Tuesday’s Tunes,” “Photo Fridays,” and above all, the beginning of my first novel, a memoir of sorts. I was thinking today about the journey my writing has taken. I haven’t ever been in touch with my own writing as I have since beginning my novel at the end of January. Though I’ve always had a love of writing (despite a 2 year hiatus when I was trying to figure out what I wanted out of life…which I still don’t quite know the answer to), it hasn’t always been this raw, this natural, this true. A lot of what I wrote growing up was fiction: mostly short stories and some poetry too. There were a few times I attempted writing about my own struggles when I was younger, but back then, I didn’t fully understand everything. I still had so many more questions to answer and tons of obstacles to work through. Also, I wasn’t mature enough yet to attempt to understand the reasoning behind my own emotions that I felt as I was going through all my surgeries and physical therapy sessions. However, that doesn’t mean that I’ve got it all figured out now. I definitely don’t. Writing this book is a journey. A journey filled with pain, fear, love, hope, and dreams. And it’s a journey I finally want to take (which has not always been the case).

It’s exciting to know that I’ve reached this point. Yes, the entire process of writing this book will have its ups and downs, but right now, during one of the high points, I’m finding happiness in the fact that I’ve finally found my voice. I’ve found my voice in the sense of finally knowing how I want to share my story. Through writing, yes. But for a while I didn’t know what I wanted my voice to sound like for future readers. However, I’ve begun to understand that there’s only one thing I want my voice to be: authentic. If I’m writing about a memory that’s sad or emotionally hard, I’ll cry through it. If I’m writing about a memory that makes me angry, I’ll be angry. The only way my readers are going to be able to feel all the emotions I went through is if I shed every tear and let out the anger right along with them.

22 Responses to “A New Blog Look And My Writing Journey.”

  1. Carrie March 31, 2012 at 9:12 am #

    This looks great! I’ve been working with my “look” too. Must be in the air – like Spring. Thank you for sharing your journey with us.

  2. ameliaclaire92 March 31, 2012 at 9:57 am #

    Thanks Carrie. πŸ™‚

  3. stephenedwards425 March 31, 2012 at 11:28 am #

    Excellent new look…I love it…very cool and professional.

    I share your same emotions regarding book writing…it is a journey. I ran 3,160 miles across the US and it was easier than writing…but not as rewarding…maybe that is it…could it be reward and satisfaction are somehow linked to effort?

    Be encouraged!

  4. ameliaclaire92 March 31, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

    I feel like satisfaction could be linked to effort, but maybe not in all situations. In terms of my writing journey, I get a large amount of satisfaction out of the fact that I’ve written 11 pages. Though that doesn’t seem like too much, there was a time in my life when I would never think to share such delicate details of my childhood, struggles, and ultimately, my life. But now it seems like there’s nothing I’d rather do. Granted, there certainly are days when I’m discouraged, but that’s the life of a writer. Taking the good with the bad.

  5. Gina Marie Cannistraro March 31, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

    I like the new look! How exciting that you’ll be in Ireland so soon!

    • ameliaclaire92 March 31, 2012 at 2:50 pm #

      Thank you. And yes, I’ve very excited, and I can’t wait to share my experiences with all of you. πŸ™‚

  6. Lina~EccentricChai March 31, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

    Yes, writing a book is a journey and it’s so fulfilling! Good luck with it and have lots of fun!

  7. rachelsullivan06 March 31, 2012 at 5:14 pm #

    I love the background of your blog, and your writing has a nice flow to it!

  8. belasbrightideas March 31, 2012 at 8:25 pm #

    What about one of those recent photos of you on your ‘about me’ page? Nice look to the blog. New is always fun.

  9. Alethea Eason March 31, 2012 at 11:18 pm #

    My husband was in Galway last month. Have a wonderful time.

    • ameliaclaire92 March 31, 2012 at 11:30 pm #

      Wow, too cool. And thank you. πŸ™‚

      • Alethea Eason March 31, 2012 at 11:32 pm #

        Thanks for you advice to check out other blogs. Now things are up and running on mine, report cards are done, novel is out (earlier than I had been told), I do have time. Plus I just figured out how to find others!!!!

      • ameliaclaire92 March 31, 2012 at 11:42 pm #

        Yay! You’re welcome. πŸ™‚

  10. 4amWriter April 1, 2012 at 8:04 am #

    I love the new blog look. It’s great that you’re working through your writing journey, and I like how you’re jotting it all down. You’re going to Ireland? How cool is that!! Have a great day.

  11. Ryan Davis April 1, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    the blog looks neat. πŸ™‚
    and I have been trying the same, trying to find a new world in blogging but I am doing it the third time. πŸ˜€
    I have gone through a lot seriously since 2009, everything has been so fast and a shock after another that it has changed my life.
    And after being totally emotionally raped for loving someone I have come back to the refuge of blogging.
    I wish to continue it and I wish to see you continue it, not five months but five years.
    And you think right about writing, that is how it should be.

    • ameliaclaire92 April 1, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

      Oh wow Ryan. Well yeah, I hope you do continue it. It can be such a great release. πŸ™‚

  12. Miss Feebs April 2, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

    loving the new look, great style – really well suited. i seem to change mine all too often – never really happy… or perhaps its the procrastination of committing words to the screen…
    really enjoy your blog, hope you’ll keep us updated on your travels to ireland πŸ™‚

    MissFeebs

    • ameliaclaire92 April 2, 2012 at 6:18 pm #

      Thank you. Glad you like it. And yes, I’ll be blogging throughout my time in Ireland. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

