Giving In To The Hunger Games.

26 Mar

Yesterday I went to see The Hunger Games with my friend Malia. She had read the books, and I hadn’t. However, after seeing the movie…and really liking it, I’ve finally decided to give in to all of this Hunger Games hub-bub that has swept through the book world so rapidly. For a while, I was against reading The Hunger Games series because the series I associate my generation with is the Harry Potter series. Harry Potter and the greatness of JK Rowling will always win out, in my opinion.

However, I do understand the draw of The Hunger Games. Teens these days need a new set of heroes, a new set of characters to look up to since the Harry Potter books are all over (as are the movies). In my opinion, magical wizards going to a school of magic and trying to defeat a dark wizard is much more exciting than just watching a bunch of teens participate in a set of games in which the object is to kill each other, but hey…I’m not the one publishing these books. So, take that up with book publishers, not me.

But yes, I’ve given in to the pressure. Though I have no doubt that I will enjoy the series, I’ll be happy to return to the book world of love stories, psychological fiction, and just regular popular fiction. There’s only so much pre-teen drama I can take!

13 Responses to “Giving In To The Hunger Games.”

  1. Paquin Photography March 26, 2012 at 6:22 pm #

    I read the first 2 books over the weekend & loved them. I started the 3rd last night. Hope you love them too!

  2. Laura March 26, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

    I’m honestly a sucker for young adult fiction. The Hunger Games is awesome, the books are so hard to put down.

  3. Lisa W. Rosenberg March 26, 2012 at 10:34 pm #

    Give in by all means! I haven’t seen the movie but I loved the books (my 11 year old turned me onto them.)

    Your post reminded me of how, in 1977, when Star Wars first came out, I refused to see it just because all my classmates (I was in 6th grade) were seeing it up to 25 times each.

    I never got around to seeing it until it was re-released when I was in college. I loved it!

  4. Mind Margins March 26, 2012 at 11:23 pm #

    I resisted the books for a long time, thinking they sounded too violent and depressing. They certainly aren’t cheery, but I found them very thought provoking, especially the last book. I’ll be interested to see what the movie is like.

  5. Mary March 27, 2012 at 6:31 am #

    http://9gag.com/gag/3569681

  6. David Michael Williams March 27, 2012 at 8:22 am #

    In my opinion, the books are worth reading if for no other reason than Suzanne Collins wrote a story that no one else has — a rare feat these days.

    It is funny, though, when one stops to think of how many films are based on books, comic books, and so forth. Even stories that start out in the screenplay format begin with a writer. We writers are a precious commodity. You can’t have special effects without action, evocative drama without a plot, Grade-A actors without characters. It all starts with the storyteller.

    Please forgive the tangent!

    • ameliaclaire92 March 27, 2012 at 10:31 am #

      “It all starts with the storyteller.” So, so true!

  7. Katrina March 27, 2012 at 8:54 am #

    I agree with you, Harry Potter is better

    • ameliaclaire92 March 27, 2012 at 10:32 am #

      Woohoo! Glad I’m not one of the only ones who thinks so! 🙂

  8. stephenedwards425 March 29, 2012 at 1:33 pm #

    Definitely a Potter fan also, but not because I had much in common with the wizard boy, I just enjoyed the great writing.

    Haven’t seen movie or read the book, but since I have nothing to do tomorrow afternoon, I’ll see if I can scrape together money for a flick.

    Enjoy your writing…be encouraged!

  9. PeterPumpkinEater April 3, 2012 at 5:48 pm #

    I haven’t read the book either but I went and saw the movie last week, and it was okay––not outstanding, but not crap either. Based on the movie, I’d agree with you, but I figure there’s still some room for the book to make its point. Like I said in my review on the movie, it’s a summarized version so we’re definitely missing out at soem point.

    • ameliaclaire92 April 3, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

      I tried to read the book, and I just couldn’t get into it…maybe because I saw the movie already so I know what happens.

Leave a Reply

